View All AT&T Reviews

Read our full AT&T Prepaid review

2.4
Rated 2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5 stars (based on 902 reviews)
5 star15%
4 star9%
3 star21%
2 star8%
1 star47%

Editorial Rating

Rated 4 out of 5
February 24, 2022
Prepaid Reviews

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 6, 2013

I JUST GOT MY PHONE YESTERDAY LOVEIT BUT HATE THE MINS

KIMBERLY BEAN

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 6, 2013

I think somebody steered you wrong!!! I have got nothing but grief ever since AT&T took over. The go phone was great with Cingular. They helped when I was having troubles. AT&T changed everything and told me to deal with it. I told them where they could send there phone, to the land of no sun shining. Went strait to Tracfone. Best move I ever made!!!!

Michael

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 6, 2013

I received a text from AT&T that they will be charging a monthly fee for the 911 service. I have a prepaid account (I don't pay monthly). I had already bought the $100 package that expires in one year. They want to start charging me this reoccurring monthly fee after having this package for 7 months. AT&T told me that all of the prepaid phones now charge this fee. I decide to check with Alltel and Net 10. They both said they don't charge a fee for 911 when it is a prepaid service. Cingular didn't charge the fee either. This came about when AT&T took over Cingular.

Barbara

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 6, 2013

i recommend sorta its ok

autumn

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 26, 2013

a t & t have the worst prepaid phone coverage! My cell phone randomly looses service. I don't realize I don't have service until I check my phone. It has lasted for hours at times. I now log these occurrences and will demand a credit for lost service periods.

liz

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 23, 2013

Solid service and good 3G data speeds, high reliability. You can compare prepaid plans at www.allprepaidplans.com

Peter M

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2013

I guess compared to Verizon's contract service, this is a downgrade, but compared to Tmobile's contract service, ATT's pay as you go plan is great. They actually answer service calls in the U.S., and the person answering was knowledgeable and took care of the problems.

cy c

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 15, 2013

I WISH I WOULD HAVE NEVER EVER EVEN THOUGHT ABOUT LEAVING VERIZON FOR AT&T. THEY ARE NOTHING BUT LIARS. I HAD 6 DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS TELL ME I WOULD HAVE WONDERFUL COVERGARE AND ONCE I LEFT MY HOUSE NOTHING AT ALL. I WAS TOLD IF I WAS NOT HAPPY I WOULD GET A FULL REFUND ON THE PHONE AS WELL AS THE PHONE CARD. ANOTHER LIE. ALL I CAN SAY IS SHAME ON AT&T AND THANKYOU VERIZON FOR LETTING ME GO BACK!!!!!!!!

so very angry!!!!!!!

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 6, 2013

don't do it! spent 2 hrs in store getting go phone sim card… $25 to use phone for 3 days. now I am in big city in canada and phone DOES NOT ACCEPT OR MAKE CALLS. all I can do is text! they set it up in store and said it would work but it doesn't! argh! hating atnt right now. making my vacation difficult.

made vacation difficult

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 22, 2013

I am an AT&T customer for years, since the phones were the size of house phones. I never had a problem with the service or customer care. I switched to the Go Phone about 2 years ago never a problem. Once I didn't have service for 2 days but they everything they could do to get service back. They were GREAT and easy to get too. I have about 5 different phones I use, just put sim card in and ready to go. I have the $50. unlimited and it is great. I go on line every day and never had a problem, browser is a little slower then a smart phone plan but gets anything you want. I don't even think of another carrier. I can't understand all the negative reviews of the Go Phone plan. Maybe these people will find out when the change carriers. AT&T gets and always had a 5 star review from me.

chevyguy1946

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 20, 2013

Overpriced. Spotty coverage. Network currently down. Only way to speak to a customer repesentative is wade through a ton of menus and pretend that you have lost your phone. $2.00 per 411 call and their phone number database is outdated (as the woman told me who had the company's old number), an hour to get a refund, finally convinced service representative that in any other business in the entire world, if what you sell the customer is not what they requested, you get a refund.

Disgruntled

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 19, 2013

STAY AWAY!!!! This phone is a joke as well as the customer service. Just finished a phone conversation with AT&T about my $10.00 pre-paid go phone. I use this cell when my other cell wont get service, so I rarely use it. I only put a $10 pre-paid card on it and pick the $2 a day unlimited plan ONLY when I use it. AT&T cancelled or deactivated the cell phone because I didn't add any minutes or used it in a while witch I completely understand. When I activated this cell they only asked for the zip code to where I would be using the cell and that's about it, NO name, NO address and NO password needed to activate it. The only thing they gave me was a pass code” witch I wrote down(they assigned it to me). So when on the phone with the rude lady from AT%T she said I need to verify the account and she asked for the past code and I gave it to her but she said it was incorrect and refused to activate my cell again. On top of all this the person from AT&T talked in a very slang (ghetto) kind of way. I guess they hire anyone to talk on the phones. Maybe they should hire kind speaking people who sound nice and not people that sound like they are from the streets of Chicago. I will NEVER give AT%T another cent of money!!”

Katie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 7, 2013

Simply DON'T!! I got the plan with 1 giga internet for my last month in the States and was wasted money, simply doesn't work on my unlocked Galaxy SII!! I tried customer service but was all automatic and just asking if I wanted to put more money on the cell phone. Went to the store and they just said they couldn't (more like feeling not to help) 'cause my phone is a 4G and that gophone just works on 3G but “kindly” offered me (not for free) one of their phones…also, they refused to call customer care 'cause they knew already the answer…worst customer service ever seen and wasted money!!

Bruno

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 5, 2013

Alternatives: Sign up with an MVNO of AT&T. If you use Straight Talk, you can even use the same phone without unlocking it. They use the same network. I get unlimited everything for $45 flat. There is no physical store but the customer service and phone service is much better!

JJ

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 15, 2013

This phone. I daydream about sending someone horrifically evil this phone. I got the top of the line go-phone smart phone. It crashes multiple times a day. I had a data plan for awhile, but decided I'd rather hand wrote letters and buy an encyclopedia than deal with this crap phone. Customer service is a joke. Next month I'm getting a post-paid plan, and will not even consider going with AT&T. Save your money and mental health. Use smoke signals to communicate. Try strengthening your ESP skills. Stay away from AT&T.

Slopsip

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 13, 2013

My husband & I have been using the To-Go Phone for many years. It is the perfect way to go if you do not use all the other features, etc. etc. .10 cents a minute is the best. We add $100 every year and we always have money left over before renewing.

V. Stegall

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 8, 2013

AT&T is a rip off. I bought a go phone, the $2.00 a day plan and a $15.00 pre-paid card. I've only used it three times and it's now telling me I only have $6.00 left. Obviously, that doesn't add up. Last time I checked 3×2.00 is $6.00 with $9 remaining…NOT $6.00. Also supposed to be good for 30 days, activated & loaded it on the first of the month and it says I have until the 26th to refill. Who's doing their math? It's a strictly as needed phone, but I already hate At&T and will try a different provider. Can't be any worse than this At&T scammer.

Hannah

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 1, 2013

Stay away from AT&T!! Ok I got the zte-990 phone which didn't work had to return it for another, but this isn't about the phone. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON-EXISTENT. Paid the $50.00 refill for unlimited service only I paid it early as to not have my service interrupted at all, it decided I wanted to PAY for texts instead of giving me my unlimited! WTF?! So my plan did not renew. I then had to navigate the labyrinth of “Hmm I didn't understand that” crap (BTW you can avoid all of it by pressing 6 or saying “other options” and then saying customer service to actually talk to a human being, figured this out after a half hour of screaming various commands and pressing various numbers). Their advice? After I was transferred to someone who I could understand (VERY thick accents), Don't pay your bill early, let your service expire and then pay. As I decided I didn't want to be without service for a day, I didn't text AT ALL the last day of the month. Guess what? It did it with the phone calls as well. Scummy scummy practices. I say scummy in that I know their goal is that you'll give up trying to reach a REAL person and just refill the amount to $50 + taxes + fees so $0.50 or $0.18 becomes $5.25 or $4.93 respectively.

Eric

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 30, 2013

I'm leaving AT&T GoPhone after only 3 months. On paper, this plan is the best out there, but in reality, the phones are suspect and the customer service is COMPLETELY non-existent. As in, I couldn't even reach a human being to help me with phone and account issues (of which there were many). Within 2 months, the online payment system wouldn't take my payments anymore, so I had to physically go into the AT&T store to pay. Within 2 1/2 months, my Fusion 2 phone stopped connecting to 3G and the Contacts no longer worked.

Bobby Bongos

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 16, 2013

What's with all the bad reviews from people using GoPhones? It's the best pay as you go plan out there (in the US at least), and their coverage is amazing. I like being able to have a phone plan where I don't pay a fixed monthly price for anything (am on the 10 cents a minute plan), and nobody else has anything remotely similar in this country, at least not with AT&T's coverage.

AS

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 12, 2013

Husband wanted a smartphone and bought a Samsung. We researched coverage area–as we have a vacation home in isolated area of NM–according to ATT map–our place would have 2g coverage. Got a GO Phone plan for $25 a month. But guess what–does NOT work in NM. Found out the coverage map is really for paid plans–as ATT only lets GO-PHONE customers on its own towers–while contract ATT users can be piggy-backed on other carriers. So it's back to tracphone for us. And what a hassle to get our phone number ported as ATT does NOT list account number anywhere–you have to CALL. The only bright side was ATT customer service guy Jose–got our last $25 refunded.

bwriter2

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 29, 2013

I would give this service a zero if it were an option. Not only do you pay as YOU go, you pay for spam phone calls and texts. AT&T doesn't let you block calls with this type of phone nor do they tell you this when you buy the phone–you find out when all your funds are used up when the phone has been sitting in your backpack for a week. Giant rip off.

AT&T stinks

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 24, 2013

The biggest piece of junk I've ever had the misfortune of purchasing. It's my fault I didn't read all the reviews before wasting my money on this cheap, unreliable crappy phone. It keeps a charge for about a day and also, it shows I have $62 left but that same figure has been showing up each time I use the phone and now they're telling me I need to buy more time. I've had it.

Donna

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 14, 2013

I had the fusion2 Go Phone from AT&T The phone exceeded my expectations in most areas for a low cost smart phone.The GoPhone network is a watered down verison of the AT&T network. I took this plan because coverage is very important to me and AT&T has a good network but the Go Phone network was terrible. I did not have service in the middle of a mid sized city in Central Ma. and most every time I entered a building I had no service. The coverage was so bad within a month I dropped the GO Phone Plan and traded the fusion 2 phone towards a new phone on the Verizon network and am very happy since I did so. AT&T does not inform people that the Go phone network is nothing like the regular AT&T network. I would advise everyone not to go for the Go Phone plan it was the worst plan I have ever been on.

Joe

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
March 6, 2013

Stay clear of these maggots, always manipulating the billing to nickle and dime you. Just a RIP OFF. An they are cowards and don't provide you anyway to contact them.

ATT Sucks

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 2, 2013

their call-in automatic customer service is a joke. I have been trying to change my credit card that is billed for more minutes, and i get handed off to endless repeating loops of automated questions that never lead to what I want. this kind of nonsense happens everytime I want to get something done with ATT. they have completely dropped the ball on customer service. They have wasted probably two hours of my time through their terrible customer service. LAZY AND GREEDY. Period. Find a different carrier!

jay

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 11, 2013

I have been with ATT for about 15 years, but have been off contract for the last 3. I had a 450 min. plan with 250 text per month limit. I decided last week to give the prepaid a try since not only would I get unlimited talk and text, but also web. I was surprised at how friendly the two different guys I spoke with were. They didn't try to talk me into a contract, but switched me over and then gave me some tips on using the phone. Got a P7640P by Pantech. Though the screen is a little small for internet use, I can connect, voice is clear and I can't tell any difference in call quality. I'm getting all this for about $5 more per month than I was paying. So far I'm very pleased, though I may upgrade my phone in the next few months to an Android so I can have a larger screen and more apps.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 30, 2013

I used go phone for years. One day I payed for more minutes and 2 days later my account was empty and I barely even used the phone. I contacted customer service and they were clueless as usual. So I switched to straight talk which is amazing. I should have switched years ago. I'll never deal with AT&T ever again. They need to learn to help their loyal customers.

Cereal Sally

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 27, 2013

Hello, I had to change AT&T Go Phones three times, and I still have a very poor phone, the poorest phone since A. Bell's initial offering. I came to the Pre-paid Reviews site hoping to elicit credible reviews of such phones so that I can get beyond AT&T, but I was surprised that the AT&T Go Phone is given high reviews. Consequently, I will not be able to trust any of the reviews herein. Cordially, A very dissatisfied AT&T customer.

John

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 16, 2013

i love at&t i just have one complaint when are they gna join the rest and include unlimited data on their unlimited 50 dollar plan everyone else is doing it so whats stopping at&t if they did i would finally buy me an android from them cuz i love their service

sherree

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 15, 2013

Got the cheap flip Go phone for my daughter with $25 card good for 90 days. The first time she needed it, when separated from us at Disneyworld, she tried to call and it wouldn't work and had to get someone at a store to call me. Turns out it had been 91 days. No warning or “top up now” option like my ancient Virgin mobile phone does. Took it to Target and got a new card…couldn't load it. They told me they'd “burned” the SIM card, whatever that means. Have to buy a new SIM and get her a new phone number for an “emergency” phone she'll use once every few months. So mad at AT&T for having no grace period that I'm tempted to change my home phone service from AT&T also.

Disgusted

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2013

I love my Gophone servise I currently use and. iPhone 3G and with picture text and unlimited calling and texting us And Mexico I ove that.i can ad data anytime 50mg sucks but I would Buy th ?25 data instead 1gb .but any way I love me $25 dolar Gophone plan.to get data you need to change APN settings and u can also get picture texting to and I can send pics and Text is very good I like AT&T Gophone .i give them. 10! Rateing

Carlos

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 4, 2013

I GOT GO PHONE FOR A FEW YEARS, NEVER WORK OK. DROPED THE COMPANY WHEN THEY STARTED TO STEAL MY MINUTES, THE WORST SERVICE AND COMPANY EVER..

LUISANTONIO

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 19, 2012

I have AT&T go phone everytime they steal money from me. A lot of time I get drop calls in my house or at work . So I am gonna sign with t moblie is better for me and is way cheaper than AT&T crap .

Eddie

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
December 8, 2012

I have had a gophone for four years with AT&T with the fifty dollar plan and auto refill on a basic at&t samsung flip phone and never had a problem with service and i could talk and text 24/7 and never paid any more than the fifty dollars a month well my phone died so I order a new smart phone with the sixty five dollar plan I got the avail smart phone total junk the phone is not worth the money and I have been on the phone with at&t custmer care for the past 2 days trying to get it resolved on 12/7/12 i was transfered to eleven different people at at&t customer care and I was trying to buy a new phone and return this one I did not get a new phone I got a text message saying your auto refill has been canceled thank you very much at&t would I recamend them probly not

Road Runner

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 27, 2012

I had a contract with these clowns .. with in the first week I realized we had hardly any reception here I went to a bigger city to the airport and that blazing fast 4g kicked in and it was awesome! I can't believe. That they don't discount the service when you don't get 100% of the service RIP OFFF! 2 smartphones with art is like having another car payment except yo can drive it too far with out breaking down.

Al mo

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 25, 2012

Please complain in writing to the company. Please complain in writing to the FCC. It does work. I did it and it worked. Complaining here is great, but it does nothing. Hit the company where it hurts. Put it in writing. We work hard for our money, so make them work for it too. Peace.

Every one Hates Cell Phones

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
November 24, 2012

I signed up for the GO plan, then discovered that their GO plan doesn't use the entire AT&T network. The GO coverage is much smaller.

Luke

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 23, 2012

What a absolute ripoff. They say one thing, do another. You would think at&t would regulate, but this is a profit area and they condone the scam artists. Your best be is to stay well away form these clowns.

energy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 21, 2012

The worst recharge and online service I have ever encountered. I like having a pay-as-you-go-plan but it's a major headache every 3 months to renew. They hide behind layers of phone and online labyrinths so you can't get help. This reminds me why I hate ATT.

Linda Riebel

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 12, 2012

Terrible service and company…bought 1 phone and it works ok…bought another one as a backup…it is defective and the AT&T store said it is defective and refuses to replace it…I WILL stick with Verizon Wireless and go back to Virgin Mobile as a backup…screw AT&T…bunch of crooks!!!

Jean

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
November 3, 2012

i added minutes on my phone to renew my plan but it didnt work

chelsea jarmin

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
November 1, 2012

I dumped AT'T as a contract. They would not work with me at all. They wanted $295 to break the contract, and so we dumped them. They would not work with us on the bill too. It is all their money or no service. So we are using their phones and we switched to T-mobile on their phones. So AT'T you lost out because you are greedy. Too bad. Oh, you pre-pay is over priced just like your contracts.

Mark

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 25, 2012

If you don't want a data plan it's a very good deal. Their coverage area appears to be among the best. I left T-Mobile for ATT and so far I'm happier.

Barack

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 14, 2012

i need help with my phone and i can not get noopne to help so im not happy with this pay as u go plan

jason simon

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 11, 2012

I have a go phone” and I can't text from my house. Not anywhere in my house. Not from my driveway. Not even down the block. I too have a new phone with warranty. I'm now shopping for a new provider.”

Fran

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 9, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy your 65 dollar unlimited plan plus 1g but would extremely enjoy 80 unlimited talk text and web I mean I know you guys are elite but you dont want boost mobile making all the money because I was seriously thinking about switching over for a 55 unlimited talk text and web but I do love att but you have to switch to unlimited everything I dont even mind paying more PLEASE HEAR ME OUT

catina owens

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 7, 2012

I don't know what peoples problems are. It's like they came out of a deep sleep from the 1800's and don't know how to operate a cell phone.I have no problems welcome to 2012 people.

to all

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 6, 2012

You lose the rest of your money if you don't use it within the allotted time. It is not what you are told when you sign, up, but that's how they operate.

Eva

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 4, 2012

att is a total rip off! I have a go phone and was using the $2 a day plan. Then I heard about the $25 dollar a month plan with unlimited messaging and 250 mins and decided to switch my plan. But what they fail to mention before changing plans is that the 250 mins doesnt include cell to cell. I was under the impression my cell to cell would still be free and not use any of my 250 mins. So now, just 1 week after purchasing my plan I have no mins! Screw att im changing to tmobile!!!

kim

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 1, 2012

AT&T totally deceives customers with the unlimited talk text & web .if you are a smartphone user you must purchase an expensive data plan so you have saved nothing . AT&T should not be allowed to mislead the public .

Carmen

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 30, 2012

The phone $20 is junk, I bought a go phone as a second phone to use while away on a business trip at the Wisconsin Dells a mjor tourist hub and the piece of junk did not get a reception. I tried contacting ATT to troubleshoot, forgett that idea no numbers run around websites junk stay away if you have other options

Jacek

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 25, 2012

I purchased minutes to use my Go Phone and when I finally tried to use them, their were no minutes ojn my phone. Att services truly sucks. Robbing faithful customers is a disgrace.

Cathie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 25, 2012

i am using an iPhone3GS that i purchased and i wanted to connect it with Go Phone.When i called CS they said that i can connect it to use with ether the $25 or the $50 plan so i asked if i can buy data and she said No , it wont work with any iPhones then i asked about Picture messaging and she said no it wont work.So you will only get talk and text. I asked this is an AT&T phone why cant i use the picture messaging or data ,and she said because you have to be on a contract. I said the phone belongs to me why would i sign a contract. she said thats how AT&T works with any iPhones.So i signed up with Airvoice wireless , they are a company that uses AT&T network and i dont have to unlock the phone. AT&T should figure things out because they will loose so many iPhone users. I guess they dont care.

Joe

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 25, 2012

I bought the cheap flip GoPhone and it is just barely better than not having a cell phone at all. I have not been able to have a single conversation on it where the other person can hear or understand me. This is when it states that the signal is great. The call will start out OK for the first 30 sec. to 3 min. and then get all garbled for the person on the other end. It has a hard time sending text messages. Also, if you are out of range and a friend sends you a text message, you will never see it.

SD

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 11, 2012

I had a phone on AT&T prepaid service. I was using it for data only. I had money in my account and I had about 250 mb of unused data. In April, I was told that I could no longer purchase data or use the data that was on my account unless I upgraded to a $25/month voice plan in addition to $5 month for data. That made their service no longer cost effective. Because of their change, I lost all of the data that I had paid for and I lost all of the money in my account, since I was not going to throw good money after bad.

Robert

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 10, 2012

why they deduct my prepaid account while im calling from canada to philippines.but my phone already registered to 2 dollars plan a day.

anthony nabejas

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 8, 2012

With the auto-refill option, I think it's wrong that if you add money to your account before your next refill, when the time for the refill comes, you lose any money that was left on the account. I couldn't understand why I kept getting the message that my account balance was too low for them to refill my account automatically. Makes no sense to me. I only gave 2 stars because the reception in my area is pretty good, but this issue is too annoying to give any more than that.

Carly

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 6, 2012

Deduct 2 stars because the option for minus 1 is not given. AT&T has absolutely ZERO customer service. I will be switching to another company as soon as I can find a better one, and I'm sure that will not be difficult. I was a customer for years, but I've finally had enough.

Ted

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 4, 2012

Cannot recommend this phone because AT&T aren't responsible enough to do their jobs and answer their Customer Service phones-ever.And you will need customer service at least once a month because when a purchase is made-for example you use your debit card to buy more air time or internet time-AT&T will CONSISTENTLY not let you use the minutes that you paid for. It becomes necessary to find a live human at customer service but there isn't one .It's just one brick wall after another.So you can't use your phone even after they took your money… Typical AT&T conduct,I know,but really a shame because this is a very good phone at a very fair price.AT&T really had to work hard to drive customers away from this.

Jill J.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 20, 2012

I switched from At&t to Virgin mobile and the transfer of my old number took 45 minutes to change. Why do they hire people with no mental capacity to think for themselves and STOP FOLLOWING A SCRIPT!!!! It was a hassle and took three people to find the account number. I switched companies after loading 25 dollars into the phone and was not able to make calls or texts until i called customer service who in turn changed plans” in order to commodate the lesser amount of money loaded on the phone! Tottally inconveinent and idiotic. STOP SENDING JOBS OVERSEAS!!!!!”

Just

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 18, 2012

I just purchased a AT&T Go phone-prepaid $50.00 unlimited plan on the 8th of Aug. 2012, and can not get customer service to talk to me twice now and just got hung up on because the gentlemen demanded that there was a volume button on the side of either side of my phone, there is nothing, but the charger openinging on the right side. I kept talking to him and realized he had hung up on me and I was talking to no one. Is there a real customer service number for Go-Phone A T &T?

Carol Towne

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 15, 2012

OMG. Still they have not learnt to behave like humans!! I was in CT in 2008. I have faced all of these problems mentioned plus unknown trait of Animals posing as customer care agents. Due to T-Mobile's notorious reception issues I thought of moving back to AT&T GoPhone.. but decided to stay with T-Mobile for sometime and choose another later…

Madan Mohan

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2012

I love AT&T prepaid go phone. I currently have my daughter in the $25 monthly plan. Besides the great reception, I have to admit that their cst service is awesome as well. As soon as my current contract expires I'm switching my family to AT&Ts prepaid service instead.

Thecowboy

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 10, 2012

Update: Got through to the customer support (in the first step -> chose More options” than keep repeating “Representative” – in 3 minutes got through.”

rushin2

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 10, 2012

The whole point of switching from Red Pocket to AT&T was to avoid absurd charging and billing and have customer service available (it's horrible or better yet – almost non-existent at RP).

rushin2

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 8, 2012

I bought a go phone and prepaid minutes so my wife would have a phone that would work while we were travelling in Canada. The service did not work as indicated and I spent another $20 on my verizon phone trying to get AT&T to fix it. Today I spent over 1 hour on the phone with AT&T Customer Service and subsequently the AT&T store that sold the phone to me but to no avail. The only remedy suggested (by AT&T Customer Service) is to dispute the credit card charges, which I have done. A nightmare of a company to deal with. Pleasant people who cannot help you….

Don

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2, 2012

I had a contract with AT&T for 12 yrs and loved them. Most of the family switched to VZW over 2 yrs ago so we did too (big mistake). Anyway, after that contract was up, went to Net10 and that was kind of a disaster. Wanna know HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE? Go with NET10/Straight Talk. Then I walked into my local AT&T store one day with my 5 yr old AT&T flip phone to see if I could come back to AT&T as a prepaid customer, and the guy (Carlos) could not have been nicer. He gave me a new gophone sim card, got my number transferred from NET10 (huge hassle), sold me a $50 a month plan that I LOVE, and told me to go online and order any gophone I wanted and bring it in and he will do whatever needed to be done. I did just that. Could not be happier. I did speak with ATT customer service twice so far on the phone and they also could not be better and nicer to me. That guy in the store did not make a dime off me but was still fantastic and spent well over an hour with me. Try the other prepaid companies and you will appreciate AT&T GoPhone. I LOVE THEM and my Pantech Link 2!!!! I will never leave again!

Suzie

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 28, 2012

I use an At&t ZTE Avail gophone on the 50 dollars a month and I have unlimited text and web with NO DATA.

Hayden

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2012

me and my husband both have the 50$ a month plan. My husband has just a regular phone and I have a fusion smarthphone. I don't understand why everyone is complaning about the pre-paid service. We have had at&t for about 6 years and have never had a peroblem. I think the company is great and if we have a problem we just call them and they take care of it. We get great service and have no problem with getting on the internet and all we pay is a total for both phones is 106$. So just go ahead and complan I like the company and we are going to stay with them as long as they are in business.

Melissa Carson

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 19, 2012

On my “Pay as you go Online” account, when I look up my account history, it will not tell me any monetary transactions. Yet I put $25.00 in my account 3 days ago. My balance is down to 2.95… I don't know why it's that low and I have nothing to account that for on my online account. WELL THAT'S IRONIC! They are just showing me my calls and texts (texts are free) and showing how it doesn't affect my balance. SO WHATS AFFECTING MY BALANCE?! Is it me being charged a few times for going on websites that i cant access ?? What is it? It took a while for me to figure out on my own how my Rate Minutes differed separate from my Main Account balance. That was confusing. I also don't like the fact that if you top up early, and you don't have exactly 25.00 in your balance or more, you will automatically have to purchase more account minutes. The expiration date doesn't start over when you purchase more minutes.

Zuko

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 10, 2012

The service isnt great. A lot of text message sends fail when I text heavily. and it is impossible to send a text for a chunks of time. I think it might be a way for them to reduce how much you text/talk. only upside is that it's probably the cheapest for how much i text and talk

Go Phoner

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 5, 2012

I,m glad i took the time to read all these negative comments, went to get a gophone yesterday, but girl at walmart did,nt seem to want to take the time to answer an older woman,s stupid questions, so i decided to wait til the weekend, glad i did,nt waste my time or money, i,ll stick to my simple plan, i,m probably too old to read the small screen for internet anyway! i agree about Att,s bad customer service, makes me want to hurl my phone through the window!

helen blowers

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 4, 2012

I have 2 GoPhones, but there seems to be no method to transfer money from one to the other. I have heard that there is a way to MMS money from your account, but have not found a way to do it.

spadyx

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 30, 2012

Very disappointed in the new policy of not allowing those of us with a smartphone to purchase a data package for GoPhone. I have been a very loyal AT&T customer for many years and just upgraded to a smartphone last year. The ability to purchase data as I needed it was a great feature. Now AT&T is losing me. I'm considering going to T-Mobile's $2 day(if used) unlimited talk, text, and DATA plan. Unfortunately, I just added money to my AT&T GoPhone account before I found out about this new policy. Very disappointing.

MP

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 28, 2012

Go phone changed in the past year for the worst. You used to be able to add a data pack to your go phone account. I like to check email and facebook on my phone. Now they force you to buy a monthly plan with is expensive for me and i dont use all the other services a lot so it dont pay. I found another way there is a company called Airvoice that lets you talk for 4c a minute and text for 2c and the data is very reasonable 33c a meg. just for ten bucks a month and it rolls over. they use Att sevice so i didnt have to change my phone. much better than go phone.

Ron

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2012

Okay, I have NEVER had an issue with AT&T. I don't know why everyone else has, but they've always worked perfectly fine with me. In fact, I choose AT&T over anything I've ever had before.

Savannah.

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
June 24, 2012

I signed up for AT&T's prepaid service. I got the 250 minutes plan along with 50mb data. All was good until I wanted to access the Internet. It seems that AT&T does not allow iPhones to have data on their system. Very strange. I can have WiFi which I would have without the data plan. They turned off the data plan in my account and credited the money back to my account. Still very strange.

Gordon Blank

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
June 24, 2012

ATT Prepaid plans are really only good if you're a) a heavy user, b) hardly ever use it. Heavy users can take the “$1/day just to use once, then $0.10/min”, while hardly-ever-users can take the “$0/day, but $0.25/min” plan. $0.25/min?! Are you crazy?! No. In fact, it's a bargain. I hardly ever use the phone – I just don't call many folks. My main contact method is internet IM'ing. I use the phone for a quick text msg or call just to confirm something with family or friends. Texts are $0.20/ea (broken into 160 byte chunks, so large txt msg's will be especially expensive…when you figure that data rates for regular plans make $0.20/160 bytes ridiculously expensive.) However, the $0.25/min plan discourages you from using the phone much unless it's REALLY important, which is good (for me). As I said, if you're a heavy-user, you should take a different plan. Calls are rounded up to the next minute, so even a 2 sec call will cost you as if it took 1 whole minute. Likewise, don't be fooled by how the phone tracks time – phones rack up how much time the call took, w/o considering the time it took to ring. AT&T adds the time it took to ring. So, if you spent 10 seconds waiting for someone to pick up (or their VM to pick up)..yes, that's added into your time, and can count as a 1 minute ph call. Another con is that they charge you to call your VM, which personally I find to be ridiculous. However, all other service calls (cust service, reloading numbers, etc) are free. The reason the $0.25/min plan is a great deal is b/c if you're a casual user, you can literally buy a $25 calling card, load it on the phone, and let it roll for 3 months. When you get the cheap $15 calling card, your money expires in 1 month. $25, 3 months. $50, 6 months (I think). So, loading a larger amount at one time lets the money (and thus the phone) stay active longer. When you do the math, I literally pay $25/3 = $8.30/month on a cellphone. Some months I may use it more, and thus need to load it sooner. But, for the most part, I just load $25/every 3 months. That is amazingly cheap. I bought the cheapest $30 gophone they had. The LG $30 version was good, even had a sudoku game on it to pass time. The Samsung flip phone $30 version…not so good. Hard to press the right button at times. If you're looking to do any kind of internet or tons of txt'ing on the phone, it's probably a better idea to get a cell contract plan that makes it more affordable. But, buying a $30 phone that costs me ~$9/mo to upkeep/use (very lightly) which also doubles as my alarm clock, event calendar, calculator, reminder is a good deal. Again, I'm a very light user. There have been times I regretted the $0.25/min plan, like job-hunting. During a time I was doing lots of job hunting and phone calling, I just bought a 2nd gophone with the $1/day + $0.10/min plan, used and abused it, then got rid of it when done. These prepaid phones/plans can be very affordable and useful if you match your usage to the correct plan. But, one thing to be wary about is spam. AT&T, being a large network, gets inundated with spam messages. They have a spam hotline you can forward txt msg's (and the ph# it came from) to to help week it out or shutoff whoever's doing it. BUT, while the ms'gs to their spam network are free, they don't reimburse you the $0.20 it cost to GET the spam msg in the first place. This can be annoying at times. But, their cheap-o phones come with a 20 number block list. I just add abusive #'s to the block list and get on with life.

blah blah

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 23, 2012

They added a lower amount to go phone $10 is now the lowest for 30 days. Sweet cause i only use their $10 text plan.

Jo

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 23, 2012

Got nickel and dimed to death by these rip off artists. Was charged every time they tried to sell me something and rep refused to call back! Just got a trac fone!

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 18, 2012

…so you have additionally pay for that. For $5 you can just get 5MB (and recently they moved it to 10MB) what is extremely low… I have $50 plan, and don't have internet…so I am looking for another provider, as others (t-mobile) gives you all unlimited for the same price!

Data Plan not included for smartphones

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 18, 2012

Yesterday I received a text from ATT saying that my account would expire on 6/17/12 and so I went out and purchased a $25 phone card and activated it today (6/18/12). And I got a call and I hung up after 7 seconds and now my account balance is $24.10. So I just wasted $25 because tomorrow my phone won't refill.. This happened last month too. Later I'm going to go look at other companies (which has better plans) so I don't have to deal with this crap anymore!!

Brittany

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 18, 2012

I agree. Where is the 0 rating? They just conned me out of over $200.00 in rollover dollars because when I tried to pay a day early, (Sat,)it took 20 calls. Each time the robotic answering machine got my bank debit card number the phone would go dead, blank. I called my bank to make sure my acc't wasn't charged. I called Sunday several times, same problem. I called today, Mon. the following day, to explain the problem , (it took AT&T Company to get me through to GoPhone), and GoPhone said I was late and took my the $200.00 + rollover dollars. Actually I started trying Sat. to pay. It was due Sun. 23 attemts to pay! I said I was going to go to Sprint if this is how you handle a long-time customer. Angry!!!!

Denice D.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 16, 2012

AT&T is a rip off don' waste your time or money on them if i could id give the 0 stars i swear ill never use at&t again their data packages charge u out the ass their 30 second rule if someone calls u and u don't answer u still get charged they cheat u out of money their service sucks im always droping calls or not geting calls at all if u dont add money to your account service will expire u lose your number and have to get a new sim card and don't get me started on customer service had to look up the number on my computer to call them since when u try to call customer care on your phone that they provide u with u get that stupid automated voice AT&T dose not care about their customers they cheat u out of your money or lie to u go to t mobile or virgin mobile if u want a real pre paid service and phones

Chad

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 12, 2012

so sick of AT&T! I live in a very rural area and am stuck with them since few other providers have service in my area. I had $8 left in my account and rarely use my phone except for texting…I put $15 per month on it, get 30 days service and buy the ten dollar for 1000 texts pkg. So I have 5 leftover each month and every so often, I dont need to add cash. I had enough to buy my text pkg with plenty leftover but my 30 days were up so they took my leftover money and turned my phone off. I reactivated it within hours and now cannot activate facebook mobile and although I can call out and receive direct texts, AT&T doesnt recognize my number. I cant send a text for a balance or anything…its like they chucked my number out of their system but people can still call me directly. Its so screwed up. I keep having facebook mobile send me a text to get me set up and the text never comes. Same thing with twitter. the maintenence text I send to att to see if texts are working never comes back. Spent 40 minutes trying to get a real person on the phone and gave up. The minute I finally was being transferred to a customer service person, I suddenly got a busy signal and had to hang up. Horrible customer service when your phone wont work and no one is there to help. Yet, I have to continue to pay to use it???

val sharlow

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 10, 2012

ATT GoPhone used to be pretty good value. We have been using them for a few years. As of late they have started charging me for calls and deducting money when the phone wasn't being used because the phone is turned off most of the time. I've always put a $100 on phone to last me a year, but after 2 weeks with my phone turned off, the balance was down $8.00 already. My husband and sons phones are doing the same thing.

CoM

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 10, 2012

ATT prepaid plans were good when there was flexibility. Now they are terrible! As of April those of us having a smartphone are forced to pay $25 a month for non-roll over minutes just to have the privilege to spend another $5-20 a month for a data plan. ATT should allow users to pay for data plans without paying a flat fee for voice. That was the case a few months ago, but I guess this way ATT thinks it can fleece more. Well not me, I am sold on the $2 a day competition plan where you get data and voice when you need it. That is until ATT buys the competition. This they are good at.

Adam

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 9, 2012

ATT SUCK!!! They changed DATA PLAN: Plan use to allow pay as u go cust to purchase data pkg and rollover data amt if you purchase renewal.

shopper

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 8, 2012

I hsve 10 cents minute plan. AT&T charges for every time I touch the phone. one and two cents at a time. I asked them for a list of charges – no where to be found. I was told there is no charge to listen voice mail by one operator. Next one told me 2 cents a minute. The actual charge is 10 cents a minute! This is not documented anywhere. I have never paid for retrieving voice mail with my previous providers.

wizxus

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 7, 2012

I have heard alot about this 25$ unlimited messaging and 250 anytime minutes but when you call to get that specific plan it is not mentioned or on the available selection menu when you add money too your phone. sounds like a good deal but does this offer exist reallly? and if so why do they make it so complicated that the average person can not access it or figure it out without breaking their phone? What do I haft to do to get this plan they have beeen advertising for over a year or so? has anyone else had this problem with the new 25$ plan?

william

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 6, 2012

How does AT&T dare to charge for unanswered calls? This is a ripoff. I just dial the number and no answer, however, they do charge ).10 cents per dial.

Maggie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 4, 2012

I purchased the Go-Phone less than 2 mos ago. $135 down the drain. I need a basic phone. This phone has terrible reception. Audio is impossible. Calls are lost in airport, hotels, you name it. Screen goes black in middle of making call. How does AT&T get away with this. Am buying some other phone today. It is my fourth basic cell three were Virgin Mobiles, no problem phones that I just updated after time. This is the only phone that I have been unable to use, figure out, hear calls in public places. Touch pad so sensitive it is impossible to use. No stars

Carol

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 1, 2012

The Pantech P7040 GoPhone is terrible. I went through 3 different P7040's in 3 months due to freezing and the inability to read text messages. I have had to restart my phone a max of 17 times in one day just to retrieve my text messages. Each time I visited the ATT Store, they told me that there was nothing they could do for me after the refund policy expired after receiving my 4th phone. I would not give this phone to my worst enemy. This is the worst phone I have ever owned. I can't wait to get rid of it!

Marie

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 1, 2012

Well, for me the 40 dollar phone i purchased at radio shack, the go phone thru att has been great! 50 dollars a month for unlimited text and talk, and u can always use 1800free411 on any phone. As far as the web, I was disappointed that it advertised in a misleading way unlimited web and email when that is not included, but I lucked out since I had verizon so I can take that droid to a wi fi spot with no srvc and get access. I actually think their customer service is readily available, efficient, friendly, and go out of their way to resolve issues or answer questions. I'm hoping since i just purchased this along with the warranty that the phone, store, and customer service don't disappoint. So far so good!

Lori

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 31, 2012

I don't understand what everybody is complaining about, I get unlimited talk text and web for $50. My phone has held up and service is great. If you go into your local retailer they have always fixed any problem I might have.

Grant

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 30, 2012

I have to say I am so pleased with my At&t to go phone. i have tried others. They just don't compare to my go phone. Thanks AT&T.

Valina Tice

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 29, 2012

Things you should know: I recently purchased an AT&T Gophone from Best Buy. I bought the $100 for 1,000 minutes yearly plan (equals $0.10 per minute). I discovered, after I made my first few calls, that the length of the call noted on the phone does not correspond to the charges applied by AT&T. I made 3 calls, each of which was noted on my phone as having been under 1 minute in length. However, AT&T charged me $0.20 for each call. When I spoke later to customer service (and later verified by a stop at a local AT&T store), AT&T charges from the moment you hit the “send” button, while the phone records only the length of the actual call.

Rick

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 28, 2012

I'd give this 0 stars if possible. I ought the 250 minute International Calling Plan for $10. I just got off the phone from Italy and they charged me $17 and change for a half hour call. What a rip off! This is more than double the claimed per minute cost!! And AT&T won't let you use an international calling card. I bought a prepaid card from another company. Even though I dialed a local access number, AT&T charged what the call would have cost if I called Italy directly. I wish I knew how to get a refund. Anyone know? I'm buying a Tracfone.

Olivia

Leave a Review