View All Straight Talk Reviews

Read our full Straight Talk review

3.2
Rated 3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5 stars (based on 2266 reviews)
5 star33%
4 star13%
3 star23%
2 star5%
1 star26%

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 23, 2009

The actual phone service is great. The Customer Service is HORRIBLE. Unlike everyone else it only took a week to get my phone number ported in. Which isn’t great but at least I didn’t have to wait 30 days. My phone started acting up after a week and a half. So, I called and since my phone is still under warranty they said they would send me a new phone. 3 days later I received a Tracfone (which isn‘t compatible with Straight Talk) I called again to tell them they sent the wrong phone, they apologized and said they would send me another phone but I had to wait 3 days for it. 3 days later still no phone, so I called to find out where the phone was and they told me there was a glitch in there system and that my phone never shipped! I was irate. I asked to speak with a supervisor (who was hard to understand) and he promised me that I would receive a phone in 3 day. 3 days later I finally receive my phone and it was refurbished! It took a total of 2 weeks for me to get a replacement phone. If you can make it past their horrific customer service your home free.

Sheka

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 18, 2009

Here's my list of suggestions for straight talk: Make 4 card levels.. $45 unlimited voice+text+data, $30 1000/1000/30meg (30days), $35 1000/1000/30meg (60days), $40 1500/1500/90meg (90days). Also, more and cheaper phone selction. Some of us just can't afford the $45 a month for unlimited, but would like Verizon instead of AT &T on Tracfone/ST service.

st-suggester

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 18, 2009

Love the service and the phone. I bought the Samsung R451C phone from Wal-Mart and activated online. I ported my number over from Sprint and it took only 15 minutes to port the number. After 15 minutes, the new phone from Straight talk was ringing and the Sprint phone did not work. After few days, I so far had no issues. The plan I picked is the unlimited $45 and with tax it was $49. Good Choice.

Shahid

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 18, 2009

I've had the straighttalk service for about two months and I haven't had any problem with it. I bought the unlimited minutes and text for $45 since I do tend to do both a lot. I haven't had any dropped calls even when a plane flew overhead. My last plan, AT &T, had tons of dropped calls! Also, since I don't go for all the bells and whistles and all the fancy stuff, I just had the cheap-looking LG 200CM. The screen is small but I don't care. My cell bill has gone way down. My last bill came to $235! Man, I didn't know I was such a big mouth. So I'm happy with the Straighttalk. If you want all that fancy stuff, this isn't for you. It's for cheap asses like me. Also, I read previously about people having trouble porting their numbers. I avoided that and just told my friends, family, and work my new number. I didn't want the hassle of waiting a week. Who needs that crap? Just tell everyone your new number. It's not that hard. So unless Straighttalk changes, I'll be with the service for a long time.

David

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 17, 2009

Tired of paying Sprint excess $$$, I tried Straight Talk. Wow! What an experience. The support agent was very supportive. He told me that they could port any number, from any service. I almost went for it. Then I found this webpage! Ootchy-ouch! Not willing to take a chance. WalMart-living up to its reputation–giving you the least; for the least! (Often). Oh well…you get what you pay for:) And I ain't payin' for this crap!

Preston

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 16, 2009

Had the service for 4 months now. No dropped calls but I got 2 new phone numbers so I can't comment on the number portability fiasco. Customer service is really lacking. Double charged me and then wanted me to wait 7-10 bus. days to get refund. What?!? Demanded that they take the refund money and apply it to other line. Took them awhile to do it but they did. Really need to add phones and availability in Walmart stores.

Mary K.

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 16, 2009

We have two of these phones. The first (new number) went fine and coverage seems pretty good. The second (number ported over) has been a disaster. Customer Service is very lame. I was told everything was in order and the phone would be activated within 24 hours. It wasn't. I called back and was told one more hour and asked to call back. I called back and found nothing had happened and it would be another 24 hours. Still nothing. These guys seem totally clueless…like working with the Department of Motor Vehicles, with sincere apologies to the DMV.

Reeock

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 13, 2009

I am disappointed in this plan. I was not able to get online after talking to several representives. I was not able to serf the web as it states. I had to buy a new phone because my USB port messed up do to a faulty charger. When I asked for them to transfer the number. They told me that I would have to buy another $45. card to put on my new phone. I told him the problem and he said that the number can transfer but not the minutes I have left. I still have over 2 1/2 weeks of minutes. I should not have to buy another card just because my phone messed up. He can't even offer me a refund on the card that has minutes left. I don't understand why I am suppose to be able to get online like they say and can't. I also don't understand why can't the minutes transfer with the phone humber instead of staying with the phone. I can see that if I was having a new number but not because I had to get a new phone. I wanted to keep my phone and the number. I feel that the minutes should go with the number not the phone. It is ashame that you are losing a valuable customer just because of the phone change. You might want to chack into that so that you can keep your customers happy. Or least make your phone cheaper like other companies do.

Cindy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 10, 2009

If you are porting a working cell number to Straight Talk, ‘run' don't walk from this company. What most other companies do in minutes or at the most, two hours, take them up to 7 days to get done. I am returning my phone back to Wal Mart and living without a cell phone until my frustration cause by Straight Talk subsides. I wished I had read the reviews before I made my purchase.

Wayne

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 9, 2009

It took 6 days to port my old number and activate the RazerV3. Quality of voice calls good and can text, but am on second week of web browser not working. It took a week for my number to be recognized on their web site on ring tone section.

Ginger

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 8, 2009

It took 4 days to port my # and an additional 3 days to get the web browser activated. During that time I made multiple contacts with their tech support personnel. They were polite and responsive, just not very fast. They did address the issues within the time period they gave, so I can't complain too much. Actual cell service has been excellent. Call quality has been excellent with clear service and no dropped calls. The web browser is limited in its capability but I am able to access quite a few sites as well as email so I'm pretty happy with it. If you are porting a number expect it to take a while to get it all in order. Otherwise, I have no complaints.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 7, 2009

I absolutely love this service! I'm not too crazy about the choice of phones, however, which is why I decided to only give it 4stars. But, with that being said, the service is great! I shopped around for deals with other pre-paid phones and couldn't find anything better! I have heard that the phone gets the same coverage as Verizon, and I believe it! I use it all over Atlanta, have travelled to Athens, GA, and to south ga, and it has ALWAYS worked! My boyfriends phone with AT &T didn't even work last week when we were in Athens, but mine did! I am very happy with the service and my plan. I pay $30 a month and I never have to worry about if I'm calling during the right hours, or someone on the right network. I have had my phone for about a month now, and might opt to get the $45 unlimited plan, but I actually think that I'm good with 1000 mins. I'll decide that when it has been a full month next week. I also like that 1000 text messages are included with both plans. I just hope that they will come out with better phones, maybe one with a querty keyboard would be nice! If you are considering a pre-paid phone, definitely get this one! And no, I don't work for them or anything like that, I'm just a happy customer! : )

Natalie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 6, 2009

Great service, no problems activating or porting in numbers. I bought an LG200 for use as a business phone because it works EVERYWHERE with the service carried on Verizon. My daughter, who had Net10, was using so many ‘cards' that she converted to ST unlimited plan. Her old Net10 was a SIM based, Cingular carrier with poor service. Her new ST (Motorola 376)works everywhere on Verizon lines, she has had no problem with on-the-go email checks (she uses her laptop for regular browsing), and now calls from college more often since she doesn't have to worry about minutes. At $30 for the business phone, and $45 for my daughters phone, and I cancelled my land-line, we are saving over $150 from our old services. I have not had to call customer service yet, but I suspect that they use the same India/Philippino connections so I expect mild frustration.

Cynthia & Chelsea M.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 5, 2009

Customer service is horrible! I had a terrible experience when I discovered that they had shared my credit card information with another shady company called Net10. It turns out I was billed twice! What would be a simple transaction for a refund is currently taking up to 45 minutes and will take longer (I'm still on the phone)! If you're considering using Straight Talk, run for your life for another company! Worst cell phone experience of my entire life! So wish I had not left Sprint!

jasonpauldegraaf

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 4, 2009

If you are getting a new phone number Great- however if you need to transfer your number RUN. I purchased my Striaght Talk 09/13 today is 10/04 and they still have not imported my number, my previous carrier disconnected service due to the importing. Good Luck- i now must return to my previous provider and resign a contract. They should promote the service only for new assigned numbers. Surprised at Walmart for allowing this type of service.

Connie

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 1, 2009

finally after 30 days my old number was ported over, i was with out my old number for about a 2 weeks , but it works now and thats all i wanted i cut my bill by $90 per month this includes my cell phone from att and my house phone from vonage. so at this time after a couple of weeks of madness it was worth the hassle, I knew the long wait i would have to wait but i was willing to go through the pain, the only thing that im working on now is the web access, so im sure it will be another month buth thats ok, the $90 per month that im saving will by my new 52 inch hdtvd

joe

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 1, 2009

Update to yesterday's posting. It took 5 days for them to port my Verizon number. I then had to find a pay phone to call them from so the Razr could be manually activated. The CS had such a thick accent that the I kept putting in the wrong information because I couldn't understand him. I asked for an English interpreter 6 times. I said even if it is the janitor please put someone else on the phone. You tell them what to say in English with heavy accent and this will work. After 20 mins. he finally put his supervisor on. I could understand the super and was able to input the info correctly. Bluetooth headsets are not being recognized and web browser not working. I really don't want to call CS again.

Ginger

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 30, 2009

hadto come back and beetch! called cs when we tok phone back to walmart and told them we returned the phone DO NOT auto enroll us for any more minutes lo and behold I get my credit card statement and was charged $48 for a phone that was never even activated! blood pressure way up this is the worst service ever. I immediately called straight talk AGAIN to remove this charge and they kept saying the phone was activated and kept asking for the phone # WE NEVER EVEN GOT ONE. had to cancel my credit card because of this co and am disputing the charge rally am thinking of taking them to small claims court

jo

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 30, 2009

I attempted to activate my MotoRazorV3 last Friday and port my existing Verizon number. They turned off my Verizon phone at 2 on Saturday and told me to carry my new phone with me all day because the new one would start working within three hours. It has now been 5 days and I have NO PHONES WORKING. I'm still getting charged by Verizon and can't cancel them until port is complete. I had a car deal fall through because I couldn't communicate effectively when I was going to get the car inspected and bring the check. On Sunday they told me it would be working in three hours. On Monday they told me three hours. On Tuesday they told me two hours. It is now Wednesday and I'm mad as hell. They also told me the phone model I chose requries some manual activation once the number is ported. I will have to call them from another phone to finish the process. I do not have another phone line. I work 3rd shift when their customer service is closed and I also don't have a land line. I have had to explain this to 5 different people and they don't get it. I will probably send the phone back, but I want to make sure they can port the number back to Verizon and haven't totally screwed me over.

Ginger

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 30, 2009

I have had straight talk for 4 months now. I have to say i have not had one dropped call. I have had a few issues with customer service but who hasnt with any company. But as far as i see it. I will be a straight talk customer for as long as they have it. Excellent service and cheap. I had a problem porting my number but it took them about a hour on the same day that i bought the phone and it works great. I have to give 5 stars to straight talk. was a boost mobile customer and i hated it. I could never finish a call without it being dropped.

Derrick

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 30, 2009

There customer service is in india…So what. They want to help you. Phone works great on the verizon network. Cheap to talk and worth it. Pay double if you want someone who speaks good english. Everytime Id call sprint..Im on hold for 30 min…whats the difference.

Richie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 29, 2009

I love this phone. Got a Razr, it works better than at &t did! I can check my gmail, check on news/weather/sports. All I need in a phone with out a contract!

Mr. J

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 29, 2009

Its been close to a month and I have not been able to use my old ported number, there response varies from there is a problem with our billing system, or call with in 24 to 48 hours I finally cursed at them, i called verizon and asked them to check on my number they told me that it was a problem with straight talk. for those of you who can get through a freakin person thats reading a script here is the port number center # 800-876-5753 ITS BEEN A NIGHTMARE not sure why verizon allows these clowns to ride on their network. Im still keeping the service because the price is pretty good, I think they straight talks customer service needs a little more training, I had to tell them to call what ever department they talk to and tell them that I have contacted verzion and that verizon told me that they did not have a problem with my number – so at this point its on straightalks hands.

Joe

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 27, 2009

NO! STRAIGHT TALK IS NO BETTER!!!!!! 1. if you get a $45 card the first time you put a balance on your phone, you MUST stay paying the $45 unless you want your phone to be de and reactivated 3 TIMES!!. i tried and 3 days after the fact ive had nothing but problems.. yesterday, it said that after a 3min phone call, i was out of money even though at the begining of that call i had over 16 hours. NOW today i couldnt listen to ringtones, view pictures or videos nor take any. so my mom and i called the company and when we did so, the “oh so great” gentleman that we got wiped out EVERYTHING and i mean EVERRYYYTHINGGG on my phone. i now have no pictures, no videos, no messages that i had locked, and all the ringtones i downloaded, yea they’re gone too. and when we talked to the supervisor, his exact words were “Thats impossible” so i get angry (even more than i was already)and they never even tried to repair it.. nor did we get an apology for the inconvenience. we then call back to give him the code that we were given that had “accidentally” cleared my phone and the actually very nice lady we got said that it CAN happen and that SHE was SORRY!. the person who has no say in anything says shes sorry but the person in charge NOTHING..

Marissa

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 25, 2009

On my second month, looks like the web may roll over month to month? Not sure on that but excellent service and saving $25+ from the Cricket service I had which only covered the local area and not state coverage, can't complain. The web took about 24 hrs to activate but fine since. Customer service been helpful, verified I was signed up with the unlimited plan. Definitely check into StraightTalk.

James

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 24, 2009

After being a verizon customer for 12 years my contract was up and my plan was no longer available. I did not want a contract at a higher monthly fee, so I have been seeing the adds for Straight Talk and found out it uses verizon network thought I'll give it a try.Bought moto V3a, dispite the reviews, it has the features I need. Activated Tue. night my old phone was off the next morn. But after I reread the paper work and relized that you need to call Straight Talk to activate the phone. It took about 20 min. Back in bussiness.I am doing the $30.00 month plan which is more than I need.Customer Service was fine. I called back the next day and turned off the minute minder. I cannot tell any difference in service. So far this is great. NO CONTRACT TO DEAL WITH, And this does not work out I can go back to Verizon.Thanks Straight Talk.

Keith R.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 22, 2009

Can't complain about the phone nor reception. BUT, customer disservice is horrid! I spent 52 minutes on the phone getting them to understand I wanted to upgrade to the $45 unlimited plan from to 1000 minute plan. (Hell I don't spend 45 mins closing a real estate deal) The person I got just couldn't understand that I am already on a direct debit plan and don't buy cards. After the first 16 mins and requests that I speak with the supervisor, he understood, sort of. Then lots of mumbling and ‘system updating' excuses, he said I was already enrolled in unlimited. Not true. I get those very annoying ‘you have 2 hours 10 mins left' type of announcements whenever I place a call. More delays. I have never endured so much to try to spend more money with a firm. This is totally the result of poorly trained staff. The rep was, however, polite. God forbid one has a serious problem!

Battindown

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 21, 2009

you can not get ahold of anyone to get min they say you can but in this area I can't even get a customer service person to refill my min. and now they own alltell. Heaven help us all!!!!!!!

barbara espinosa

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 21, 2009

Well I'm trying out Straight talk, a great deal. I can check my email on the go, I'll be doing a road trip soon with it. It didn't take me long to activate it. I think the people who rate them 1 star just don't get it.

JBN

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 21, 2009

I decided to just go with a new number. Works fine so far. I'm looking forward to only paying thirty dollars a month. Have fun. Bye

robert

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 21, 2009

im looking to buy the razor w/1000 min.i hope this works out better than my last new phone.i got a tracfone 2 yrs ago when i moved back to upstate ny. i had cingular in fl for previous 4 yrs with no problem, (anywhere)… even when i visited up here…till at &t took them over.then service went in the crapper.i got the cheap lg w/tracfone, the cheap one offered with straight talk now, and it has worked great. i decided last year to upgrade to a better phone that was blutooth and it was a nightmare.terrible signal where i live,it had zero bars and old phone had full bars sitting on table right next to it.spent 3 hrs on phone with customer service trying to fix problem or give me a refund since phone didnt work,finally after a major headach they did somthing to give me 1 bar and i was able to recieve a call from them.i was told since i was able to get the call the phone was working fine and no refund would be given.next day back to same problem,no signal with new phone.i called back and pitched a fit, after 2 hrs on phone with them i finally backed the tech in a corner when she said i had no towers where i lived so i wont get service here. i asked her why then did i have perfect service with other phone? after several stutters and hmms, she admited that the cheap phone used analog signal and new phone was digital with sim card and towers in my area werent digital. needless to say,i didnt get refund but since i kept old phone and didnt transfer service it still was working.i still have it and im keeping it just in case.im going try this straight talk and i'll update here when i see what happens.if anyone is having this kind of problem too,maybe its the towers your phone is using. later all

onimac

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 20, 2009

i have not tryed straight talk yet but am planning to do so, as i have net ten now and plan to keep it as i have bought so many cards im using 600 minutes or more a month, and my service doesent exspire until 2014, so ill keep it but will get straight talk,because they will give you 1000 minutes for thirty dollers, as i have not had any problems with net ten customer service, there very good i had a problem with a phone it stoped working called them and they sent me a new one at no charge thats why i think sraight talk will get better as there the same company as trac phone and net ten. my friend got booste and she lives in a big town in n.h and she dosent even get service in her house, and a lot of dropped calls and there owned by sprint, so go figure,

maurice titcomb

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 20, 2009

I live in Los Angeles. I heard about straighttalk in consumer reports magazine.I can't buy a phone in california yet. So I bought one from walmart web site. They said it would take 7 days to port my old number. I'll let you know what happens. I've read alot of bad reviews about their customer service. I'll come back in a week or two and let you all know what happened. thank you

robert

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 15, 2009

I enrolled with straight talk after listening to Clark howard and the first thing I saw was that I could not log on line with them. I called them and spoke to someone thst assured me the problem will be taken care of in 48 hours. time went by and I still could no log on. I called again and was told that because it was a new number it will be okay after the first month. I tried to log on when my first month was up and I was assured that the problem was on their end and I was not to worry about my minuites. I purchased a $30.00 card and called them back to tell them I had a new card and this was the new number for the additional 1000 minuites. they assured my not to worry abiut the count down and some one would call me in 48 hours.I waited and no phone call. I tried to log in and it kapt comming up as an invalid ESN. I was on the phone and it dropped a call. I tried to call out and a message kept comming up as you do not have enough minuites to make this call. I called straight talk and explained my situation with referrance#s thay had given me and thay had the same answer, someone will call you in 48 hours.I asked them how that was possible when the phone did not work and thay said if we call you the phone works. I would not go with this company and someone needs Carlos know in Mexico what his company in the USA is doing.

Jatin Desai

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 15, 2009

I got a LG200 three weeks ago. I have one bar of signal at home. I tried resetting the phone countless times to no avail. I bought a motorolla phone to see if I had any better signal at home…no dice. I went to make a call on each phone and both did not dial out. Now I have two phones which do not work at home and am out the minutes….no refund on minutes. The customer no service is from India. They sent me to escalation and they said I had accepted a call from them and my new phone is fine. No….I still can't talk in my house. My neighbor's Sprint phone has five bars here in my house. I have a good signal everwhere else except home. It is infuriating. Also be warned…if you do what I did and buy another phone the unused minutes from the old phone are not transferrable to another phone with Straight Talk…even if you keep the same number. I have tried Cricket and Boost as well. Boost kept dropping calls in good coverage areas and Cricket had fewer dropped calls but outside of my area…no service at all. Is this how the Big Cell Phone companies plan on keeping customers..by having lousy signal and customer service on the off-brand names? Now I have no idea which one to use! Maddening!

Steve

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 13, 2009

I used to pay about 150.00 per month for cell service through Verizon. Then I discovered this plan which uses the Verizon network and love it. I purchased the $45 unlimited phone and messaging service. Not only is the basic price much less, but I save about $23.00 in taxes and fees. The service is first rate, just like Verizon. The Phones are functional, but selection could be better.

Dennis

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 11, 2009

Me again….. I have been reading the rest of the reviews and I am disapointed. For those who say I can't get on the internet…. Get a laptop…. Straight talk is a cell phone buisness. I didn't no they had the straight talk internet pakage. Come on people, you buy a phone to what… Make phone calls. Thats what Straight talk said the product did so why complain. And for the rest of complaints on the customer service and getting it activated Im sure sense the company is fairly new that thay are working on it. Lets all be patient and give it some time.

John Turner

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 11, 2009

As a Police Officer I use my phone all day everyday and the cell phone I had was a T-Mobil deal where I had 600 minutes and 400 texts for 60 dollars a month. I saw the straight talk plan at wal-mart and decided to try it out. I bought the low end lg model phone and got the 45 dollar unlimited plan. So far it has been worth it. I can talk however long I want and text without worry of going over. If you can get over the message of them giving you your balance every time you use it then I would recommend this phone and plan to anyone. On another note the coverage is great. I havn't lost a call yet. The LG feels a little cheaply made but come on for 30 dollars its worth it and more. It makes calls and it even came with more games than my blackberry. lol. look if you want a phone to do what you need it to than I recommend this package to everyone. In two weeks of having it my freinds and family have dropped there cell phone carriers and got the straight talk plan. Overall Im glad to see a company that is not trying to nickle and dime you.

John Turner

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 8, 2009

Service sucks!!!!Customer Service Sucks!!! Manager won't return calls. I was only able to use the phone for 1 week! I am out of about $100.00. Company gave my number away and then would not give me a new number. Save your money. Not worth it!!!

Anita

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 4, 2009

Purchased the W385 from Walmart. Ported # from Vonage which took 7 days. CSR called and took 15 minutes and 3 tries to activate phone. Works just fine in the Atlanta metro area, well except as some have said the bowser doesn't work. About what I expected. Just canceled my AT &T cell service after 9 years, ie goodbye…. Hm, just started my 2nd month and everything appears to have ROLLED over? WOW, that would be awesome if they did that, but still ok if they don't.

Terry

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 29, 2009

The coverage and network quality on this phone is unrivaled. As a matter of fact I read somewhere they won the JD Powers & Associates award for best prepaid network. I have used it for just over a month now and I can say most emphatically that I will not even consider any other phone carrier. There are one or two cheaper options out there but their reviews are enough to scare me off.

TimRowe

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 29, 2009

I switched from T-Mobile's ‘customer loyalty' plan to Straighttalk. I use between 700-800 minutes a month on average. I was paying T-Mobile, for Unlimited Voice and 400 text messages monthly, about $63. I use about 700-800 minutes monthly, so I am on the 1000/1000 plan for $30 (+tax), so have essentially cut my costs in half. In the Puget Sound region of WA, T-Mobile coverage is pretty good, Verizon's is as good or better. The $99 phone I got from Wal Mart for Verizon is the same Motorola I was using for T-Mobile. The old phone I am converting to a T-Mobile pay-as-you go for my child and as a backup. I could also use that backup phone for our few trips to Canada,as it will GSM-roam up there, while the Straighttalk phone will not CDMA-roam anywhere. For where I use the phone 99% of the time, I simply cannot currently find a better $$ deal for this amount of service.

billburnett

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 28, 2009

I love this service!!!! I had the phone for one week and OMG I finally have a full signal. I've tried Sprint,Nextel with the newest and lastest phones I had dropped calls 95% off the time. I had to have the coolest phones but I had no signal all the time. The Ravor phone is cool. But, I really wish they get more phones. The service is throught Verizon it seems to have the best signal for my area. People are crazy for paying 100 or more for unlimited calling. IT'S TRULY SUPERIOR SERVICE AT A DISCOUNT PRICE. I just tell people that I'm on the Verizon network(which is the true)

SBRUNN

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 28, 2009

had this phone for 8 days could not get it activated even after calling 3 times a day finally took it back to walmart but am now out of $45.00 for the card since it was scratched off I am going to dispute this charge with credit card company. every time we would call customer service we would hear a different story ended up walking into a radio shack bought a boost mobile unlimited phone and text for $50 month and it was activated within 10 minutes

jo

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 21, 2009

Browsing the web looking for a lower price wireless carrier I read the article that StraightTalk had been launched by Tracfone and that intrigued me. I did a search on StraightTalk and found the website, saw they utilized the Verizon Network and have state coverage compared to just area coverage with Cricket. I ordered the phone from Walmart.com and it arrived 3 days later after processing – better than site to store shipping, good going FedEx. Signed up yesterday and within and hour, my number had ported over and even received a call to make sure I had the correct roaming and other software updated for the phone. The web was about 24 hours out to fully activate, nice layout. Strong cell phone signal. I am saving $25 a month and have the entire state now instead of area, am in Utah, where if I traveled out of area I would be roaming with Cricket.

James

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 19, 2009

I just travelled to Danbury, pretty little town next to the Hanging Rock state park in North Carolina. Stayed at the Hanging Rock Retreat Log Cabin community which is beautiful. However, my $600 At &T iPhone, which costs me about $120 a month to service didn't work! It was my teenager's no contract Straight Talk, run on the Verizon network, which gave us coverage throughout our vacation. It just goes to show you that less is more. Needless to say, I'm getting buyer's remorse over the iPhone, which has more apps than I care to learn how to use.

Phyllis

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 15, 2009

I have had my phone for about 5 weeks now and once I finally ported in my old number and was up and running there seems to be no problem. But porting in my old number took 2 days. They cut my old phone off immediatly to start the porting,, so I was without a phone for 2 days. And customer service gives a new meaning to the word bad, very bad.I called one time and the recording told me my wait time was approx. 20 min. I bought the cheap LG phone, haven't had any problems with the phone. It just doesn't have a display on the outside of it to let you know who's calling. When I wear this phone out then I'll get the Motorola rzr ($99).Unlike my old Net10 phone this company's phone's are not equiped to tell you how many minutes or time is left unless you call cust service or use thier web site (which is down sometimes). I guess there's a give and take to this company. Outstanding value compromised by poor customer service.

Renegaderoger

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 13, 2009

I could not have had a worse experience. I live in DC and it is currently day 13, and the phone still does not work. I have called in and talked to their customer service 9 times now. Today I finally asked them to refund me the service. It's just not worth the hassle. I've spent a total of 6 hours on the phone with them trying to get it to work. They say they're going to escalate the matter, but nothing happens. ‘escalating' is supposed to take 24-48 hours, but they said that every single time I called in, never did get an answer on what was going on.

Neel

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 9, 2009

I bought the W385 Motorola phone from Walmart yesterday. Came home, called the customer service, and the line was activated (with a new number) in 10 minutes. Tracfone's customer service cannot be compared to Verizon's or AT &T's. The call went to a country outside the US – I could clearly make out the foreign/ spanish accent and the call center was pretty noisy. IMHO, the reps are able to answer standard questions, but will go around in circles if you ask them anything other than standard. I bought this phone expecting sub-standard customer service, so as long as you keep your expectations realistic, you will do fine. The phone/ device itself is very good – Motorola brand that I love, lightweight, good battery life, crystal clear voice, etc. So far, the signal has been pretty good and strong – just like one of the major providers. Works great in my basement, and the 4-5 stores I took it into. I plan to travel next week, and will test the phone in the new city as well. If you dial 611 on your phone, the call goes to Verizon Customer Service, so I am expecting good coverage on this Tracfone line (FYI, you have to dial a 1-800 # to get to Tracfone's Cust Srvc, not 611). Tracfone only offers 3 phones in the unlimited (and $30) plan. My phone was $80. The Razr costs $99. I would stay away from the cheap LG. The W385 I bought is not user-friendly for web surfing, and I expected that. Therefore, I bought this service mainly for unlimited calling and texting. If you primarily want to use this service for web usage, you are better off getting a good device from one of the major providers. I do not have any complaints about the signal strength though – the drawback, with surfing, was with the device itself. Lastly, I believe Tracfone has disabled the option to upload your own pics and ringtones (through a PC) on their phones. Once again, not a big deal to me. I bought the service mainly for unlimited calling, and so far I am pretty happy. Total cost with taxes = $47.20 per month.

Shawn

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 5, 2009

It is horrible because i can not buy ringtons or graphics

Fred

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 3, 2009

I bought mine from walmart in Atlanta. Activation was fast and the phone very strong signal bars especilly indoors. I ported my old number without any difficulty. So far so so good.

kamau

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2, 2009

I just renewed my unlimited plan with no problem … I live in the country and my service works great. My account is showing that I have 55 mbs of data so my old data rolled over. I love this service!

Terrie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 2, 2009

I HATE IT! It's definately one of those you get what you pay for phones.

Chelsea Mason

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 29, 2009

I have had a Straight Talk Razr phone for three weeks now, and I am still unable to access the Internet from my phone. I have called Customer Service in excess of 10 times, and so far they have been unable to resolve the problem. At the very least I would expect them to replace the phone and reimburse me for the minutes I have spent on the phone with Customer Service or waiting for a customer service representative. However, so far they have done nothing other than to assure me that the problem will be resolved in 24-48 hours and tell me to call back if the phone still does not work. I have never encountered such poor service!

Parrott

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2009

No problem starting online account, but trouble activating. Customer service was superb and well spoken. Hand held me through my Razr activation and got it on the first try. No drop offs yet in the Phoenix area. Good stuff!

vfbee

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 20, 2009

We were looking for a reason to get rid of our land line and have finally found it. The total for ST's unlimited plan with taxes and fee's is about 46.60, which is almost identical to what our 24.95 land line totaled after taxes. The plus is we now get unlimited long distance and can take the phone with us. I ordered the phone online from Walmart and had it in 3 days delivered to my local store. It took 2 days to port our existing number, although we were told it could take much longer. Customer service was always very polite/knowledgeable and I never found anyone that had an accent so bad I couldn't understand them. I bought the W85 for 80$. Yes, there are only 3 phones offered are are not the most feature laden. But, for phone use and texting are fine. I do not plan on using the data so it is a moot point to me that the phones are not that great for web access. The phone gets a better signal and is clearer than my expensive ATT smart phone. We are able to get a signal at remote places where my ATT phone gets no signal. I think this is a great plan to replace a land line. I plan to set it up to auto pay from my credit card so I don't have to refill it each month. Also, we will keep track of the minutes each month, and if we consistently use under 1000 minutes we will switch to the 30$ plan.

Barry

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 16, 2009

I just switched to Straight Talk, and I am so frustrated. It took a week to activate the phone even though I was moving a phone number from Tracfone to Straight Talk, both owned by the same company (I think). I still cannot access the Internet from my phone. When I call customer service, they tell me they can't do anything to help until I call from a different phone – kind of defeats the purpose of having a cell phone. Additionally, when I call Straight Talk, I have to wait 5-10 minutes for a customer service person. Then when I do have someone who helps me, the person is often very hard to understand and repeatedly says condescending and patronizing things such as ‘Thank you so much for being so patient.' If you want to contact someone at Straight Talk, you have only 2 options: make a phone call and wait for a representative (while your cell minutes click away) or contact them through snail mail. The website does not even list an email address! I am frustrated and would not recommend Straight Talk to anyone until their phones and service improve!

Edie Parrott

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 16, 2009

Our experience with this Tracfone spin-off Straight Talk has been the cause of my latest nervous breakdown…..just kidding. But in all seriousness, it HAS been an incredibly frustrating experience…to say the least. Although we like the phone and the plan is perfect for our 16 year old, their customer service is completely unreliable and inefficient. Like Tracfone, Straight Talk's customer service is outsourced to a foreign country….nuff said? If not, I'll elaborate. Although the reps are nice enough, they provide canned, robotic responses that rarely answer your question…as they rapidly type away at their computers telling you they're updating their system. However, each time you call back to follow up on an unresolved issue, you have to start all over again like they're hearing of this issue for the first time. It's as if all that data they were entering during your last call is mysteriously wiped from their hard drive the minute you hang up the phone. Further, we get a different answer for the same question depending on who we speak with, and, you're kept on the phone for an insane amount of time for what seems like it should be the simplest of tasks. Further, if they tell you the issue needs to be escalated to their corporate office and proceed to provide you with a reference # and tell you it will be 24/48 hours to remedy the problem……..DON'T COUNT ON IT! It took us a full week to get one issue resolved, and in that week we had no use of our phone and were ultimately provided with FIVE different reference numbers…..for the SAME issue…..NO LIE! See what I mean? In a nutshell, they don't know the product well enough to provide reliable support for it AND their customer service departments mode of operation is completely inefficient….and INCREDIBLY FRUSTRATING!

Diana

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 11, 2009

What good is cheap phone service if you can't use it? I purchased my phone from Wal-mart, waited a week for my number to be swithed over. Now I can't get the phone to activate. I've discussed this 4-5 times with customer service and have dialed *228 until my fingers are bloody. Then I just get told that my problem is being expedited to their supervisor and to wait 24 more hours. I've now been without cell service for 8 days because my Straight Talk won't work and my other service has been shut down. The irony of it is I switched from Verizon who is one of the partners with Straight Talk and now I can't get the service activated! I'm giving it one more day. It it's not fixed I'm going somewhere else. Hopefully I won't have to wait another week for my phone number to transfer! Very frustrating.

Jill

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 9, 2009

I've only had it for a day, but I'm pretty happy with it so far. I had no problems activating my account and the service is great where I live. My only complaint is the phone models. I got the LG200CM because I'm on a serious budget at the moment. It is an alright model, really very basic. I'm a bit disappointed that there aren't any better models for the price, especially when tracfone and net10 have much better models for less than or the same price.

bee

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 8, 2009

Horrible customer service. The phone is decent but I cannot get my web browser activated. Straight talk has assured me that they are working on this and everytime I call tell me they will have the issue fixed witin 24-48 hrs. That has been 2 weeks ago and I have called 5/6 times. It does not good to talk to a supervisor, they tell you the same thing. If the customer service is this bad with my browser, I am not about to be out of phone service this long. Now I am just worried I will have trouble moving my number. Do not get this service.!!!!

Amanda Ardis

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 7, 2009

I'm not impressed at all.I've had it for about a week and they still can not get it activated.Their cust. service is based in the Phillipines and when you call you can barely make out what they are saying because of the bad connections.And it is the same story everytime,' We will make this our top priority,remember this reference number.' If it is this hard to get it turned on, whats it going to be like when I have a real problem.I'm canceling it!!!

mark

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2009

I am really impressed with this phone service – for under 50 dollars a month I get better service that I ever have with AT &T, I get a bar out in te potato pasture! – not to mention we moved from texas to north dakota and my AT &T service is not avaliable here, but they are so tight on that contract I will have to pay for 4 months for service I cannot use! no more contracts for me, ever – if this service is not for your area check out boost – it's good too.

Lorri

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 6, 2009

sounds like a great deeal i will call and see if i have service in my area…

magali

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2009

I ordered my ST Razr on the afternoon of July 1st from the Wal-Mart website and received it the morning of July 3rd. It was shipped out of Dallas and I live about 2 hours south of there so it didn’t take long even with standard shipping from Fed-Ex. I live in the boonies about 20 min west of highway 35 between Waco and Temple Texas and I’m getting good service. I can get on the web and go to any website. I bought the unlimited plan on the ST website when I activated my phone and had no problems. When I had to complete my activation by calling *228 it said that it was the Verizon network. When I e-mail from the phone it is a Verizon address of To vtext.com. I paid $45.00 for the unlimited plan … $3.49 in state tax and $.78 cents for Federal Universal Service Charge for a total of $49.27 for 30 days of service. I love the phone and service and plan to get rid of my land line.

Terrie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 4, 2009

great phone i was a little hesitant beacuse you usually get wat you pay for i have better service with this phone than i do with my at &t contract phone

william

Leave a Review