View All TracFone Reviews

Read our full TracFone review

2.5
Rated 2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5 stars (based on 1661 reviews)
5 star18%
4 star13%
3 star14%
2 star7%
1 star48%

Editorial Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 24, 2022
Prepaid Reviews

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 31, 2011

Has anyone had any experience with SVC, senior value cell phones? I have an elderly parent who I would like to get in touch with and vice versa in case of an emergency but I am not sure what the service is like.

Hector

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 30, 2011

The statements in the above review have NOT been my experience. If I were a consumer I would stay away from TRACphony. So far they have been unable to transfer my minutes and dates, after several calls and HOURS on the phone with them. I am so done with these phonys!

fantasticalice

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 28, 2011

I've had 2 pre-paid TracFones in 2+ years with double minutes for life and just upgraded to another – more advanced model – with TRIPLE minutes for life. I don't understand WHY people pay such high rates for their phone service. People I know people who have those $40 per month unlimited calling/text messaging and my TracFone out performs them 2 to 1. Aggravated at their carrier's poor transmission and repeatedly dropping my call I asked them why don't they get a TracFone so they can experience REAL cell service.

Kathryn

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 26, 2011

All Tracfone companies are extremely weak. Unfortunately, when you go with prepaid, the company owns you because you give them your money in advance of service. Try T-Mobile Monthly 4G. It works more like a postpaid plan even though you still pay up front for service. Page Plus is second best.

Weak

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 26, 2011

Worst customer service ever. Hold times long, can't speak English, ‘trying' to read a script….she finally just hung up on me.

joni

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2011

I've been with Tracfone for many years, and for what I want it is perfect. I had issues with my phone and they promptly overnighted me a new one. Not only that, but if you dial the Miami corporate number, you won't get the hold times with the general number (and the folks I spoke to could speak English clearly. My new phone was activated in minutes, and Raphael the customer service rep picked up after 1 minute–and stayed on with me the whole time, from sim card to activation. Great experience, especially for the price.

M.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 21, 2011

I would give this company 0 stars if it was an option. I had Tracfone service for several years. In May I bought a year of service. In June I had no service. They told me a needed a new SIM card for my area. So I had to wait to get a new one in the mail. Again in July I had no service. I spent at least 7 hours on the phone (Not Exagerating). Kept getting passed to someone new and they kept doing the same things and asking the same questions. Finally I was told there was a tower down in my area. I know other people in this area whose Tracfone service was not affected. They said to give them 24 hours, but my service was never restored. I tried to get a partial refund since it was their fault, but they wouldn't do anything to reimburse me. Most of the Customer service reps are impossible to understand and the phone connections are horrible. I wrote the whole thing off as a loss and went to ATT for a Go-phone.

BJM

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 19, 2011

We have had Tracfone for years and found it to be exactly what we need. We only use it when traveling so we did not want to sign up for a monthly contract. However, their customer service is a disaster (out of country customer service and you can't understand them). The website does not always work like it should. If they would fix both of these problems they would have a gem!

Marilyn

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 12, 2011

Do any of Tracfone's (or any Prepaid company's) phones come with the manufacturer's operating manual? I have the LG420G model, but the manual it came with just had the Tracfone activation and service guide. I was able to figure out some features on my own, but I think it would have been better to have the actual manual. I haven't used the customer service number but I looked through their online forums without much luck. Most people's questions are answered something like ‘Hello, my name is Tracfone John Doe. I need to discuss this issue in private through your email.' I'm satisfied with the voice call service but could not find much usefulness in the internet access. The sites on the Tracfone mobile pages worked fine (most is just text), but I had trouble using other sites. It may be fine for very basic use if nothing better is available, but if you use mobile access for long emailing sessions or need to view a webpage without scrolling constantly I think a phone with full keyboard and large screen woulbe be much more useful.

Robert

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 8, 2011

Let me join in the customer service is TERRIBLE crowd. I had no problem setting up my tracfone, however I do not have any internet capability nor MMS messaging. If I want to send plain texts that's fine, but MMS and web are non existant. My phone is an LG500g and is ‘supposed' to be a smartphone. Making calls is no problem on this phone. But I've been on hold waiting for customer disservice for 2 hours and counting now. At NO TIME should a customer ever have to be on hold for 2 hours. I will be getting my money back for this phone (thank goodness for HSN's return policy) should I not receive some satisfaction

Janedoe

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 7, 2011

I haven't had a need to use their customer service much until this spring. The voice mail stopped working, and they were not very helpful, as there was a delay (talking to the Philipeans I later found out) & a language or pronunciation problem, and the guy was just reading his screen, repeating everything I had already tried online via email (and was then told I needed to call. I asked to speak to a supervisor afer I realized that this was repition of things I had already tried: but none were available. After 30-40 minutes, I insisted on speaking to supervisor & was put on hold. I had to go to the airport and couldn't wait any longer. I still don't have voice mail & don't know why they killed it in February. I am shopping for a new company to replace my 2 phones. We only use them occassionally & on vacation (for family to reach us via voicemail), so now it's not very helpful without voicemail.

Wendy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 6, 2011

This company is awful. Been on the phone trying to get service. Yesterday their system was down for two hours,called back two an a half hours later and you guess it, the system will be down another two hours. Going to the verizon store as soon as they open their doors. Bye bye tracfone.

Martha

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 4, 2011

-5 rating!!! Tracphone, net ten, smartphone all owned by same company need a class action lawsuit slapped on them for deceptive business practices and outright stealing!!!!!!!! Avoid at all costs!!!!!!!!! Who do you complain to? Customer service does absolutely no good only wastes hours of your minutes!

Ibnhoodwincked

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 4, 2011

I have had several TracFone's over the years and I like them, here's a few tips for better service:Buy a one year card with lifetime double minutes, that way you save money and don't have to deal with customer service.Visit CallingMart on Facebook for coupons, you can save as much as 10%.As for those complaining about spammers and bill collectors it's not TracFone's fault, the person who had the number before you is at fault.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 4, 2011

I have to join the throngs of people who are fed up with Tracfone. Customer service is nonexistent and they put you on hold forever (for me, it was 42 minutes but I read of another customer who was on the phone for 2 1/2 hours. Also tried communicating by email with no satisfaction. The end result was that they told me they could do nothing about the problem that I have. After doing some research, I find that this is a common complaint among Tracfone users. It is apparent that Tracfone does not want or care about, their subscribers. There is no reason why customers should have to wait to speak to a rep for more than an hour. It is just not good business. Hire some more reps! Fed up customers are not likely to stay with you.

E. S. Strickland

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 4, 2011

I will never have to put up with this phone company again because I could not take the headache of the crappy service let alone their customer service that will intentionally stall you so you will burn up your minutes if you use your tracphone to call. Just wish I could give them a 0 star rating. Complain to your congressmen and the FCC something has to be done about these thieves! They need to be prosecuted. Class action law suit anyone interested! I can not believe the government is letting them get away with stealing from their customers. My phone is now in a thousand pieces. I got great enjoyment/satisfaction smashing it after I was finally able to use up all my minutes. Avoid prepaid phones at all costs unless you like to be frustrated all the time. One of the biggest mistakes I ever purchased! I stress again call your congressmen & the FCC to complain!!!!!! I really want to cuss so bad that I am about to turn into an atomic bomb that is how mad I am at this company.

wayne

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 3, 2011

I have had probably six tracfones and that is because i upgrade to the newest phones when available. I have not had many problems with my phones but my husband has with two that he has had and that is with the batteries. Yes customer service can be just awful Ive had to wait as much as 30 minutes and yes for some reason they do not want to talk into the headset and most of the time you can not understand the person on the other end so i ask for a supervisor. for the most part i am pleased with tracfone and I find that it is 100% better than the other prepaids that I have used. I have recommended it to several of my friends. And by the way it is the only phones that I and my husband have except for the buisness phone.

Patricia

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 2, 2011

The absolute WORST customer service on the planet. Deducts time for DIALING – calls don't go through, recordings come on asking for collect or soliciting to buy minutes when you already HAVE minutes. First number given had someone else's voicemail with no access to change since it was still under password. Hours on the phone with 4 different reps, finally transferred to a supervisor who managed to correct everything.

Nan

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 2, 2011

Purchased this phone with lifetime unlimited double minutes. Initial set up was fine. At the expiration date with 3 minutes left, I purchased 120 minute card & accessed my online acct to install them. The minutes never showed up on my phone, yet I got a message on my phone to contact 1-800 customer service. I used up those remaining 3 minutes to call customer service & used another phone to call back. I spent 35 minutes with one rep who put me on hold every 3 minutes, like everyone has been saying they do. Her english was very poor and she spoke very slow, but she would not speak into her headset and I had to ask her several times to do so because I could barely hear her as she reatedly instructed me to enter the same codes, with the same result of an invalid code. I was given another 800 number to call & I spent 49 minutes with her. She did install the 120 minute card, plus the 20 minute promotional card, but I did not get the double minutes and spent 84 minutes on another phone trying to get this resolved. She offered me 20 minutes for my inconvenience, but I ask her about the double minutes and what about the 84 minutes I lost from calling and she put me on hold for the supervisor and that was the last I heard from her. From the numerous complaints I have read. It appears to me that this phone service company has no interest in promoting future business with customers and is better off used as a one time disposable phone that is most likely good for drug dealers & criminals to use mabey to detonate an explosive device or something. I would say that the customer service reps are aware of these practices and are doing this to discourage customers so they will just hang up and go away. I would not buy this product with the intention of having a dependable source of communication. This is an intentional and very poor business practice.

Dorothy

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
August 1, 2011

I love the original phone but wanted to upgrade it. When I called for support I ended up listening first to music that sounded like the station hadn't been dialed in clearly. English was not the first language of the person I spoke with – very difficult to understand, spoke loudly and quickly. Was not able to communicate in a calm reassuring manor but sounded like he was reading from a script. I gave a poor rating due to customer service. This company could do so much better as their phones and plans are definitely good.

Sandra

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 1, 2011

Just set up my phone and have been making a few calls already and so far im really impressed by the service. Has anyone had any service disruptions when traveling through the middle of the country?

Gibson

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 1, 2011

This company has the worst customer service I have experienced. I am trying to change the phone number for my grandparents so the phone will no longer roam. I can't do that online and have been on hold for almost two hours. There are far better pay as you go companies out there that have good Internet services and quick phone service. I will be recommending that they switch.

Kms

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
August 1, 2011

We purchased a track phone last winter. We basically needed it to call our children in Canada while we were away. I could not call Canada. I did what the instructions said and call would not go through. I called support and they were of no help to me at all. Just last week, I tried to purchase more minutes for the cell phone, It would not accept any of my Canadian Charge cards, which by the way one of my Canadian Charge cards is owned by MBNA. So I guess my phone will go in the garbage – this phone was a waste of money for us.

Patty Hayes

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 1, 2011

TracFone is the oldest and largest prepaid company in the US, for a prepaid cellphone their products and services are good. I have used them off and on for 11 years when I needed a cheap backup phone. When you compare prepaid services from the major carriers(eg Verizon) you will pay a high price for not signing a contract(min $46 a month), at <$10 a month you can have cell service with TracFone.So if you don't talk that much or need an emergency phone then TracFone is ideal.One star off because TracFone customer service does suck but fortunately I haven't had to use them that often.

Shawn

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 31, 2011

We have used Tracfone for sever years and have had good service around town but find that there are entirely too many places in which we cannot get service when other people are getting service.

Freda

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 31, 2011

Less than zero stars for this company!I read the information on their website when selecting a ‘pay as you go' service. They promise to provide a LOCAL telephone number based upon your Zipcode.I purchased a TracPhone & a 120 minute card from Wal*Mart, brought it home and registered on line. You guessed it .. . I was assigned a number to a city / prefix area 50 miles from home. The cost of a call from my home phone to my TracPhone would be $ .35 per minute, long distance!I went through all of the same crap with customer service; non-English speakers reading from scripts and lying about service areas as others have mentioned here.Long story short, after HOURS on hold, then trying to make the ‘Customer Service' reps understand that I wanted what the website said I should have, a local number within my area code (there are TWENTY local prefixes here) I was assigned not one but two other numbers, both in the same long distance area as the first one, AND they switched my carrier service from Verizon to US Cellular. My phone then showed ‘Roaming' all of the time and the telephone number shown on the phone was not the one that was assigned to it. Oh, and the reception in this area from US Cellular is terrible, I told them so and they wouldn't switch my back to Verizon.I took the phone back to Wal*Mart and, because their salesperson had also, based upon info. from TracPhone, assured me a local number, received a full refund for the phone and the minutes card.TracPhone is a TERRIBLE company to do business with and the information they provide on their website is essentially untrue.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 29, 2011

i have had a few (4?) trac fones and have been very pleased it is not my main phone i have a land line but use the trac fone mainly for when i am out and about. i have also never had any trouble w/ customer services either in fact they have always been quite helpful the few times i have had to use them. i am getting ready to get my self a new phone (giving my old one to my son) and get one for my daughter for when she is at school. i guess i will see if the new phones are any good i have had this one for long time.

lexie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 27, 2011

Set up a trac phone over the internet and gave them all the information requested. Recieved the phone and found out it wouldn't work in my area. Had to call the company and it took 45 minutes talking to someone who I could not understand over the phone their accent was so strong. Recieved the new phone and had to pay to send back the non working phone. Found out I wasn't getting the special internet double minutes I signed up for. Emailed the company and they agreed I'd get the double minutes that came with the original phone. When I called to set up the phone they refused to give me the double minutes.. Talked to 3 or 4 people who barely spoke English, they refused to stand by their word, and then I had to pay to send back the 2nd phone that phone call took 1.5 hours – and then call back the company with my shipping verfication # and wait 30 days for a refund. A horrible hassle. I was very dissapointed.

HP

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 23, 2011

i had just purchased the nokia e5 i had the e71 before that i had a problom with my internet service and had called straight talk about the matter they had told me my internet was shut off bc i used tomuch data and my internet was suspended bc i was using my phone as a modem for my laptop now people why would straight talk get phones that have that option on the phone if they dont allow us to use plus we are paying for unlimited data so why should we not be able to use it as a modem if we have the option on the phones that straight talk sells and like i said when we are paying for the unlimited data i think they are miss leading us and we need to take a stand we pay well over 200.00 for a phone that we cant even use for what we want it for and paying 45.00 a month for unlimited data when we are indeed limited with the unlimited data plan

carmine

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
July 22, 2011

great coverage and inexpensive to people who don't talk much.phones have limited features and VERY poor internet

thoward

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 17, 2011

I've had Tracfone service for 7 or 8 years. I like it because it is by far the lowest price service that works anywhere in the country I've gone, which includes the East, Midwest, South, West and Hawaii. I've upgraded phones 4 or 5 times and recommend that you purchase a new phone, not a refurbished phone. The customer service can be quite challenging, but now that I'm very familiar with the company, I can do most things online and do not have a problem. It's really important that you check that the phone you are going to get works in the zip code where you will be using the phone the majority of the time. I would also recommend that after you initially determine that the phone works well for you that you buy a one year plan in order to keep costs low and also so that you don't have to deal with customer service as often.

Sue

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 17, 2011

I have had this phone for 4 months now and 99% of the time is ‘no service'My pharmacy called on Wednesday and I did not get the message till Saturday. Still waiting to get the mesg from my doctor who also called on Wed.Called c/s off and on for over 4 hours and never got anyone. The message stated you may also contact us on the internet. Did just that got an auto reply…will get back to you in 24 to 48 hours. In 47 hours got a message..you need to call us. I am not sure what part of stupid that cannot read….I can never to to anyone. I live in the county with a lot of medical problems and need a phone to work, Tracphone does not care!

Barbara

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 15, 2011

This is the worse company I have ever seen!! They gave my number to someone else and cut my service off when I had minutes left for a year.I spent 2 days and a total of maybe 4 hours on the phone with them telling me one lie after another.I told them my daughterhas cancer and I need my phone when I take her to her for chemo 75 miles from home.They finally told me they would over night me a new sim card and a new number.I have yet to recieve either.I will be looking for another company and also will be telling anyone that will listen do NOT buy tracfone.They don't care about anyone.If anyone knows who to report these people to please let me know.

Lois

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
July 13, 2011

I LOVE TRACKPHONE it is by far the best plan i have ever had it dont work some places but mostly you allwes have 5 bars the bigest problem is that thay dont have phones with kye bords other then that my fave

kyle

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 11, 2011

My Verizon phone died while on vacation–wire contacts no longer allowed battery charge. I decided to try prepaid, because I was only using 50mins month max and no texting, etc. Chose Tracfone w/lifetime double minutes. Major hassle when tried to port old number over to new phone: According to emails from Tracfone, first attempt was successful. Then when I accessed my Tracfone account summary to buy more minutes, my ported phone number/serial number were not in system. After waiting 35mins to get service rep, was informed first port was not successful! Had to get new temp number and wait for another SIM card; then I will have to go thru another activation process. Would not have know this if I hadn't tried to access my account…

GLORIA Abernathy-Lear

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
July 10, 2011

I really liked my tracfone until it was deactivated because I forgot to add minutes. I agree that the service is rotten. I am still trying to get it reactivated and may decide to change phones.

jeanne

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 8, 2011

I've been with TracFone for some 10 years now, only because they are extremely cheap, for my limited use. However, theirs is the worst service ever! Their worthless network always encounters problems (like when it clouds over, not getting a signal inside of buildings, etc) and their Customer Service is beyond horrendous! The people they are using barely speak English and, no matter what they tell you, they never really resolve your problem. Worst yet, and the reason I'm writing this, is that they'll occasionally screw up all on their own. Yesyerday I found that they had ‘deactivated' my phone, for no reason whatsoever (had over 300 minutes left–not the first time they've done this). I spent an hour talking to them (calling through my computer) and, as I found out today, in reactivating my phone, they wiped out my voicemail! After an hour and a half talking to them today, they seemed to get my VM working, but had ‘reset' my phone, wiping out all of my contacts! I just got all (66) of my contacts re-entered only to find out that once again, I have no voicemail! Next Friday when I get paid, I'm going with a different carrier!

Rob

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 7, 2011

I'm on a plan where I keep my minutes and it costs me $6.39 per month. They are supposed to automatically change the date on the phone so I can use it but they never have. Each month I have the hassle of calling, waiting on the line forever and then not being able to understand the customer service person's attempt at English. I ask they to simply email me my code when they charge my card each month. They sure know how to charge the card each month on time though. I only use the phone in case of an emergency and I'm about to throw it out the window.

irish

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 6, 2011

Is there such a raring as zero? I returned a phone to these people in April 2011, and have yet to receive my refund. They are foreign based with their Customer Service and couldn't care less about your money as long as you are sending it to them. They do not know how to handle a refund, and this is going to a lawsuit. This has been way too long, and I have reached the end of my patience

R S Walker

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 5, 2011

I have both a tracFone and a net ten phone and the service on both of them is terrible. They are not dependable at all. You go to make a call even with a full signal and 50% of the time you will not be able to make a call because it will say ‘no network or emergency calls only or you have zero minutes' and need to refill when I have 170 minutes showing on my phone. I call a friend in oklahoma on my tracfone and it goes directly to his voice mail 100% of the time so I call on my net ten phone and get him and ask him why he did not answer and he says his phone never rang and there are no messages. I have the same problem with my net ten phone calling friends in arizona but can call them sometimes on my tracfone. I would not have either of these phones again if they gave them to me free and free service. The aggrivation is just not worth it. Heaven forbid if I have an emergency and not able to call. Avoid these phones at all costs. As soon as I am ever able to use up the minutes on both of these phones they are going into the trash in a hundred pieces. I am also filing a complaint with the FCC. As far as I am concerned they sell you a phone service and then make it unavailable is out right stealing!

larry

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 4, 2011

If I could give this company zero stars, I would. The phone itself is okay for what it is– a prepaid phone. The price is okay for the amount of minutes and the coverage is not bad either. However, I just got rid of my Tracfone and will not be getting another one due to their atrocious customer service. I recently tried to reactivate my phone, and was unable to do so online, so I called customer service. They told me that if I purchased additional minutes over the phone, it would be working within one hour. A full day later, I was still unable to make or recieve calls, so I called customer service again. To summarize the next 4 days (and 6 phone calls): I was lied to, hung up on, told that that problem would be fixed in 1, 24, and then 48 hours, told that my service ticket had been lost, told that a representative would return my call (still waiting on that) told that no numbers were available, told that a number was available but a system error was preventing my phone from working, and lastly told that they could not in fact reactivate my phone. When I asked for a refund for the minutes I was told I had to purchase, they refused, stating that it is not company policy to give refunds. I finally reached a senior manager who at least agreed to put in a request for a refund, but told me it will be 24-48 hours before it goes through. I am not holding my breath for that, and am disputing the charges with my credit card company.

Kate

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
July 3, 2011

It's cheap, but they sell your number to telemarketers.

Sharon

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 3, 2011

RATING-0 stars!! I have been a tracfone customer for many years, but this past month has made me decide to switch! I signed up for the online $9.99 50 minute value plan, the minutes are supposed to automatically show up on your phone on the day you are charged for the service. Not one time has this ever worked!! I have to call customer service every single month and try to get my minutes. Well, this month they placed the charge on my card and for 5 days I was calling customer service only to have a pre-recorded message tell me their call volume was too high and be cut off. It finally took me being aggressive and threatening to turn them into my bank to get a call from a manager(while i was at work) I finally managed to call back the number she gave me, and she tried to tell me I had already received my minutes…..I had not!!! The customer service is HORRIBLE!!! The minutes are kind of expensive compared to some and their online services are no good at all….Avoid if possible, After all these years, I will be switching to some other company, I just don't know which one yet.

Jennifer

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
July 1, 2011

I love the phone but when do i get the minutes put back on

Edward Doyle

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 29, 2011

I am so mad. Just purchased a new tracfone and found out I can no longer send international texts as I was doing on my old tracfone. This is a service I really need as my daughter flies in from overseas and it's the only way we can hear if her flight is on time, etc. I think I'll be getting rid of tracfone…

Mary

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 28, 2011

Ive had 4 tracfones over 2 years, I wish they offered better quality phones. LOVE only the price per minute and no contract. HATE what they call customer service and their operators will leave you wondering if 10cents a minute is worth it!

karmen

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 27, 2011

the phone and the service sucks! been on the phone with tac phone for over an hr waiting too speak to a manager! i bought air time for my son for his birthday and called too add it and they added it to another number so i was ripped off and will never giv my bussiness to tracphone again!!

jennifer benware

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
June 27, 2011

Just a word for seniors who are looking at getting themselves the Samsung SVC phone: It's a really good mobile for any seniors. It has all the hearing aid, big buttons, large font stuff that makes it easier to use, but it needs mentioning that it's specifically a GSM model phone. Meaning that it needs a semi decent AT&T presence wherever you're located. If you're not in such an area, you need to look at getting one of tracfone's other CDMA model phones. They're all pretty basic, and senior friendly – just make sure to get it with double minutes for life included.

Julie Esposito

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2011

I am so pleased with my new Tracphone! Its super easy to use. I got the SamsungT model and coundnt be happier with it. Would highly recommend it to those who want an inexpensive phone.

Barbara

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 25, 2011

zeromus: I had the same problem of calls from from bill collectors and such on a phone Tracfone I got for my wife. 10 to 15 calls a day, sometimes more. Tracfone wouldn't change the number so the phone went in the landfill and I just bought another phone for twenty dollars and no more problems with unsolicited calls and I now have a spare battery! I figured $20.00 was a good price to pay to keep my blood pressure down.Just an idea to help keep the stress away.Burt

Burt

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 23, 2011

A decent phone for what it is. I honestly havent had any real problems with it– the only issue Ive had is that I seem to get a LOT of BS calls from area codes Ive never heard of. Ive checked the codes online and found that they come from all over the US. I never answer these calls, as they eat your minutes up and I know exactly who my friends/family's #s are…but I have to wonder if Tracphone releases your number to any company out there in the hopes youll pick up the call and blow more of your minutes.There is a ‘reject list' feature, which I use, but for whatever reason, blocked numbers can still get through to harass you. I know theyre the same numbers Ive blocked before, because when I go to block them I get the message, ‘Number already on reject list!!'Still, if youre the kind that only uses a cell every so often and dont care about crap like texting, internet surfing, music downloads ETC (you CAN do this with the phone but it eats your minutes FAST), I think its a good bargain for the money.

Zeromus

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 20, 2011

This phone is the biggests piece of crap i ever seen. been on hold 4 over 2 hours. no one will ever take care of this.no wounder were all going down the drain . what a rip off.

Tom

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 20, 2011

Agree with a previous poster — if 0 stars were an option, then I'd award it.I used Tracfone for several years, but when I upgraded to a different phone device and transferred my number Tracfone removed international texting capability from my phone (I had used and paid for this service through Tracfone for several years).Service staff was sometimes polite, sometimes rude, but always rather clueless. I was told at one point that I couldn't possibly have been using international texting through Tracfone (though I had been and they had been perfectly happy to deduct units from me for this up until the upgrade). At another point I was told that if I attempted to send international texts in the future, then my account would be closed.

Jason

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 18, 2011

Just bought two phones through HSN. Tracfone computer glitch will let me add minutes only to one phone. They tell me the second phone is not activated, although it has a number, and I tried it out to see if it works. Two days of numerous phone calls to get the minutes I paid for, and still no minutes. I even had a HSN supervisor call Tracfone for me, and still no luck.

Margaret

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2011

So far So good. Got an LG 800 G phone W/ 1200 min, triple for life- $99.00 from HSN.decent coverage. Activated w/minutes in 30 minutes. Phone is cool. Leaving Verizon prepaid because of cost.

dedbir

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 17, 2011

I use my Tracfone as a backup. Often I am in places where my AT&T Wireless or Verizon don't work and the Tracfone does. So, its a great backup, simple to use and I would recommend one to someone that isn't a ‘Cellphone junkie'.

TruckerMatt

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 14, 2011

Ho hum. I decided we could save money by going ‘prepaid'. Did some research and went with Tracfone. Not unhappy, not excited. The phones are OK, some good features, some poor ones. We are simple, occasional, short-conversation cell phone users, and I will text VERY rarely. Coverage is adequate. Cost is MUCH less than our old Verizon Family Plan ($100+/month for a jillion minutes we never used). MY RECOMMENDATIONS: Get one of the flip phone models or better, stay away from the ‘slide' or lesser models. Get a phone with double minutes or a double-minites-for-life card. Buy airtime cards of at least 120 minutes or larger.Also: Their customer service lacks A LOT. It took me 4 calls to their service center to get my second phone working. (Same model as the first phone, and I did my part exactly the same). It was not the phone it was the system software that FINALLY got set-up correctly after 3 promises that were failures. Since then we have had no problems. If you are easily intimidated when requesting service or are ‘technologically challenged', find a different Company. But if you are a somewhat tech-savvy cheapskate like me, consider Tracfone.

Steve

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 13, 2011

If zero stars were an option I would leave that instead. We have a phone that does not work due to a SIM card error. We called on June 3 and the man on the phone said he fixed it over the phone but to wait four hours. We waited and it still did not work. We called back. After another 30+ minutes of wait time we were told we would be sent a SIM card but it could take up to 7 days. 10 days later we called back and they said it had been delivered but we did not get it. We asked them what address they sent it to and they refused to tell me. Guess what – another 3-7 days of wait time. We only needed the phone for the month of June while my son is visiting and now he will only have it for a few days before he leaves. We got him the phone for safety and now we can't even provide that. The Customer Service was HORRIBLE and they were not willing to help us at all. They even argued when we asked to speak to a manager and tried to talk me out of it. I just wanted the 2nd SIM card sent overnight but they refused until we spoke to 2 different managers before finally getting a kind one who was actually willing to help.

Dave

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2011

I've had a Tracfone for about 6 years and so far like everything about it. Easy to activate and add minutes either online or on the phone. Needed support to switch my phone number to a new Tracfone and they were very knowledgeable. A friend is still using my old Tracfone. My current Tracfone came with double minutes witch I like even more. Coverage is complete and in all this time never had a dropped call or a location that I couldn't make a call.

Kandy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 12, 2011

This has been to worst experience I have ever had with customer service. Speaking with people who do not speak English very well. I have tried to remedy a problem since February and wasted $4o. on no service. They will not refund my money. I've had to go and get a new phone and carrier and at least verizon has been a joy. Two people in my family have switched because Tracphone is a waste of time and money.

Dottie

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
June 10, 2011

Customer service is a joke! The caller ID shown from my phoneto callers is not my name . No one is going to answer if they do not recognize the caller's name. I was told to contact my home phone service company…Really?? Won't be using this phone very much until this matter is settled.

Jackie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 8, 2011

My wife purchased a Tracfone for $4 at Fred Meyers. It came in nice packaging with an easy to understand pictorial ‘get started' card. The ‘Spanish only' instructions should have been a clue.I tried for four days to sign-up on-line for a pre-paid contract. Multiple ‘internal server error' crashes, hung pages, bad javascript errors etc.But their telephone support was even worse. The usual multiple button pushing to get a carbon based life form only to discover no-one there speaks English. Support is in some Central American republic and they only speak Spanish, even the ‘managers'. Several days of racking up hours and hours on their 888 number and I managed to get a 30day trial offer set up.When that expired, the web site was no better; many hours on the 888 number again until I found an agent who spoke some English. He then tried to overcharge me by $16 for the yearly service as ‘tax' (even though there is no tax in my state). Ask to speak to a supervisor – call dropped.Eventually, I found that by using the web site in the early hours, I could recharge the ‘phone using the on-line system.O'h the $16 ‘tax' was in fact $1 60cents federal line charges. Makes you wonder where they get their people.

Paulus

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
June 7, 2011

So far texting works ok, but i was given an Nebraska area code and I dont live anywhere near nebraska. Called customer service was told I would get the phone number change, still waiting.

angle

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 7, 2011

I've never been able to activate a Tracfone online. I always have to call their toll free number. I don't know why they have online activation on their website. Their service is horrible!

Marley

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
June 6, 2011

I dislike my Trac Phone for the most part. But the thing i really hate about it, is that I lose the signal about 50 % of the time. I'll be talking to someone whether it's long distance or just up the street and my signal goes dead. It's a royal pain in the ass for that. I don't know what the problem is other than it loses it's signal.

Becky

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
June 5, 2011

I have the new 500lg phone.SO far the service is good.

Preston

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 4, 2011

The tracfone is a terrible phone. Poor customer service and there are much better plans/providers out there.

Iowa

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 3, 2011

Tracfone has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I spent over an hour on the phone trying to have a charged removed because they billed my Visa twice in the same day. They finally admitted they had a computer error, but claimed they only received one payment from visa instead of two. They scolded me and refused to credit my account or give me the extra minutes. I have never experienced anything like this. I paid $80 for $200 minutes. Ridiculous. Do not do business with this company.

David

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 1, 2011

Tracfone has the worst costumer service I have ever seen. They absolutely suck

John

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
June 1, 2011

My first basic Tracfone hardly ever worked. When they finally got better ones in this area, I was about to get one, when TracFone called and said my original one was obsolete, and they would replace it for free. The ‘new' one was another basic, refurbished one.It worked great! Doesn't work in my own house, but it sure does everywhere else, even better than some of the fancy ones. It has been kind of a problem ‘feeding' it time, however. It will not automatically update like it's supposed to and I always have to call. Today, it is charged up, has time on it, would work fine…but they said I couldn't reactivate it and would have to buy a new phone. Definitely bummed about that, and now doing research to see if I want another TracFone or something else. Looks like the reviews are pretty divided. I am not crazy about having to call India so often either….but if the phone works as well as this one, guess it's worth it.

Mary S.

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 31, 2011

I have had TracFone for two years and, althoughI use it rarely , I am satisfied with the phone itself, but I feel that your lack of directions and instructions is unbelievable. I am asenior citizen and all these new gadgets are very difficult even with best if instructions. PLEASE add instructions or make them available somehow so I can use my Tracfone more often

C.M.R.

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 27, 2011

I've had Tracfone for me & my two daughters for at least 6 years & I can honestly say that I've had very few problems. When I first had them though, it took a great deal of time & energy to resolve an issue of getting the phones to work. I'm glad I stuck it out though…it was worth it. Yes, we do notice that customer service is foreign, but they've always been polite & informative. Great deal & value.

darlu14

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 26, 2011

my tracfone fully discharged, and though it says it's now fully charged, it's not working. i tried to access the tracfone/samsung forum but can't seem to do so.

lee de cola

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 25, 2011

I spent 4 hours over 3 days after buying this phone trying to get it to work. Despite spending this time with technical support and assurances that ‘it will work' it never did. I returned it to the retailer for a refund. I will never buy another Tracfone nor would I recommend it.

Don

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 24, 2011

Beware of tracfone, first time I had an issue and had to deal with customer service and it doesn't work. They sent me a broken phone but I can't get them to tell me how to return it to get a refund. They keep putting me on hold, sending me new sim cards (How many can they send me before they realize it's the phone) and not accepting the return. Was so excited about the new LG800g, but beware!

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 24, 2011

Just as an update to this website Tracfone has now introduced 2 qwerty keyboard phones the LG500G & LG800G (which is a touch screen phone with a larger screen).The LG500G costs $29.99 with DMFL has mobile web, bluetooth, APPS, MMS & 1.3MP camera, etc. The LG800G costs $49.99 with DMFL, mobile web, bluetooth, 2mp camcorder, mp3 player, APP capable, MMS, etc.I don't know how fast the web browsing is on these phones but I really feel that everyone should have this feature on their phone for emergencies.I think these phones are super cheap and I can see the kids not wanting a phone that doesn't have web browsing on from now on.

kirsty

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 20, 2011

I've never had to deal with their customer service, so I can neither agree or disagree with the posts about that, but I will say that I've had tracfone for a few months and haven't ever dropped a call that I can remember. I like not having a contract because it works best with my lifestyle, but because of reviews here I'll try to avoid their customer service?

Layla

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 16, 2011

don't be fooled.The worst customer service runaround you can possibly get.You will spend hours on the phone,trying to understand them. They disconnected my phone with 680 minutes and 6 months left on phone,they still can't figure out the problem.I have three of them on my counter and can't get one to work. I going with Virgin mobil tomorrow.Please heed this warning

ron mc

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 15, 2011

OK, I have the lg 420 g just wish u could delete all texts instead of doing it manually! i am trying to find another track phone that has that capability and querty key board …all in all it's a great deal ..

jim

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 14, 2011

STRAIGHT TALK, TRAC FONE AND NET 10 ARE ALL THE SAME PEOPLE WHO WILL GIVE YOU THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ON THE PLANET!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WILL NEVER SIGN UP WITH ANY OF THEM, MY STORY IS HORRIBLE.!!

msmaryntn

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 12, 2011

i had tracfone for 3 day serivce good

char

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 12, 2011

Tracfone is the best! I just made a trip from the Dencver area to Payson UT just south of Provo and tracfone worked just as advertised. I had reception and clear calls all across Wyoming on Interstate 80 a couple of spots where no phone has had reception. This is using an LG 420g phone. Great service, great phone!!

Burt

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 11, 2011

I purchased 2 phones in January 2011 for me and my 20+ yr. old daughter who likes to text. The phones cost me #20 each and came with auto-double mins. for life, so any minutes would double, even the family-plan minutes.I have changed my mind several times on the Family Plan, getting it then cancelling it. Most of the trouble I had was my own fault. I called them yesterday to be put back on the Family Plan and to add my daughter's phone (which I had previously removed from my account). It did take a while but it was a toll-free number and I called them from my landline phone. The person I talked to was a foreigner but was very kind and did help me get my screwed up account straightened out. I love my phone, my daughter doesn't like anything so she doesn't count. She's using it and texts all the time. It hasn't slowed her down much.My minutes last me a long time and my time is good clear up to next year so my unused minutes will roll over whenever new minutes are added each month. Besides I can add additional minutes on my own anytime by buying a card at any store, they are everywhere.The reception is fantastic, never a cut off or cut out. The sound is just like a landline phone or a verizon which I used to have.

Rose

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 10, 2011

Spent many hours on the phone with Tracfone trying to get my phones updated correctly. They have the worst custemer service. Today I spent 5 hours trying to get a phone updated/cancel service. And still it is not done and they want me to call them back in 24hrs to complete. I do not recomend.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 8, 2011

I would give zero stars if I could. Worse company ever. I spent 1 hour on the phone having to educate their customer service reps. None of them were helpful and they offered the worst customer service I have every seen. Don't buy a tracfone. You do not want to deal with them, EVER! Buy another company's phone!

LG

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 6, 2011

I've had Tracfone for a few years, and overall it is OK. I have a plan with them where I am supposed to get 100 minutes a month for $10, and I can buy additional minutes if I want to. What annoys me is that several times I have not gotten my monthly 100 minutes but have been charged for them. Tracfone denies that the minutes were not provided to me. Their customer service center is somewhere in Central America, and while the customer service reps all speak moderate English, their accents are so heavy they are all but impossible to understand. When I can find a plan I prefer at a decent price, I'm bailing on Tracfone.

Carson

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 6, 2011

I just made a trip from the Denver area to Salt Lake City. On previous trips I had a prepaid I-wireless phone from Kroger (Kingsoopers) and found that I had no reception or ability to make calls at all because I-wireless uses the Sprint network and Sprint has NO towers in Wyoming. This trip I had an LG420g from Tracfone. The reception was great and the calls were clear almost everywhere on Interstate 80. So all you people who want to bad mouth Tracfone go ahead. I'll just keep on enjoying great reception and being able to make calls when I want or need to!

Burt

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 30, 2011

like reading those svc reviews. Frankly these phones are really great. IM glad people are writing about it. Perfect for my grandmother who has hearing aids. They really are the best phones and I find that their service is great and my grandmother isnt screaming into the phone that she cant hear me. hahaha thats always a plus!

annabelle

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 30, 2011

how great is that that despite all the changes that are going on with other companies, that tracfone has only gotten better and they’ve managed to keep costs the same. They’ve added some good new phones to take advantage of the data plan too. There’s not a complaint coming from me. It’s good to see that good things can last.

Jeffrey

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 29, 2011

It was very easy to order the two phones from the website. However, 5 days later still no phones even though they promised to have them to me overnight. Called customer service on the 5th day and then did not even know where the phones I ordered were at and wanted me to wait a few more days. They had the audacity to blame FEDEX for not delivering them but they had no tracking number for the ‘package'. I will not even consider using them again.

Marc Lichtenberger

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 29, 2011

I HAVE BEEN FOR OVER 5 HOURS ON THE PHONE TRYING TO TRANFERRING MY OLD TACFONE NUMBER TO A NEW ONE THERE CUSTOMER SERVICE STINKS LOUSY. THEY NEED TO UPDATE THERE EQUIPMENT. I HAVE TO WAIT SEVERAL MORE DAYS TO RESOLVE PROBLEM.THEY WON'T ANSWER THERE PHONE IN MIAMI EITHER!

CHRIS

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 29, 2011

I don't use a cell phone much and don't us texting or the camera at all. Couldn't figure out how to make the speakerphone work and figured it out by trial and error. Porting my number was a nightmare but they finally got it right. I miss my verizon phone and the great customer service but I don't miss the bill. I paid about $120 for phone and over a thousand minutes(bonus=double minutes). This is less than I paid for 2 months of ordinary verizon service.

OKAY PHONE

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 29, 2011

I ordered online from Tracfone. It came and never did work. The minutes and plan time registered fine but it went to ‘No Service' and stayed that way. I spent too much time with 4 calls to them. Nothing they did would make the phone work. I called the next day for the return info. After another 17 minutes with them, I hung up. At this point, it is easier to throw it away than pay shipping and probably not get a refund anyway. Poor customer service to say the least! I couldn't understand the people on the phones. Cheap phone, cheaper service. I won't make this mistake again.

IndianaNana

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 28, 2011

The phones are average. Very good starter phones or emergency phones. Specially with the double minutes,you do get very good use out of them.I would have to agree,minutes a bit pricy,but that's why you need to use your double minutes card which never expires.And the balance display screen helps to keep track of you minutes. Overall,good service.

kate

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 27, 2011

ALVIN BROOKS: Don't bother calling their customer service, rather contact them via their Facebook page (at the bottom of tracfone.com) or contact their corporate office in Miami: CorporateOffice@tracfone.comOr call us at: 1-800-876-5753

Cindy

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 27, 2011

Low price but calls often will not go thru unless I make four or five tries. Never never have that problem on our Verizon phone. Complaints to tracfone useless.

Al N.

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 27, 2011

We bought this from HSN off tv.with double minutes and we cant renew our contract for double minutes . We cant get in contact with a person to discuss the problem this is the problem. Phone and service is good but cant renew with double minutes already paid formy ph 336-434-4135 alvin brooks

alvin brooks

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 22, 2011

I decided to upgrade my Tracfone after 4 years. What a mistake. I spent $50 for a phone that doesn't work. Spent 5 hours with customer service. Was sent a new phone which also doesn't work. Can't receive any calls. Now I'm without my emergency phone and out $50. Don't trust them.

Jan

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 19, 2011

My tracFone is great!the service is cheap and i have pretty good coverage way better than AT&T. I really like how they give you 3 months of survice… But one BIG problem they dont have any good texting phones!!!

Joe

Leave a Review