View All TracFone Reviews

Read our full TracFone review

2.5
Rated 2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5 stars (based on 1661 reviews)
5 star18%
4 star13%
3 star14%
2 star7%
1 star48%

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 18, 2011

I have had real good luck with this service. It's not the best phone service out there, but it is a good bang for the buck. I don't talk on the phone a great deal but I have used it all over the U.S. with no problem. The customer support does leave something to be desired but if you are forceful and persistent with the techs they will come through every time. Over the years I have encountered most of the problems I've read about in these reviews but, when threatened with leaving their service, they have done whatever I want (usually takes about an hour over a hardline thought).

Brent

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 16, 2011

Good phone service, WHEN & IF you get it up and running. Have been using Tracfone for approx 10 years–Pros–Once in operation service is good, to excellent price per minute is good, especially when you hit the promos, NO contract is a plus! As I still only use the phone for basic service and emergencies, this works for me. Cons–Really Really lousy Tech Support!With extended wait times when they are contacted, You'll be lucky if you don't get disconnected a couple times. DON'T USE YOUR TRACFONE TO CALL TECH SUPPORT Providing it's working of course. If anyone could mess up technical support Tracfone takes the number 1 slot.After 10 years I'VE HAD ENOUGH! moving on to someone different. Tracfone has my phone soo messed I believe the RAPTURE will take place before they get itresolved!!!!!!!!Scott's right we do get what we pay for.Maranatha ya all!

Peonlittleguy

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 16, 2011

After being VERY unhappy with several other companies, I switched to Tracfone and have been very happy with my service. I text a lot but don't talk on the phone much, and it's so much cheaper than if I went with a traditional plan. I get better service where I live out of town than my friends do, and I have had ZERO problems with their customer service and adding minutes and such. I get double minutes for life and it's a great deal. My only complaint is that they don't have a single phone that doesn't look like it's from 1999. I'd REALLY like a phone with a keyboard.

Jamie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 14, 2011

After a year, my phone wouldn't work and they said it was de-activated. They said my number had been transferred to another company. They didn't know who to or why. There customer service is totally unresponsive. Avoid Tracphone at all cost.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 14, 2011

You get what you pay for with tracfone. The service is cheap…but it is made up for in the lack of customer service. It is all golden as long as nothing goes wrong and you need to speak to a person. The people in India (their customer service) try very hard, but they just can't meet my needs and my problems were not resolved.

minerva

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 14, 2011

Am I missing something? Why on earth would anyone choose this service? It appears to have about the most expensive rates out there!120 minutes for $29.99 = 25c/ minute!Meanwhile, Virgin Mobile offers 300 minutes for $25 a month, which includes free text and email.

KC

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 13, 2011

If I could give a zero rating, I would. One star is too kind with all the lies, rudeness and hours on the phone — no joke. These people are on power trips. My new phone worked exactly one week. Two months later, we finally resolved the problem. They were not going to refund us for the lost days at all, but I asked them what they were willing to do. They said they would give me a week???!!!!! I was missing two months. I kept at them; they transferred to yet another ‘supervisor'. (ask for the floor supervisor – or they'll hand you to one of their cronies.) I had to tell them to keep looking back further in their records since they were only looking at latest phone call with the latest agent and ignoring all of the other times that I called in the space of two months. One representative said, ‘We really did mail it to you this time.' Meaning we were lying all the other times. I caught several other reps in outright lies. Oh, and get this…when they finally mailed me what I needed to make my phone work and I called in to activate it, they tried to tell me that my old hours wouldn't transfer. They said I needed to purchase more hours. I laughed and said that I hadn't had service in over two months. I wasn't going to spend another red cent! If I would have done what that person suggested, I would have stolen my previous minutes. I called the next day, talked to a different person and that person didn't have a bit of problem transfering my old minutes onto the new system. These people are crooks. If you have trouble with your tracfone, be prepared.

Rene

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 12, 2011

Used them a few years ago before I moved on to Boost Mobile. I don't miss their jankey phones or poor service.

Thomas

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 12, 2011

I really like the fact that I can cut my monthly phone plan from $80/month being on a contract to a $19.99 plan/90 days/120 minutes (if bought with the double minutes for the life of the phone plan) using Tracfone's cheapest plan. I haven't found a cheaper plan anywhere else on the market for someone like me who doesn't use the phone allot.

Marcia

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 9, 2011

phone's are sub-standard quality and the web site can be iffy when you try to load more minutes.if you need a low cost phone to get by on,it does do the job till you can find a better deal.

Dave

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 9, 2011

I have been trying to get my 60mins. added for the last 6 days and went through 9 phone calls with 4 transfer for each call if they do not hang up.No one seems to know what to do. this is crap. just give me my 60 mins that I paid for. If they continue this phone chase I'm going on facebook to make sure other people will not purchase their phones or cards because it is a scam.

Jim

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 5, 2011

after reading some other reviews i consider my self lucky to have had pretty good service for years; however, i'm disappointed to find now that the 200 bonus minute option for 365 day 400 minute (doubled in my case) extension is no longer available, so that the price per minute has suddenly increased by 25% from 10cents to 12.5 cents. not the end of the world, but a large increase. might try t-mobile.

graham

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
April 5, 2011

The service is ok. I will probably move over to another pre-paid service when my minutes are up. I'd like a phone with a keyboard and tracfone won't provide that for my area. You need a translator for customer service too.

Maureen

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
April 5, 2011

I like my tracfone!!!!just to stay in touch.and to be able but reached with out paying $$$ monthly is great.load the phone and don't worry about it for several months.I had a problem turning on the phone so, removed the battery and Sim then put it back in .no problem min and time remaining was still there.my friend bought a new phone and to get the min to come through from cs he had to remove the Sim and then put it back in .I think that would be the first thing I would do if min don't come through before I call cs. to Text my daughter and tell her to have a great day or to to say I love u is meaningful using the lg420g

don

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 3, 2011

If you are traveling along the coast of washington or oregon forget about service. sea level reception is almost non existent

George Sego

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
April 3, 2011

I think this is the greatest phone service ever. Have never had to call cs. My contact with them has been online with positive results. A few minutes ago I added a 60 min. card and a promo code number. With dmfl got a total of 150 min. Added these min. on line and they were added almost before I stopped typing. Not bad, I'll stick with Tracfone.Burt

Burt

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 3, 2011

The actual phone service is good. Customer Service is not. My daughter lost her phone which had 1250+ units on it and at least 10 months of service time. Bought a new phone and went to transfer her units and service time. They tried only giving us 4 months of service time and I fought to get the actual. Even if someone was using the lost phone, they couldn't use up the service time. Customer Service only would transfer 280 units and I thought someone had found the phone and used them all. Nope! Found the phone 2 months later when my daughter cleaned her room. Almost 900 units stolen from me by their customer service!!!

Carol

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 1, 2011

Tracfone has been a great backup phone and travel phone as well. I love the fact that I pay domestic rates when calling a certain list of countries, huge money saver. Also love that the signal strength is really clear.

c47charlie

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 1, 2011

Love the Tracfone service! I used to use a metro pcs but i couldnt stand that my phone just kept on losing signal everywhere i went. this phone rocks and I see no signs of switching services!

garry

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 31, 2011

Best phone that I have ever used!What i love most about it is that there are no contracts and no monthly bills! Couldnt deal with the monthly hidden fees that are tackled every month by contract phone companies. Tracfone has me only paying like 30 bucks a month!

Teddy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 31, 2011

Eight year + tracfone customer with the same original phone. Just bought a new one this year and ported my land line. The old phone had 1500+ minutes and I was assured I could transfer then to the new one. They never transferred the minutes, no big deal I figured I would just use them. Today they just shut down the old phone and the minutes are gone too? Never got a response to any e-mails about this issue and customer service will keep you on the phone for an hour and only jerk your chain. They lie!

Sad

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
March 31, 2011

Really good phone with really good service and reliability at a cheap price. What more can you ask?

NN

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
March 30, 2011

Personally I'm a big fan of Tracfone. It makes my life a lot easier considering I have plenty of bills to worry about. Im never worried about getting an outrageous cell phone bill in the mail. With my tracfone I know exactly what I'm paying and more importantly exactly what I'm getting. Great customer service and great reception as well.

Jeanette459

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 28, 2011

I recently bought a 1 year 800 double minute card for my Tracfone but when I went to put the minutes on my phone it I couldn't so I called customer service gave the pin number the automated voice said that my phone already had double minutes so I could not add them on my phone! I called back customer service and talked to someone explained the problem, they said they would add the minutes but not double as my phone already had them which I was fine with.. as they tried to put them on they said they had encountered an error the minutes were on my account but not showing up on my phone yet and it could take up to 48 hours, the next afternoon I had a message on my ans machine stating that the problem had been corrected I could visit their web to complete the transaction when I did it said the card had been redeemed! That was 3/20/11 as of 3/28/11,I have spent 4 hours on the phone, had 3 automated calls from them saying that the problem has been resolved that I can get on the web site to finish my tranaction, I still don't have the minutes on my phone. Horrible customer service!!! I will use up the remaining minutes and go to Virgin Mobile or Net10 never ever would I recommend this company to anyone.

Donna

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 27, 2011

I have been with TracFone for over 6 years now. When their service works, it is great. However, when you have problems and you have to call customer service you are truly sucked into customer service hell. I have spent literally HOURS on the telephone with TracFone customer service without the problem ever being resolved. Their standard dodge when they can't resolve an issue immediately is to tell you to wait '24 to 48 hours' for them to resolve the issue(s). Of course, you never hear back from them nor is the problem resolved in '24 to 48 hours'. Yes, TracFone really does provide rock-bottom rates for prepaid cellular service. But you get what you pay for: when it comes time for customer service you will pull your hair, gnash your teeth and generally pound your head against the wall. All, unfortunately, with little or ne effect! Caveat Emptor truly applies here.

BillyZ

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 26, 2011

I would give Tracfone a zero if I could. Customer service means talking to someone in a foreign country who you cannot understand. It was a technological nightmare to get our new phones up and running that took hours & hours of time, and tried my patience to the limit. Did not know it at time of purchase, but the extra charges for data usage is very expensive.

MrsBuster

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 25, 2011

Horrible phone, horrible service. How about getting some service reps. who speak ENGLISH? The hold times are disgraceful. I can only get one bar in my home city. I got this phone for rare/emergency use, but it is worth nothing since it doesn't work. I have carried it for several years, but after trying several times to use it in the last few months I've realized I'm paying for ‘no service.' I can't afford to throw money away. I'm currently researching other pre-paid plans. Don't waste your money on Tracfone.

Genice

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2011

Best deal on a cell phone I've ever had.Bought a little cheapo for spare, had it for five years, it became my primary phone after the first year with never a problem.Lost it a few weeks ago and bought the LG420G online for just under 22.00 with free shipping, double minutes for life, and accessory kit including car charger.They transferred my leftover minutes and my old number with nary a problem…well, that's not entirely true, I could hardly hear the guy, and I had to wait maybe a whole whoppin' ten minutes to get through, but for the dough, who's complaining?Pretty nice little phone, the camera ain't too bad,I really like the digital recorder, it's Bluetooth enabled, and had no problem accessing my e-mail.Oh, and the battery life is great, I don't know yet if it gets the seven hours as advertised, but I did get almost six before I recharged, and it probably would have gone the next hour.In my area of Kentucky, it's the only phone service I've had, or even seen, that constantly gets at least bars almost all the time.The rest of them, AT&T, Cincinnati Bell, Sprint & Verizon,I never had anything but problems, from the connection, to customer service..they can all K.M.A., I'll stick with these guys, or at least till somebody throws a monkey wrench in the works and the party's over.

PatTheHat

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 24, 2011

I love Tracfone,so far I've gotten exactly what I've paid for, well really a little more with the promotional codes, I have talked to customer service and they were very nice and helpful, I can't see how anyone could complain about a company that is so good and very reasonable on there airtime cards, however if live on the phone as some folks do, then Tracfone would'nt be for you, you would need an unlimited monthly plan,but for me and many others that only use there phone when needed can certainly save a lot of money, I might add that I live in a dead spot, everyone that comes over here can't get a signal, well my Tracfone has a signal here and sounds good. I love it!

marvin

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 24, 2011

Terrible company. Went through 3 phones inone year. Each time online activationfailed and I was required to enter 50 digit numbers on the phone. When last phone died I had to kiss $75 balance good-bye.

Ron

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 24, 2011

Trac Phone sends Promo Codes to your cell phone , then they refuse to honor them stating they were last years code. I purchased a 450 minute card at there word to receive 50 bonus minutes then they refused to honor their word. False advertising to say the least. I'm checking with the F.C.C.

Ron Elliott

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
March 23, 2011

Been with Tracfone for 3 months now. So far, have had no problems initializing the phone thru their website. Voicemail was easy to setup as well, all I had to do was listen to the voice prompts, and make the right selection.Did not have any dropped calls yet. Am lucky to be living in an area where both ATT and Verizon cell sites are active. The one ‘humbug' pertains to receiving incoming calls. It seems like I have to wait 30 seconds before speaking, since there seems to be a delay, before the caller can hear me okay. Other than that, the phone works fine.My only bad experience with CS is when I emailed them thru their website, stating that my packaged bundle had a Nokia car adapter, instead of an LG. To date, have not received any kind of written response to my query. But then again… if I keep the phone charged, I shouldn't have any need for the car adapter. But then again, it's good to have it.To be honest, I was leery of going with Tracfone, because of the bad reviews I've read here and elsewhere. But I took the gamble, and so far, have no regrets. Like I said earlier… it may be too early yet to write a fair review, but for now, have no real complaints about the product or CS relations.

HawaiianDude

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 23, 2011

I am very dissatisfied with TracFone. Last summer, I signed up for the Family Value Plan. After 6 months, my phone no longer automatically received minutes, even though my credit card was charged. I called TracFone to receive the minutes I paid for and after alternately being transfered to customer assistance operators ( many with very thick foreign accents) and being placed on hold, I only received 1/2 the minutes that I was owed. I did this on three separate occasions. I was on the phone for about one hour each time. The operator continued to say please hold for three minutes while I talk to my manager. After the third month of not receiving my minutes, I made another call that lead to many transfers and wasted time. I finally was able to reach a manager where I requested mt family plan be cancelled and was told that my family plan was cancelled. This last phone call honestly lasted about three hours. Now one month has passed and yet again my credit card was charged. Now I'm on the phone again and on hold waiting yet again for my plan to be cancelled. The operator just told me that she will not remove the charges from my credit card. When I stated that this is their problem to fix not mine, she hung up on me. Do not use Trac phone!! The product and customer service is extremely poor. I now have a much cheaper prepaid phone service, a much nicer phone and contacted a very friendly customer service operator who helped me get set up in less than 2 minutes.

SE

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 22, 2011

there's got to be better providers out there. Signed on recently because it advertises no extra costs to Mexico or Canada, and even includes free numbers in those countries. A month later, those services have disappeared from my phone and now they're trying to sell me another plan. I'll just call this a $75 lesson and find something better

KJ

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 21, 2011

rainy go with pageplus.they use the verizon network and for $10.00 you get 100 minutes and refill every 120 days.for $25.00 you get 416 minutes and refil every 120 days.

raul

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 21, 2011

Carried a trac phone for years, for emergencies only. But when I tried to use the message usually was ‘the service you hjave called is not available from your area'. One day it would work, the next it wouldn't. Then one day I tried to call a land line from a nearby mall, had 5 bars, message said ‘the service you have called is not available from your area.' Contract was up in 30 days, I let it lapse, they keep emailing me with deals. Not Likely! Trying to find another phone for emergencies, cheap, where I can get longer then 30 days ahead. Any ideas?

Rainy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 21, 2011

Having been in customer service for 40+ years I rate TracFone as the WORST in customer service of any entity that I have dealt with! I have literally spent hours on the phone with them and have still not had resolution to numerous problems. I would strongly encourage anyone to pick another prepaid phone service.

William

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
March 21, 2011

I have had Tracfone for years with No problems. Do Not call Customer service.!! Activate & Buy minutes Online.. Also use the Bonus Minutes you can find Online..I have never had any problems..

Chaz

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 19, 2011

I've had a trac phone for years, but for the last year I've been unable to add minutes to my phone without the torture of a series of long calls to their customer service center! I've called again and again and they always say that they've fixed it, but they never do.As soon as these minutes are gone, so am I!

Gary

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 19, 2011

Same as ‘Gary' said! Have had for years, horrible experience getting minutes added, multiple phone calls even though I can supposedly do this on the Tracfone itself. Ugh

Kathy

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 17, 2011

Recently purchased a TracFone, LG220C and so far I am extremely pleased with the quality of the cell phone. Cannot get a good signal (1 bar) from AT&T, Verizon, etc. in my home. Researched the type of TracFone to purchase and now get 5 bars in my home, office and other areas cell phones with GSM system do not work well.I did the activation online which went very well and got the phone working without difficulty.

Mary L. Taylor

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 15, 2011

I have used Tracfone for over 5 years and been very pleased. When I lost my first phone and ordered a replacement, their staff was very helpful in activating the new phone and transferring the minutes over.I wish there was a more efficient way of utilizing phone minutes but that is not Tracfone's fault; it is part using a prepaid phone service

Dean

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 15, 2011

The worse company I have ever dealt with. Tried to buy minutes for my mother – phone did not work – Not able to get my money back. Cutomer service is the worse I have ever encountered – was hung up on TWICE. DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY – YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Dissatisfied Customer

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 15, 2011

I have the lg420g .no problem adding air time ,enjoy sending photos,texts,keeping in touch.when you reload all remaining min. and air time carry over another 90 days.helped my friend get his tracfone started .CS had trouble getting it going.it turned out that I had to remove the sim card then put it back in .CS figured that out .vary pleased.he got the lg420 with 1year pre loaded.then he added 1 year with min and promo code.his cost w/phone $120.00.for 1200 min and 2 years of service

don

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
March 14, 2011

Tracphone…..I have to say is okay, they are a bit pricey when it comes to minutes and the phonea are not very high quality.But it is good in some ways for those people who only need a cellphone for emergencies or as a back up phone. I wouldnt quite say the phones are functional either. But hey its a compromise. And Tracphone can be for those that have a taste for simple phone to just talk on and the minutes are okay. Soo i'd say their not bad at all but not perfect ;D

Joann

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 14, 2011

tracfone has by far the worst customer service i have ever seen after 3 calls they still cant fix my phone.hold time is about 45 minutes per call.also you cant get a English speaking person to talk to.i finally gave up and threw it in the trash.glad to be rid of it

dennis

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 13, 2011

I'm a recent customer of Tracfone and I've been quite impressed so far. I bought a couple of LG420G phones from them directly from their website, activated them online and added the Family Value Plan and Buy Now plan to buy addition airtime from the phone. They also came with double minutes and the accessory kit for about $20 for each phone. As the Family Value Plan renews automatically on a monthly basis they add the minutes and automatically double them for the life of the phone.I also ported over two phone numbers from a major carrier. I did this via the Tracfone website and it all went quite smoothly. Both numbers were ported and both my phones were active in about 24 hours.The only problem I've had is voice mail did not work. I created an online ticket via their website. They responded online and then called my landline to help set the phones up for voice mail. For some reason when the accounts were created/ported a voice mail account was not created.The person that called me today was very pleasant, easy to understand and very professional.I've been amazed. I've read some negative reviews about Tracfone various places, but I have been quite impressed.I do not use that many minutes a month anymore. My contract phone which worked very well was costing me about $90/month for two phones on the family plan and one phone with a built-in navigator. Now, I pay about $17/mo for two phones via Tracfone. I'll use a separate GPS unit for navigation.I also like the LG420G. I've had no problems with it to date. All I wanted was a cost effective phone carrier and a phone that worked well. I wasn't looking for a fancy phone, just something that worked well and did its job as a phone.In summary, I'm pleased and surprised, and I was also quite impressed with the service rep. that contacted me today to get my voice mail working. And I'm paying a fraction of the cost I used to for two phones.

BR

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 11, 2011

Customer service is very slow and very hard to get problems resolved. They cause the problem and you pay for it with cash and lots of your time waiting on customer serice

Ron

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
March 9, 2011

People expect way to much for what they pay for. For $6.66 a month a get a phone that allows me to make phone calls. I don't doubt that anytime you try to do something like change a phone number it becomes a problem.Tracphones are DISPOSABLE phones. Sorry If its a PTA to transfer your number. But as soon as you call customer service they are losing money.Get Google Voice as your main number and forward it to your tracphone (make sure your don't turn on tracphone voice mail). The only person who calls my tracphone directly is my son.

Scott

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 8, 2011

I've had tracfone for many years. Recently I purchased a replacement phone and that's when the nightmare began. I have been without a cell phone for a week and have spent hours on the phone with what they call customer service in Belize. If I finally get phone service, I will use up my minutes and go elsewhere.

Teri

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 7, 2011

Service would not work for the first ten days…then worked for a week, then no service for weeks. Customer service is terrible. Never use this company unless you want a useless paperweight, or you want to be stranded in an emergency

Kathy Barrows

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 7, 2011

Tracfone gets 1 star because there is no 0 star. They are a joke. I will do whatever I can to convince people to NOT use Tracfone. We bought 2 for our sons for Christmas. One was new and loaded minutes fine. The other was a replacement and the nightmare began….We tried transfering minutes from his current phone to the new one. Nope, it wouldn't do it. Support said it would take 3 days. For 7 days, he was without a phone. Finally, after 4 calls to customer service, we cancelled the new one, and had them put it back to the old phone. The next day, the new one worked. We tried to reload minutes. That took 3 phone calls. Finally we were transfered to a ‘Tier 2' rep who told us Tracfone no longer serviced our area. The retailers in our area were notified in October and were to pull the phones. We checked with them, they were not. I asked why we didn't receive this info since we were current customers. They assured me they called, but weren't leaving messages and chose not to email. I asked why no one else could tell me this. He actually told me it's because he's a Tier 2 support and has access to this info and the others did not.We were transfered to a department to get our $50.00 refund. Conviently, we were disconnected before the refund could be fully processed. We made several phone calls to Tracfone. Not one was less than 70 minutes. We spent more time on hold than speaking with someone. Their service was less than acceptable. However, I have no way to get ahold of an outside rep to tell my woes to. This company does not care about anything but selling their phones. Today, our local retailers still sell Tracfone and have never received anything from them saying our ares is not covered.Yesterday the phone we had no problems with ran out of minutes. There is no way I will attempt to reload. DO NOT USE TRACFONE……..

Tedi Gary

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 5, 2011

Used to think Tracfone was great, but I've noticed they continually swap around different phone manufacturers and it SHOWS. I got one of their LG phones, and it doesn't show me I have a text message until 4 days after it was sent! It even has the sent time and everything. Tried to call TS, but they could barely speak english and the quality of the phone communication was SO BAD I could barely hear her and had to keep asking her to speak up. You know that is completely symbolic of their service. The TS told me that having to wait over 4 hours is typical to receive a text message. I guess they outsourced all the engineers as well.I'll be trying a different prepaid phone service from now on.

Bill

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 5, 2011

TracFon will not turn-off text messaging. I get all these bogus text messages, and each one deducts 30 minutes from my phone. They call this inability to turn-off text a ‘feature'.

unarmmedpostman

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
March 5, 2011

I don't have too much trouble with the service; have used it for a number of years now. When you have no choice but to call the 800# for customer service, however, it can quite frequently become a nightmare. My automatically purchased minutes have not been being added to my phone, though my payments are coming out. I am CURRENTLY on the phone waiting for customer service, as directed by the website, and my timer on my phone reads ‘1:05:00', amount of time on HOLD. Yesterday I could not get through at all due to ‘high call volume'. Customer service IS in fact outsourced to India (as far as I can tell), and they can be quite difficult to understand and to explain your problem to.

Heather H

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 3, 2011

I'm giving up on Tracfone. LOUSY customer service. Can't change credit card on their website. Difficult to use website.

M. MacGregor

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 2, 2011

Here's my reason. Attn: TracFone execs, stock owners, the person who had the demented idea to outsource CS to unqualified people. In the process of researching prepaid phones and services for a few older relatives and friends with no computer savvy, I have made the informed decision that TF is the last company I would go to. Smoke signals in a hurricane are preferable. Thank you to all who have shared their pain.

XOPB

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 1, 2011

Tracfone has been the only way that I have been able to provide cell phones for my entire family. It's not very fancy and they do not provide good phones. But the pay as you go system makes cell phone service affordable at the most basic level.

richardsnide5

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 28, 2011

I've only had a beautiful experience with my SVC phone. Didn't want it at all initially, and then when I did get it, it only took one phonecall to my husband, to ask him (again), what type of sandpaper he wanted me to get him. Haven't dropped calls, had any problems recharging, topping up or anything really. Will admit not to being a tech junkie in any way. But for my small expectations, the SVC has been good to me.

Beatris

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 28, 2011

Had tracfone service for a few years and used to recommend to others but now we don't recommend. They say that they give you bonus and double minutes for the life of the you keeping the same phone number. That is false if you can't have the screen show up so they can trace how many total minutes that the screen shows up. I have a 1/3 of the minutes that I used to have. When we asked the customer support (which they think that they can speak English but is very hard to understand)to get some minutes for the aggravation they offered twenty to start but then said thirty minutes. Well I had almost 1000 minutes. When I talked to the 2nd manager, he became ignorant with me. Well my husband and I refuse to get another tracfone. I recommend that you find another company for your cell phone service.

Refuses to buy another Tracfone

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 28, 2011

I keep getting excellent service from TF and their CS department – never had any trouble with their service. Recently I added double minutes fro life to my phone, and the service was activated in mere minutes! Amazing!! I have only had a couple of dropped calls in close to SIX years of service…can't beat that! I've gone cross-country with my phone and have never had a problem. I am extremely, positively happy with the service that I have received.

'Wally' from Rockford

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 27, 2011

love my Tracfone with it's carry over feature! Provided you fill up every 3 months. But that equals to great savings! Everything about tracfone caters to the frugal budget concious consumer. In a world of sale sale sale,money money money, it's great to find a company that is more low key and cares.

jonah

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 27, 2011

SAVE YOUR MONEY This cell service is a complete joke, they sell your number to so many scammers that you can't even use the phone! I literally had up to 40+ calls per day before I had a chance to give the # to anybody. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!

SumDude

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 26, 2011

Wow, there aren't enough negative words in the English language to describe how awful my experience with Tracfone has been. I send texts (and are charged for them) but no one receives them, calls are dropped, routinely my phone locks up. The coverage area is horrible and the customer service is the worst of any company I have ever worked with in my entire life. Save yourself the headache and do not use Tracfone. (I have finally given up on mine)

Tracie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 25, 2011

Tracfone is a big ripoff. If you think you can save by buying a pre-paid Tracfone to pay-as-you-go, think again. If you don't keep buying and adding minutes to the phone, they will de-activate your phone and you'll lose ALL remaining minutes YOU ALREADY PAID FOR! I bought 75 minutes a month or two back and haven't used the minutes and now Tracfone emails me that I my phone will be deactivated if I do not buy more minutes. This is pure theft, plain and simple. Do yourself a favor and use another prepaid phone service because your paid-for minutes will be stolen by Tracfone. I only gave a 1 star review because zero was not an option.

Had Enough Tracfone

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 25, 2011

We get ‘check call restrictions' over and over with complete inconsistancy. Maybe 3 times in a row, then the call goes through–or not. Makes no difference where or when. No help at all from help desk.

fedupwtrac

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 25, 2011

I don't use my Tracfone allot and so manage to save about $70/month by not being on a contract and by only buying the Tracfone $19.99 plan/90 days/120min (with double for life plan).This has worked so well for me that I bought my mom a SVC phone for seniors so that she could use the same plan but just a phone meant that had a bigger screen with bigger letters, hearing aid friendly, and bigger buttons. The Samsung T155G looks like a clam shape and is small and this is great for her to carry around in her pocket for emergency's. I at least have peace of mind now when not seeing her for a day or two because she can either dial me if she needs something and the main thing is she can afford the cheap Tracfone plans.

Ruth

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 24, 2011

I would like to set some records straight here about the Senior Value Plan (SVC), by tracfone. It advertises the use of the samsung t155, that only costs $15, along with a plan that won't cost you more than $7 a month. There is a specific web site specially for this product, but invariably all the links take you back to tracfones web site.Firstly, there is no $7 plan if you go looking for it. What they say is that you can buy the normal $20 plan that has 3 months of service attached to it, and they then devide the $20 into the three months.Secondly, the phone is not exclusively for seniors. Anybody can buy it at the same price as it is in any walmart, or kmart. Currently most locations I've tested on tracfone's web site has this phone available online with double minutes for life – which is really what makes it a really good deal, for that extends your minutes to 120 minutes for the three months instead of just 60.There's nothing much exclusive about this plan, other than the attempt (a good one at it) to market, and create awareness. If you were to wnat a CDMA phone for the SVC plan, you merely need to choose any CDMA option on the tracfone options list, and make sure that it comes with double minutes.

Glenhaven

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 23, 2011

Phone service is adequate if they actually send you a phone, and if you can actually get it to work. Horrible customer service.

Dave W

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 22, 2011

The only unwanted calls/text messages I have gotten were from individuals and were just wrong numbers. I have never gotten any sales calls. I am very happy with the service. When I have had to talk to customer service, they did not seem to be foreign at all. I live in a rural area and have had a lot of trouble with other phones–Cellular One and some others I can't remember but I seem to get a better signal here with the Tracfone, and I can access the internet here. And these extras are priced lower than the contract companies.

Avice

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 21, 2011

DISLIKE tracfone. 5 phone calls to customer service & approximately 4 hours and I still have no service.

Kit

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 21, 2011

zero stars. Bought phone for my son for emergencies. Since activating phone I have received a dozen calls a day from solicitors WTF they have a ‘reject list' hmm wonder why cause they sold my number. Only problem is the reject list only hold like 10 numbers. Hate it don't do you'll waste all your paid min on bogus bullshit calls if you answer your phone. Wish they would have respected MY PRIVACY

Tammy

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 21, 2011

Have used for years for limited use. Switched phones and minutes with minimal problems. Phone has service where others do not. Everything works as it should.

Jon Doe

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 21, 2011

I'v only had tracfone (lg 420g) for about seven or eight months now but have had no problems at all. As a matter of fact I have had mostly positive experiences with cs by doing business by email. A month or so ago I purchased a60 min. card as my min. were about to run out. I came home and added the min. on the computer with no problem. The next day I got an email from tf saying I needed to add min. and gave me a code for 20 donus min.. I emailed back that I had just added min. the day before I got their email. I gave them the number from the 60 min. card and the code for the bonus min. and asked them if they would still give me the bonus min. Within two hrs. the bonus min. showed up on my phone and the next day I got an email saying '20 min. has been added to your phone'. Now thats service and I didn't have to talk to people I couldn't understand. So far I think they are doing a great service for those of us who don't want to be tied down to an overpriced contract. Easily five stars from me!

burt

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 19, 2011

If I could give them less then 0 stars, I would. From the start, I have had nothing but trouble with their phones. The last straw for me came when my phone (the 3rd in slightly over a year) began having difficulty allowing me to answer a call. When I called customer service for help, they acted as if I were stupid, providing no help at all. As of Tuesday, I am switching to Consumer Cellular, referred by AARP. Good plan, free phone, and NO MORE TRACFONE!

Mark

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 18, 2011

I have been with Tracfone for about 5 years and I have never had a problem until recently. I bought a new phone, and had my minutes transfered. When I tried to use the phone it would not work. I called ‘customer service' and was told that the problem was lack of reception when I explained that my phone wouldn't work when I had full service I was transfered to someone else, I could not hear them and was hung up on. I called back and spoke to someone who said he was a ‘tier 2' person and that the reason my phone would not work was bacause they could not use the towers that were in my area and I needed to change areas. I said that was fine and they attempted to reactivate my phone after hour 3 they finally said there was an error and that I needed to call back in 24 hours. When I called back the next day I spoke with 4 more people, was hung up on, and finally I was told I had to be sent a new phone. When I asked if the phone would be the same value as the one I had she could not say if it wouold be or not. I told them I wanted a refund and I am now waiting for that, I'm sure I will have to call them again in order to get my refund. I would not reccomend Tracfone to anyone!

Heidi

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 17, 2011

I have had a Tracfone for several years. Last summer I was in San Francisco and I could not make or receive calls while there. Last weekend I was in Jacksonville, Florida, and I could not make any calls from there either. What's the point of having a cell phone if you can't use it all over the US?

Nancy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 16, 2011

DON'T DO IT! I wish there was a way to write 0 stars. Every call to customer service takes at least one hour to get through. Today I gave up after one and a half hours. When you do get to customer service they are in Nicaragua and don't understand English. My wife has had three phones that broke within 6 months and I have almost continuous problems receiving my monthly minutes from our value plan. The only positive is the price – that is it!

Paul Lambert

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
February 15, 2011

The trouble I had with Tracfone was that I used my phone enough that it got too expensive to have to keep refilling. When I got a newer phone, there was a .5 minute charge for each text sent AND received, plus burning what you buy for minutes. No free nights/ weekends like with other prepaid services. This would be best if you don't actively talk or text, like a phone for kids to use for emergencies, etc.

MK

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 15, 2011

Impossible to understand the ‘customer service' reps. If you have a problem, the service becomes unusable.

DaveW

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 14, 2011

I mean, this service provider is one of very few that are still interested in providing a service for small users, like kids, and for seniors. But in the first place, there's not one tracfone that has a decent music player. This feature alone will surely attract more affinity amongst the younger generation. Secondly, the SVC plan that I've been wanting to get for my father, doesn't host a CDMA phone for people who are residing in Verizon strongholds. Both of these, I suppose minor issues, can so easily be resolved, and so easily improve their sales.

Oblongth

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 10, 2011

I am very please with Tracfone's costumer's service and affordable rates.My only problem is that I get a ‘Restrictions' message sometimes when I am trying to place a call from certain places.

Mercedes

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 9, 2011

For me tracfone has been around for too many years to just discount now. They were the first company (and I speak under correction) to introduce the prepaid method of paying for your mobile phone bill. It is by far the best wa to control an expense. Put a tag on it, and don't exceed. Which is easy enough if you don't need a lot from your mobile phone. Cheap good service.

Ntrylevel

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 9, 2011

When my step-dad went on his way, my mom refused to come stay with any of her kids-and I guess she is still young enough to want her freedom. We needed the peace of mind of knowing she could get hold of us anywhere, anytime. Seemed like a waste of money paying for a contract service that she would barely use, so we signed her up for Tracfone's SVC (senior) plan. It costs us under $10 a month and the phone only $15. The phone is really easy to use, and has large buttons and on-screen text, and 911 location assist. The coverage is also reliable, which was probably one of the most important factors for us. Haven't yet had any dealings with cs, but at this price, peace of mind doesn't get much better. Thanks Tracfone for being my mom's new 24hr a day companion when we can't be there!

S Athol

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 7, 2011

For what I paid for my phone (LG420G), it was worth it. Initializing the phone was done on-line, and had no problems getting connected. I also purchased airtime on-line, and had no problems with that either. I especially like the DMFL deal.But alas, with something so good, there has to be some negativity. I posted two questions on Tracfone's Forums webpage, and both (to this date), have not been answered. I bought the packaged deal from WM, and the car charger is for a Nokia phone. I wanted to know if they'd send me the correct car charger (via the Form website), but have not gotten any replies to my query. I guess like the old saying… you want cheap, you get cheap. Oh well… guess I just gotta go to WM and find the right car charger for the LG.So far, for the area where I'm living in (Hawaii), I guess we're fortunate that service coverage is adequate, since Verizon and AT&T towers are on all the islands. Haven't dropped a call yet.All in all, it is a good deal, coverage is okay (for now), and the phone aren't exactly ‘top notch'. But if you're just gonna make and receive calls and not spend your time of FB, this service is great!Most definitely… CS has to improve a little, both on-line and on the phone.

HawaiianSon

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 6, 2011

I love their customer service. Why?I NEVER call them. The few times I had a problem I went to their Facebook page and got help quickly and efficiently.Sounds crazy I know but it really worked.

Mickey Bitsko

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 6, 2011

Very difficult to transfer phone # andminutes to a new phone.Put on hold for over 20 minutes.Followed instructions on i-net and at end ,failed to transfer.Attempted again. Again failed.

John Horstman

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 5, 2011

The customer service is awful. Trying to understand through a thick accent from someone reading from a script is difficult. I tried to change my credit card information which had changed because of a fraud issue and was unable to complete the change. I gave up in frustration and decided to quit the service which I had been giving to my grandson. If a company is going to do business in the USA, they need to have customer service representatives who speak comprehensible English.

BHoskins

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 5, 2011

I recently decided to upgrade my cell phone, from an LG 200c I wanted to get a camera phone and downloadable ring tones, as my current phone doesn't allow it. My story starts back Christmas eve 2009 purchesed a phone at walmart. Turned out to be a sim card phone, Called tracfone, traveled around the countries from my couch. They tried sending me four sim cards (keep in mind I was activating two phones). Then fineally they said we will have to send you a replacement phone/s because you live in a CMDA area. I got the two replacements, and they were a downgrade if you will from what I bought (no camera, ringtones DL or pic texting), I called them they impatiently advised me that is the best they could do. BULL! Again this started christmas eve 2009 and ended almost the end of Jan 2010.So this time I figured I would call the company, explained to them my area, they told me nicely that I would have to make sure its a ‘CDMA' NOT a ‘Sim' phone. Thing is you can't do that cause they don't put it on the outside of the packaging, but I was assured three times (as I asked them three different times) that it was infact a CMDA phone. So I went out a bought the LG420G phone, guess what it's a…. SIM phone. I called tracfone, they said well you want to transfere your number and minutes you need a new card, I was like fine but that sim cards didn't work in my area. I was told they had improved (first I heard) that not to mention the rep was rude. I waited the required five to seven days, still no sim card.So I called them they asked for the ticket number I said she didn't give me one, that we were discussing the sim card not working in my area, she got rude and suddenly I wasn't talking to her but hearing press one to activate blah blah blah. Moving forward. I was also informed that she never completed the process to send me the required sim card for my phone, therefore I would have to start all over again. and wait another five to seven days.Now I can keep my temper but this set me off, because this was a supervisior whom I had to ask to speak up cause I couldn't hear. She told me she could do it one of two ways, transfere the minutes and number to the new phone now, and when the sim card comes in in 5-7 days I can finish the activation. But then that leaves me WITHOUT a phone. I explained I live with my father helping him and he has a heart problem and an aneurysm and if I have to go somewhere he has to be able to contact me.Think they cared about that, she said that is your only two options, I reminded them again their company is the one that told me that this was a cmda phone, and I could find it at walmart, so of course it was now not just my fault it was walmarts, why buy one from there if they only sell sim card phones. I said they don't know if its sim or cmda until it's open, and to open and check would ruin the merchandise, then they can't sell it. Okay that gets both WM and me off the hook, but only the two options (wait for a new sim card, or transfere now and wait for the sim card) well after an hour and a half, my temper is on the edge of exploding. I said actually (and I said this nicely) you know you said I had two options, I actually have three, 1. wait for new sim card, 2. transfere and wait for new sim card but have no active phone, 3. Stop it all, take the new phone back to the store and when my blood pressure and temper comes down find another company and they can shove it. See I have been with Tracfone for about 16 or so years, no other company ever, from the first analog tracfone with the antenna you had to pull up (remember those good days) to now. A loyal customer. And I didn't hesitate to mention that, and that I wasn't sure they would see me for a seventeenth. That they were rude, inept, incompetent, and apparently liars as well if they can't see for themselves (in the sales department) that the phone is a sim not a cmda phone.So now this phone that I came to be excited about, and love and was a gift from my father for all I have done for him (though he didn't have to do that and it was part a bday present he couldn't get before) I have to take it back. Which upset us both.Tracfone did say that they couldn't send me a replacement phone cause this was one of their newer models, but yet on their site they are selling reconditioned versions of the same model. Then said well you have the DMFL phone I am not sure we can transfere that, BULL. Besides the new phone is also DMFL so that was a lie. I don't know what it is with this company but if anyones tried to get ahold of corporate in florida you don't, you automatically get shipped (no pun) to another country, I get a rep once in florida, but she needed help and shipped me to the phillipines. Never got florida again.I agree we can't help it that outsourcing is part of the norm, but all these folks need senesitivity training, and knowledge of their phones. I bring up my zipcode on their site and I get five or six phones (of which most I don't like or want) that might work in my area (ie LG420G was suppost to), but if I list the zipcode down the road from me (less then quarter mile) and you get similar phones but a little broader selection. *Shakes head* which they say won't work. Also no where on their site do they state if the phone is a SIM (GSM) or a CDMA phone, then I was informed by a rude supervision who wasn't so super, that you can tell by the letter after the model… Current phone I have LG200'C' = CMDA, new phone LG420'G' = GMS. Like anyone pays attention or may know this. Especially when you talk to the sales department and three times they say this is a cmda phone. I am not the only one that needs to learn that. Thank you for letting me have my say, I needed to get this out of my system.

Des

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 3, 2011

I work at home so don't need a cell phone except on rare occassions like long car trips. So it's a cheap cell phone compared to monthly bills. But the CS is terrible. I'm sitting on hold now for 80 minutes waiting to talk to a human about 116.5 minutes they didn't transfer to a new Tracfone I bought from my very old one. The CS person on some other planet told me she was authorized to only transfer 800 of my unused minutes and to call back later for the remaining 116.5. Yeah, like I'll ever get thru to a human before I die! Will try another pre-paid company next time, NOT TRACFONE!!! It's an impossible phone to add time to, etc. Even my attorney son who graduated at the top of his law school class was spitting nails the last time he added a year's service and more minutes to my phone.

barb

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 31, 2011

Tracfone is easily one of the best services on the market. Tracfone account for not only my phone but both of my daughters as well. WE are proud to be a tracfone family as we are saving alot of money in this horrible economy.

TI34

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
January 30, 2011

O would like to make a very real suggestion to tracfone, regarding ther SVC plan for elders: Make it exclusive guys. It's nice that I can also be part of the plan, as can my daughter, but what exactly is the point of this SVC marketing drive if anybody can get the samsung t155, and get a $20 plan that will cost $7 a month to maintain service. At least offer the older fogies double minutes for life included with the purchase of that t155 – that'll at least make the plan sooo much cheaper. And further more, please add a CDMA phone for an option on the plan too. What if you're a senior living in a place that only has verizon covering it??

Mayim

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 30, 2011

I have used Tracfone for about 10 years, and each time I try to purchase more time from their website, my credit card is not accepted, so I have to talk to someone far away who has a set script of answers and no help other than going through the process manually. I asked to speak to the supervisor, and that person could not purchase minutes with this credit card, a card I have used everywhere on the web. I asked to speak to someone who could really help with this problem, but got nowhere. I'm switching providers.

Steve Talley

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 29, 2011

wrong Lex! There are no roaming fees and Tracfone have the Samsung qwerty slider on offer as well. Their phones improve all the time and now you can get the Nokia6790 smartphone for under $100.00 and it does have all the bells and whistles!

sue

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
January 29, 2011

I think Tracfones are a good phone for emergencies and urgencies. Only good for when you really don't want any bells and whistles when you use your phone. Airtime is used fairly quickly if you get under 120 minutes.Unless the only thing you're doing is texting or making a phone call that is less than 30 seconds long [within the country], this phone is not for you.I'd also like to add that they charge you for roaming- which can be devastating when you're on the road and you need to make a long phone call home.The phones themselves are very… outdated for the times. I have yet to find a Tracfone with a full qwerty keyboard on it.

Lex

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 27, 2011

I think North America is the only place in the world where you pay to get a call in your pre paid, places like japan, brazil, europe you only pay if you make the call not if you receive!!!I paid to send a message only to know that the person doesnt pay to get message! This is ABSURD!!It is amazing how the costumers accept that!!

katia

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 26, 2011

I lost my phone it took them two weeks to get me another one. I spent over six hours on the phone trying to get my number back.Each time they said I would be all set each time they set me up with wrong number. They dont anwser any questions they only read off a script. They barely speak english. Im on the phone right now trying to straighten out, second time today.Ive been on phone an hour and a half right now and am no closer to getting problem fixed. I just want my number back so I can port to another company.Dont use this company.I have no idea why they have any good reviews. Ive never been satisfied with them this is not the first time. I wish I could give negative stars. Plus they dont have any stores so you only speak to people who are overseas and dont speak english.

Stay Away!!!

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 26, 2011

Believe what you want but this service provider SUCKS!!! They sell your # to any solicitors that are willing to pay a few cents for a phone # as soon activate it. They continue to give your # out to anybody selling anything. I quit using the phone for recieving phone calls do to the fact that I get no less than a dozen calls a day even after putting the # on the do not call list. Trying to contact a real person to address the problem of recieving up to 50 calls a day from solicitors is almost impossible. If you can contact customer service they don't know anything, can't do anything. This phone service is a complete joke. Save your money and don't believe any good reviews of this service. Go elsewhere and you will thank me later!

Mike from oregon

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 25, 2011

The editor's review is very out of date. Trackfone offers very few phones and they are all bottom of the line. I have used Tracfone for years and I love the concept of pre-paid service. I just wish I could get a well designed phone.

NorCal

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 23, 2011

I am enrolled in their family value plan for both my wife's phone and my phone. I should get minutes added automatically every month and pay a recurring charge on a credit card. For the past 4 months, I didn't receive on one of the 2 phones and I had to call to try to get the minutes added. It is a HUGE hassle because the reps keep you on the line for an hour and have you put a series of code numbers (that don't work) and they put you on hold for 3 to 4 minutes in between. Then at the end of the phone call, they tell you to turn off your phone and you will receive your minutes in 15 minutes. Of course this does not work, and I have to call back. Usually it takes about 5 seperate phone calls talking to a different rep each time. Although they are always generally nice and keep apologizing, they really aren't helpful or even knowledgable at all. Sometimes it takes days, yes days to get it all sorted out. One time the rep told me that it showed that I received my minutes that morning and when i told her that i did not, she argued with me saying that I did. She basically called me a liar. And, don't bother asking for a supervisor, because then they tell you that they are no longer on the other line with them or one time they put me on hold with their music playing in the background for an hour. I gave up and hung up then.

Chris

Leave a Review