View All Straight Talk Reviews

Read our full Straight Talk review

3.2
Rated 3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5 stars (based on 2266 reviews)
5 star33%
4 star13%
3 star23%
2 star5%
1 star26%

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 6, 2010

1.) Call Tracfone using a phone other than your Straight Talk – 1-800-867-7183 2.) Have the Serial # ready (Hit Menu, then Prepaid, then Serial Number.) 3.) When calling Tracfone, use the menu option that is ‘Technical Difficulties.' 4.) They will walk you through it and get it back up and running as they did me in just 7 minutes, I Wish I had known that Tracfone was the same company or that Straighttalk had let us know to call them to get the phones back up and running and swallowed some of the pride of their ‘Not So Good Service Issues They Are Having Right Now' Also not to mention the 3 days I went without service, Oh Well at least I know now that I can call the veterans at Tracfone when Straighttalks service is too busy.

Gerry

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 6, 2010

My phone service was good until 3days ago. I woke up to find that my number had been changed on me. This is a number that I ported over, I had this number for 5yrs. It took me 3 days and about 4 hours of being on hold to get a hold of there slum dog millionaire call center. They told me they had no clue why my number changed and they cold not change it back. 5yrs of my life and identity were just gone. Now I have to make sure the number is changed to this new one in a 1000 places and look like a scrub that cant keep his phone on. This is total BS I think they should be sued and there customer service is worthless. Other then this the service has been great.

Glasswalker22

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 6, 2010

for new straight talk customer; all you need to do is register your phone on www.straighttalk.com fallow the steps, once compleated power on the phone, dail *22890 press send then press 1 and send thats it

Damion

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 6, 2010

Absolute Garbage. I hope some fat cats go to prison for the sham of a company. The call center sounded like it was under attack by mortars.

Josiah

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 6, 2010

To Aliza I have had my ST phones since July 2009 and when I first setup the phone, I called CS and they setup your account, but I think that is how you setup your online account. That note on there about it being ‘under construction' has been on there ever since I started with them. But I can login into the account to check my minutes or switch phones or add minutes. The problem I had with them for 6 months or so was that I had dropped calls 90% of the time and it would happen in 30 seconds time. It did it on the Razor, Samsung 451, and Samsung 810 touchscreen. But now I have the Samsung 335 blackberry and so far no dropped calls. The only difference that I see on the 335 compared to the other phones, is that it has a symbol on it located below the screen but above the keypad and I think it is the tracfone symbol, it looks like a bunch of 0's going around each other. All my other phones never had it, so maybe that is the difference with a good or bad phone. If you have any other questions, email me gsipe09To aol.com

Dolphin

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 6, 2010

Wish I could give it zero stars. Unreliable phone service and horrendous customer support. I use the 30-day plan and refill it on my own. I've never come close to using all my minutes, but I frequently get messages telling me I'm out of minutes, even though my 30 days are not expired and their website indicates I have hours left in my account. Calls to the toll-free number nearly always result in the message ‘Due to uncommonly high call volume, we can't take your call' message. Straight Talk would be a great bargain if they delivered on what they advertise, but they don't

lunchbeast

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

well i love the service….to get verizon coverage for 45 bucks is unbelievable. as far as customer service goes, give them time. they have not been in service for a year yet. i ported my number from sprint and i did it online, it took less than five minutes. now i have never had that happen with companies that have been around for years. i look for this company to take over the prepaid market real soon

lk wilson

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

yes some reviews are BS from competitors but…call any walmart, the EXCLUSIVE retailer straight talk, in any part of the country and talk to the phone sales desk and they will confirm the problems they have had for days that they have no clue about. No one can deny their website was down for a few days either.

Done again

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

My phone hasnt worked since yesterday. It says ‘We are unable to process your call right now, to call customer service dial *611' Well I get the same recording when I do that, and it is busy when I call from another phone. 🙁 Does anyone know anything about what the actual problem is and when or how it will be fixed?

Haley

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

finally got everything straightened out with the minutes last night after speaking with tracfone who put me directly through to s.t c.s, only to discover that I have no service at my house… phone goes from 1 bar to 3 to 1 to none! anyone have tips on how to get better service? C.S. says I bought a lg220c which is a low grade phone and if I upgrade to the $80 phone chances are my service will be better… Anyone agree or have noticed they had better reception after upgrading their phone?

erika

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Update from yesterday… After buying my phone on Monday afternoon, my number got ported over last night around 8pm. It didn't work when I tried to add minutes however, so I called customer service this morning. After reading the horror stories I was worried, but I got through to a live person in about one minute. (I called the phone number on the refill card 877-430-2355) The reason why my phone wasn't ready is because the port transfer ticket was still open in their system, but after 16 minutes on the phone, the CS rep was able to get me hooked up and my phone works perfectly now. I am very pleased, and now get to call AT&T and tell them thanks for the memories, Considering I spent about 90 minutes in the AT&T store when I bought my last POS phone, signing away my life, 16 minutes on the phone and a minor glitch are worth the huge savings.

Donkey Kong

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

u gotta call customer service 877-430-2355 and talk to tech support… thats what i had to do

re:haley

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I will try to call that number again today, but as I had said earlier the number was busy when I called them all day yesterday 🙁 I hope someone answers today

RE: re:haley

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

my phone says ‘prepaid service disabled'. i just refilled my account about a week ago so that can't be the problem. i can't get in touch with customer service…i keep getting a busy signal. i also went online to the straight talk site and it tells me they are having technical difficulties. CAN ANYONE GIVE ANY INFO ON THIS SITUATION PLEASE..??!

DANIEL

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

try calling tracfone, their number is 1800-867-7183, their tech support will put you through to straight talks direct tech support line

reply to haley again

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

have called them 6 times. get the runaround about computers down. today, i have been put on hold for well over an hour. they just hung up on me. calling again. worst phone company imaginable.

don

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

anyone know if the lg 290c gets better reception than the lg 220c??? Straight talk keeps telling me to buy the 290c and I will get more bars…. Please someone respond. Thanks

please answer

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Okay, my service for ST has been down for about four days now. I've gone through the same frustrating stuff most of you have, as well. I called Tracfone Corporate at 1-800-876-5753, and asked to speak with someone in Executive Resolutions Department. Even though I'm ST, they assisted me and I now have my service back.

Bleh

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I love the phones but have only one complaint. Once you activate a ST phone it is always linked to you. I had an old ST phone and my daughter wanted to activate it with her own account but she could not because it is linked to me. ST can not release the serial numbers on previously used phone to new users (so we were told). So heads up on that.

Teresa

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

We just purchased a ST phone, I transferred an ATT phone number to them. I have had the worst customer service ever so far. I am being told that there are computer problems and tech difficulties. I waited on hold for 50 minutes this morning. This service may be cheap and at $45.00 a month that is worth it. But it is not worth giving up quality customer service for.

MDM - Mobile

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Absolutely no customer service. The phones generally work great but when you do have a problem its very hard to reach them to solve it. No email, only a customer service phone number. I was told the wait should be 5 minutes and over an hour lapsed this last time. Been trying for 5 days.

Tracy

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

A friend of mine and my husband got this phone and everything seemed fine. So when my Boost mobile was up then I decided to to go with straight talk. My husband got a new phone and gave my son his old one and then I bought a new one. Everything seemed fine until May 2, 2010 when we had to refill his phone paid my money called ST his phone worked for about 6 hours yesterday and now nothing. He can't call out and no one can call in. You call ST and sit on hold for hours and get nothing but your call is important to us (yeah right) now mine and my sons are coming Due not sure what I need to do Boost Mobile is only $5 more for the same service and I never had a problem not one time with them. Just pisses me off the money I have spent on a new phone for me and my husband and the service when I could have stayed with boost and got new phone through them and been happy.

DINA

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

We bought my husband a new phone and gave my son his old one. He had his number transferred to the new phone and we bought the $30 plan and they set up everything just fine for him. now my only worry is the refilling part after everything that is going on.

Reply to Teresa

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

My son refilled his next month of service online and he ended up losing his number..for some reason they gave him a new one.He needs his old one back and I can't seem to get thru to ANYONE at any of the company numbers..on hold for an hour.There was only one day between his service end date and his new card.Anyone else ever lose their number? How do you get it back??

cc

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

my service was messing up to couldnt get in touch with nobody so all i did was turn my phone off and waited 5 minutes and turned it back on and now its working fuck customer service

damon

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

REPLY to: Please Answer… I have found it to be the other way around. The 290 does NOT get as good reception as the 220… My wife has the 290 and I have the 220 and I get much better signal than does my wife.. I know they say the opposite but please remember, they want to sell the higher priced phone… Even the guy at Walmart said it was better but here in eastern Tennessee thew 220 sends and receives a lot better…. GOOD LUCK !!!

R Scott M

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Worked perfectly for the first month and now my phone number is not longer recognized. Their website says my phone has service until 6/2/10 but my phone still remains useless, it has been this way.. 4 DAYS now! This is getting ridiculous. Oh, and if you get through to customer service, after waiting an hour on hold- congratulations! They probably won't help you and you'll likely get disconnected at some point. What fun!

Charlie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Wow, I can't believe all the problems that I am reading about. I have had ST service since January 2010 AND no complaints AT ALL. Now, I will say that the customer service department is a bit slow, but overall; I have had a good experience with them. I haven't had to wait on hold for hours at a time, maybe 10 minutes AT MOST.

Happy Customer

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

My dear friend Erika… Don't be sucked in by the slippery, slimy tongued sales reps of the big companies (tracfone)… They are in business for one reason only, to make money, thus, of course they want you to upgrade to a more expensive phone but the truth of the matter is… I have found that the 220 actually gets better signal than the 290. Don't get me wrong, the 290 is a fine phone if you want (need) all those extra features but the 220 is a great basic phone with very good reception if that's all you want (need)… No need to upgrade to the more expensive phone. Either you have reception or you don't have reception… the two different phones will not make much of a difference…. GOOD LUCK !!!

R Scott M

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Help please. I just added a $45 phone card to my phone last night. I got confirmation that the card was successfully added. A few minutes later, I started receiving error messages saying I do not have enough fun to sent text. Called customer service this morning, the lady gave me a ticket number and said that the issue will be resolved after 24 hours. Please help me everyone cause this is the only phone that I have. I can’t wait for 24 hours and it looks like it’s not guaranteed that they will be able to fix my phone. Worse, I tried dialed *22890 to see if it would work, instead the phone was reset and does not accept any code. Now, not only I cannot make or receive calls (with a new unlimited card) but also the phone is locked. Any advice please.

Paul

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I have been on hold with this company for over a half hour and now I have to go back to work with no resolution. I have no service and it tells me I have insufficient funds to make a call or send a text. It re-upped today! Now I know that the annoying message telling me how long I have left on the phone is hardly ever correct and sometimes says things that do not come close to applying…but to have no service at all! I am currently suffering from a bad cold and since I am trying to get pregnant wary of what meds I can take. This is my only way to communicate with my doctor during their office hours and I was waiting for a message from them today. They need to realize that this is very important to those of us with no other means of communication. I have previously recommended this company but never again.

Sekasorto

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I bought a Straight Talk phone. Two days ago and still can't get it to work. I have a printout saying I have the unlimited mins. The first day the Straight talk site went down the second day I spent almost 2 1/2 hours on hold trying to talk to customer service and never did. I e-mailed and still no return call or help. Even now I'm trying to get threw and it says all lines are busy. Can anybody tell me what is going on

Frank

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

After reading the other messages, I am only slightly consoled that my brand new phone isn't working. At least I'm not the only one having issues. Had ATT cancel my service on Sunday…thinking my new Straight Talk phone would be up and running. Bought the phone on Sunday, it's now Wednesday. The phone still isn't working. I tried contacting them online and I have YET to speak with a human being, BEEN ON HOLD FOR AN HOUR!!! Their website was ‘under repair' for TWO DAYS!!! I bought the phone because I believed in the reliability of names like Tracfone and Verizon. THEY REALLY LET ME DOWN.

VERY ANGRY

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I've had numerous bad experiences with Straighttalk cell phones, more specifically with their customer service representatives. In fact, it'd gotten to the point where I'd go out of my way NOT to speak to them unless I absolutely had to. It's quite obvious they are not only poorly trained in customer service, but many their employees (I can only speak for the ones I've been in contact with, of course) seem to lack the necessary skills for anything, but sub-par customer-to-service communication. There have been times where I waited only hold for close to thirty minutes just to be told by an automated voice that ‘all circuits are busy' and how they ‘appreciate' my patience. And, once, when I asked to speak to a manager after a quite unsatisfactory performance by the representative I was placed with (we'd been on the line for 30 mins., fifteen of which was spent on hold after our initial greeting), he'd flat out refused–apparently his manager ‘didn't take customer calls.' Just recently, I've bought a $45 unlimited service plan from Wal-Mart after I'd been told they could refill using my debit MasterCard (because it was out of funds) despite the fact that when I called to check my balance, I had twice-over the amount necessary for an automatic refill, not-to-mention the fact that before that they had my card registered online with an erroneous expiration date. Currently, I've paid for a months renewal using the service card I mentioned above, but it's saying I have insufficient funds to receive text or make calls. I've tried multiple times to get in contact with my service provider (despite my obvious distaste), but as of yet, I've simply be put on hold in the seldom instances when my calls aren't directly dropped… It's my personal opinion, that StraightTalk is not only a horrible service provider (in those instances when they do in fact provide service), but they're also a scam. They're milking honest, working people of their hard-earned money and providing little of what they claim to when they're not welshing on their promises. If I were Wal-Mart, I'd drop them, at least until they can actually provide what they're offering. Otherwise, it's just bad business.

Tired of HORRIBLE service

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

The customer service is horrible. Still trying to add minutes to my phone and have been calling them for the LAST 3 HOURS with a recorded messege – all lines are busy because of high call volume – BS!

Kevin

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Hey people, tracfone corporate solved the problem for and I get my phone back.

Paul

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

My Straigh Talk Phone service was great until last night when it stopped working altogether. Now I can't even get in contact with a customer service rep. I have an important trip tomorrow and no cell phone and I've already paid for this month? If the phone works today Straight Talk is great. If not I will be getting my money back.

Jennifer Labow

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I think it's great everybody is putting their review on here, however I think many are forgetting to change the stars and leaving where it starts, at 3. Back to my problem, I've been trying for 3 days to get through to customer service with no help. At one time I waited for over 2 hours. What gives?

Diane

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I agree their customer service is absolutely terrible but the service up to this point is great. It is the cheapest and offers the most minutes for the money. Phones are too exspensive, very exspensive. I would love to have an Iphone that operates on this service but $200 to $300 dollars is just to much. Customer service is what's going to bring the company down once everyone else matches their rates because I'm definitely going to go to a company where I can understand who I am talking too. ‘Customer Service stinks with a skunks scent.'

Db

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Straight Talk has the POOREST SERVICE of any cellphone company I've dealt in my past. I purchased a service card to get my unlimited minutes. First I called the 877-430-2355 number but the circuits were busy. So I thought I'd add my minutes online. MISTAKE–my phone has not had service for 4 days; however, online it tells me that my phone is good for the next month. On day 4, I finally got ahold of tech support only to hear them transfer me to another department and then to hear the rep say that their ‘systems were down.' I was told to call back in four hours…now I've just waited two hours on the phone trying to even get a hold of a tech rep. The customer service is GARBAGE and my phone still has no service.

John

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I was double charged when I refilled my minutes over the phone. I am now 30 hours into trying to get this resolved and I still have no results. Due to the double charges, I now have a giant amount of overdraft fees as I did not have an extra 46.08 in the account to cover the double charges. Now they will NOT make it right. They were not even going to credit me the amount they double charged let alone any bank fees. Still waiting to hear from corporate and I am 3 days and 30 hours and not a dime has been refunded

Andie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

The worst customer service. We prepay every month so our service should not be interupted, however- they disconnected us today and i have been on hold with them for 2 hours to find out the reason why. Wait for the big guys to jump on this type of offer.

randj

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

okay, i got in touch with customer service last night and they had me shut off the phone for the night and then turn it on this morning and do *22890 and It worked fine… my minutes and texts and internet are up and running, as i have said many times before the best bet to get c.s on the phone is too call tracfone at 18008677183 they will connect you straight to straight talk, I even got someone who spoke english and apologized repeadiatly for the problem… i am def. not praising them in any way but when a company gets to big to fast this tends to happen, just hang in there folks, also s.t said that they would compensate us for the days we missed…

Erika

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

lack of service really sucks whats up im on auto fill got up this am no service on my phone .aparently arent debiting funds and my business is out of communication

greg

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I am ready for a class action suit against them, anybody in? We have prepaid though June and have no service-which for us means no business and lost clients. Doesnt the ‘mother' Tracfone get it and fix this? Have e-mailed Tracfone to try to resolve as I have no other phones at my disposal. After this, I am shopping for another provider- this SUCKS!

pssssd

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I CANNOT BELIEVE I HAVE BEEN WITHOUT A PHONE FOR 2 DAYS WHILE IM PAID UP FOR THE MONTH…WTF!!!!!3 HOURS ON HOLD WHILE AT WORK…THEN THEY SAID CALL VOLUME IS TOO HIGH CALL BACK…LOL AFTER 3 HOURS..I DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT TO DO…WHO DO YOU CONTACT BBB ?

angry guy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I HATE THIS SERVICE. I am currently sitting on hold on my daughters prepaid phone so that I can reactivate the phone it tomme me three weeks to get. Meanwhile, I have been on hold for about an hour and a half.

Danielle

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I'm not gonna type out 20 paragraphs of a rant. The actual phone service was great. clear signals, no problems. But should you encounter aany issues, good luck resolving them. I just spent 02:12:11 on hold before i gave up- thats two hours, twelve minutes and 11 seconds. And that was just today. I've made at least 50 calls trying to get through to customer service in the past 4 days. I returned my broken phone (under waranty) for a replacement over a week ago & im still waiting for my replacement. Before returning my broken phone, I had asked them to charge my credit card and send me the new phone first so I wouldnt be without a phone. They refused & assured me it would be a few days wait… as I said, I'm at 8 days now. Now I cant get through to customer service at all (been trying for 4 days) AND i called fedex and they told me there is no record of a package in transit to me from straight talk. I went to Walmart & they won't do anything about it because they just sell the phones, they don't service them. I'm a pretty patient person, but I've had no phone for over a week & it looks like a slim chance of getting a replacement anytime soon. Doesnt really matter though because even if I got it today, I cant get through to customer service to activate it (I still have 800 minutes left from the card a bought a few weeks ago). I finally gave up and called my credit card company to dispute the charges for the phone and service. of course now Straight talk owns my phone number that i had for 10 years and ported over to their service, so thats another issue i need to deal with. grrr. sorry i said i wasn't going to type a long rant. Do yourself a favor. Spend the extra money on a reliable cell phone company. I'm done with these losers

Robbert

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Stupid Spotty Outage. My daughter and I both use this service. Her phone works, mine does not. Held for 2 over 2 hours before I gave up.

OKMPissed

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

wow..im so sorry to hear about all the negative reviews..we have had nothing but good luck with this company so far and I've been with them for 3 months and now I'm getting worried from reading all the bad reports.

niko

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Can't get through to customer service. Wife's phone quit working 4 days before renewal even though we had the unlimited plan according to their web site. Have been trying to reach C/S since Sunday. Get the all circuits are busy or you get through and are put on hold and no one ever picks up. Worst mnvo ever. Will be porting out.

Keith

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Currently off work now and on hold for 20 minutes and counting….still no service…was not able to get ahold of my doctor…the hold time said 5 minutes but that is a joke. I am so over this company! I am ready to pay more for cell phone service just to not have to deal with this horrible company!

Sekasorto

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I agree with the people who are telling you to cal trackphone customer support. I spoke with somoen there, understood him perfectly, and he had me up and running within 10 minutes. Very pleasant.

Brad

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Call tracfone at 18008677183 they will connect you straight to straight talk, you will actually get to talk with someone, My husband was having the same issues as everyone else and they had him reprogram his phone by dialing *22890 and It worked fine… So I'm letting everyone know to try this. Hope it works for you too. : )

FYI to everyone

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

1. Called tracfone – constantly busy 2. The *22890 is not working for everyone.

Still Pissed

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I sure wish I saw these reviews on this company. I have an unlimited plan with auto renew – they have already charged my credit card but my phone will not receive or send calls as I supposedly have no minutes left. What? So I thought I would give them a quick email to inquire about what is wrong. No email address – no online suport – I have been on hold waiting for cs to answer for over an hour…is anyone going to take care of this poorly managed company? Perhaps this would be a great 20/20 or 60 minutes type story…because this smells of scam to me.

frustrated

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I, too, am on hold for CS – and have been for an hour. I paid to continue service the day before my service was to end. Did not go through. I paid the next day again, went through but – I have a different number and the phone, despite being activiated, will not send or receive calls. I will not use this company or its prodcuts again – AVOID THEM.

Silas

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Call tracfone at 18008677183. I was on hold for hours with straighttalk. I called trac fone and they rolled me right over. Finally got the problem solved.

Not Pissed NEmore

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

VERY, VERY UNSATISFIED. Everything was going perfect until today. They took my auto renewal, yet my phone says ‘no minutes.' I sat on hold for over one hour and gave up. Yes, problems happen. However, when you can not resolve problems in a timely manner, and nobody will communicate with the client, that is simply not acceptable. I hope they fix this issue quickly, or I'm gone. And, the *22890 did not work for me.

Jim

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 5, 2010

This service was great for about 6 months. Thereafter, I continued to receive error messages relative to one (cell) phone number after another. These same (cell) numbers were local and reachable by my landline phone. After waiting OVER ONE HOUR to speak with a rep in technical support, I spent about 45 mins trying to ‘reset' my Straight Talk phone — without success. This is, of course, AFTER I bought the $80 phone in addition to the plan charges. If you want good customer service, look elsewhere.

Melissa

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

does anyone know if the samsung phones get better reception than the lg's?

hi

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 5, 2010

the worst ever…….. on hold for 1hr and 45 minutes trying to get through with customer sevice……. finally called tracphone it olny took 5 minutes to get the problem straightened out… of course its the same problem almost everyone else has….. i have minutes but they say i dont………… worst company ever…….. i am done with them…..

danny

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I am not getting straight talk from Straight Talk. I am not getting any kind of talk from them, or through them, at all. I paid for continuing service online yesterday and have a receipt indicating that my service is good till 6/3. However I have no service, and cannot get through to straight Talk on my land line. have had excellent service until this time. I recommend that no one start a straight talk account until they get their system fixed.

Will

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Phone dead for 2 days even though I had auto-renewal. 1 hr 40 minutes hold with CS. Finally gave up. I can't even cancel because you don't have any access to your own acct number.

The Worst

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

This company has a zero rating, Myself and 5 other members of my family have transfered to Straight Talk, After the first month of service, your phones start to mess up then you can NEVER get a live person on the phone, I have spent 20 hours over the last 3 days trying to get assistance….Notice the web site…They will take your money, but is there any support…no because the number they have given is useless, and the mailing address does NOT respond, there is no place for internet communication…wonder why…They want to sell you a phone but does NOT follow through…Think 100 times before going to any Straight Talk, Trac Phone, Net 10 or Boost they are the same!!! Go To a company with a good rep. Not this one!!

Jenny Smith

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

the support team blows dead ducks on hold 3 hrs even walmart coundn't do anything to help . tried again back home same story wake up india l need service, pissed in n.y

gary welch

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Straight talk sucks! Held on phone over 4 hours total today never spoke to anyone!!! and my phone still not working

Pisses

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Contact Tracfone directly..They will gat you straight to a rep.Try like I did,dial*22890 and see if it will reactivate..After 3 hours on hold I tried it and finally fixed it myself..Needless to say, the phone was paid yesterday and off since but I contacted them from another straight talk phone,so go figure..

marie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

This is what you ALL agreed to when you signed up. If you never read it, shame on you. What'd you all think…that they were just kidding??? THE SERVICE IS PROVIDED ON AN ‘AS IS' AND ‘AS AVAILABLE' BASIS WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND. STRAIGHT TALK MAKES NO WARRANTY THAT THE STRAIGHT TALK MOBILE WEB SERVICES WILL (i) MEET YOUR REQUIREMENTS, (ii) ALLOW ACCESS TO ALL THIRD PARTY SITES, OR (iii) BE UNINTERRUPTED, TIMELY, SECURE OR ERROR FREE. NO ADVICE OR INFORMATION OBTAINED FROM ANY OTHER SOURCE SHALL CREATE ANY WARRANTY NOT EXPRESSLY STATED IN THE AGREEMENT OR THE STRAIGHT TALK MOBILE WEB SERVICES TERMS OF USE.

mike

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Some pretty unbelievable reviews here. I purchased my phone and plan in November of 2009, the service has been as good as my old verizon service as soon as the number was ported over. I couldn't be happier, have never used the 3GB download limit, never have to pay attention to minutes or number of texts… Very certain the one star reviews here are competitors… give it a rest guys, this is the best deal around… If I can get reception all over South Dakota, you can get reception anywhere… ONE dropped call in the past 6 months…..

doctor john

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Minimum 20-40 wait just to get thru to customer service. Due to technical difficulties, they gave my wife's $30 card (for her phone) to someone else and said they wouldn't fix it. They suck. Don't use their service. I'd put 0 stars, but that was not an available option.

Dissatisfied Straight Talk Customer

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Kudos to you both. I have been carrying this banner alone till now.

To mike & doctor john

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I am not getting straight talk from Straight Talk. Very frustrated with service.

Will

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I had high hopes but just had the most awful experience. They could not get my phone activated, said my registration number was invalid, sent me around to 3 technicians over a 30 minute time frame, the connection was so bad I could hardly hear and then they wanted me to fax my receipt as proof of payment. I had just purchased it right before I called to activate. I told them they had to be kidding, I was home with no fax machine and all I was going to do was take the whole mess back to Walmart for my money back. Which is just what I did. A good idea that just does not work. Maybe another company can do better one day. I would rate zero also if there was that option.

Juliajones

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Our family has 2 phones. One we bought in October 2009. The other we bought in November and we ported a number for it. Except for a frustrating period of multiple unsatisfactory calls to customer service as we were getting access to yahoo e-mail, we have had no problems. Customer service has been professional and helpful except for the yahoo problem–then they were pleasant but not helpful. We think this a a great service, we have access to most places in the U.S., we think it is the best price around.

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

He was stating that the STRAGHTTALK system was down for the past 2 days. to not even try to get a phone activated. I have the phone and did an on line activation, it tells me on line I have unlimited minutes and it has all my information, but I cannot make a call. I did the 22890, did not work. Online states phone is working, bt I cannot dial a number as I get a recording saying I need to add a service plan…making no sense and getting busy signal when I call the service center. On my phone, my phone number has the first 6 digits as zeros, then the last four digits are not the same as the phone number I am getting on the web site…….what gives????? Ready to take back

Heard a walmart employee

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY WITH THIS COMPANY!!! I tried unsuccesfully for a full week to get my number transferred for new service with Straighttalk. Every time I called, they gave me a new ‘ticket number' to refer to, and when I'd call back the ticket # couldn't be found! Four times in one day! Then the next day, and so on… I've spent a week waiting for my phone to work and eight hours actually talking to Customer service, besides the hold times to reach someone. Still no resolution!! I kept getting told they are working on it, then the next day they couldn't find any order for it… over and over!! I'm going back to Metro pcs. Straight talk I thought was my answer to better reception, but if you can't even get it turned on… or even told the straight truth about what's going on, what's the sense in it all? I'm so fed up I could scream!! Wait… I've been doing that for a week!!!! I have no voice left!! Just say ‘NO!'

Michele

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

After being on hold for about 3 hours with no luck…I finally called WalMart. They guy told me they have had tons of complaints today about the phone not working. He even told me that he called the customer service number and after waiting for about 30 min, he put the phone down on the counter. He stayed on hold for over 4 hours with no luck either. After doing some more research, he informed me that straight talk systems will be down until atleast the 10th of May!!!! Ridiculous!

Emily

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

After five years with AT&T, I made the move to Straight Talk. What a joke. Wal-Mart should pull all of the Straight Talk product off their shelves. I have never, and I mean never, experienced such poor customer service from a company. BEWARE…BEWARE…BEWARE

David L.

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Called customer service twice the last week in April and got through right away. Staff was helpful. So many folks giving 1 star and such negative talk makes it appear that these are ‘not for real' reviewers. I know 4 folks with this service. It runs on the Verizon network and it works well.

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

Back again. They ported my number within 1 hour but, the Straight Talk phone won't activate and my old cell phone is out of service now. Bottom line … I have no phone. This is the most frustrating thing I have experienced. BTW … I have access to my office after hours and I have been on hold for over 2 hours with Straight Talk.

David L

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I'm trying to port back to Verizonwireless and I keep getting the same response that they are working on it. I spent over 5 hours between ST service in the Philippines, Belize and Guyana. They have no record of my phone number or the original port and they keep saying to call back 24, 48, 72 hours. They requested that I fax in receipts and serial number. I faxed the paperwork and then they claimed that they never received the fax even though I have confirmation. Then, they proceeded to tell me that I faxed the wrong side with blank pages. What a rookie response since I faxed it from my computer. If you are going to use them, only do so if you get a brand new line and you're not porting. I believe that they have so many customers ordering ST that they could careless about customer service.It's a pure numbers game of receiving more orders than they can handle. Basically, once you've use the prepaid card, they've got your money so it doesn't matter. Buyer beware. There should be a class-action lawsuit against these guys.

Jeff H.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I would give this service no stars if it was an option. I have been trying to reach a representative for 2 days with no success. The message says I have an approximate wait of 5 minutes to speak to someone and I stayed on the line for 2 1/2 hours with no response. My phone is paid up and unusable. I can't find anyone to fix the problem and I need my phone for work. They have no e-mail address you can contact only snail mail or a toll free number that noone answers. No customer service!!

jay sample

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 5, 2010

I posted two days ago about my husband who is travelling and tried to add a service card which promptly disabled his phone. Since then I've spent hours on hold and actually ocassionally gotten to speak to people. Their advice is pointless as it doesn't work. I finally got a tech at ST to admit they are in complete systems failure. Why some phones are responding and some aren't is a mystery to them, too. The best I can tell anyone to do is call your credit card company and file a complaint (if your purchased a phone or card that way or if you auto-refilled.) They should refund your money and go after ST. As for those of us who have to refill in the coming days, good luck. I am looking for another provider because this is Bull^(*! People shouldn't have to deal with this. For those of you out there who think these reviews aren't real or people are just whining, trust me, this is real. Walmart is getting thousands of complaints and has issued a memo to their electronics dept. This is real and annoying beyond words and if someone decides to pursue a class action suit, let me know as my husband and I will be in on it.

Elisanne

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 4, 2010

To Researchin: I refill on the 30th day which is the day it expires. But you may ask them by what time you have to do it on that day. I do it about the same time or hour so as not to have a problem. The CS people have told me I have by midnight and another said it was not to go past the hour on the day I activated service. Ya, I think they should all be on the same page on that. The call center told me they are located in Africa and no one has ever been rude except today when my call was disconnected in mid conversation but I think was due to the system being down and overwhelmed by calls.

Sue

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 4, 2010

What you have here is a hate and love review staff, the lovers are the people who have been screwed over by every other cell phone provider out there, the haters are the cell phone company employees and their representatives. The cell phone companies have feed their people onto this site to fill negitive crap in an effort to prevent the mass numbers of loses they are now having this straight talk and yes other pay monthly service plans – the sales of contract phones are down considerable and their future is dimming daily – some have even added these plans on their service to keep mass phone drops down or limited. The only noted problem now with straight talk is their web site down and the cheaper phones which they offer, both need some major work, but it is possible they can put these together and make everything better! As for network coverage, if you have a verizon phone now you have your coverage pattern, and they do us verizon as confirmed through our companies existing phones and the verizon network – both signals and range are exactly matched – nice! So, do not let these idiots tell you that straight talk is no good or doesn't work for them, it is just negitive padding that they are added to the information to keep you from switching out of existing plans and contracts, nicely done by company stooges!!

Jashuh

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

I finally got through to customer service technical support at around 5:30PM yesterday, 5/3/2010. CS rep wouldn't reveal the problem that caused the busy circuits on Sunday and Monday. He had me turn off the phone while he did his thing and then he had me turn it back on after about 15 minutes and dial *22890 and everything finally worked. I am so disappointed in this company now. I have told so many of my friends to try Straight Talk and I hope they don't hate me now. When you try to add minutes for 2 days and have no phone service during that time, and then the date that your 30 day service starts from is when you started trying to add the minutes. Now I will only get 28 days when I paid for 30.. per their CS rep I spoke with today. What a scam…how do they sleep at night!!! I'm sure AT&T is licking their chops about NOW>>>

phonehelp

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 4, 2010

My husband and I got straight talk phones back in march of this year. I put my phone on auto-refill, and my husband just pays manually month to month (because he's getting deployed soon and won't need it anymore). My phone didn't go through this whole shut down thing that everybody is talking about on here today. But, my husband's did. So I spent all day trying to get the problem fixed. After realizing that there was NO way I was going to get ahold of somebody through the ST CS, I decided to call Tracfone and see if they could transfer me to straight talk, or help me (Tracfone and Straight Talk have the same address). FINALLY, I was able to get to someone through Tracfone. Yes, they don't speak very good English, but I was able to understand them enough to eventually get my husband's phone up and running again. I haven't had any problems with Straight Talk since we've been with them, only this issue. Yes, the customer service is horrible, but the situation did get resolved. I will stay with Straight talk because they are the cheapest, and it works just fine for my husband and I, unless we continue having problems with them.

Laura

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Love straight talk!!!! bought one for my daughter and myself. We have had no problems so far. We refill online the day before the service runs out. I have had no problems with dropped calls or connection. I would reccomend this to all my friends and family. The contract phones will killing us with all their ‘extra' charges. This plan allows me to talk, text and surf the mobil web for a low price of $45.00 a month. No hidden charges, no getting cell packages i do not need(like the 3g that is required for you to have a blackberry). We are very pleased!!! Thank YOu straigt talk!!!!

lisa

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 4, 2010

It has now been day and 1/2 and still no service when I tried to reload. I hope they get it back soon. This is affecting my business as I have read, it has effected everyone negatively in some way. Also called one hour on hold, no help. I can see in these posts that at least there is some information coming out, but it looks like it is coming from the back door. It should be coming right from the top, but $ has motivated this new upstart company and how to make the most of it. Giving us sub-par customer service from another country. Outsourcing jobs that should be going to Americans. I would pay more if it supported our country and the service was good, but maybe I am wishing to big here? Actual Phone service was good, when its activated. This has dropped my opinion of the company and could never recommend it to family or friends. Messed up.

Vince

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Plain and Simple ST SUCKS! Cheap phones lousy CS! Went round and round to get a defective phone replaced and now cant get service. The background noise from from their CS facility sounds like a boiler room sales office. Went thru 3 people before I got a rep that kind of spoke English. ST is a waste of time and money. I Don't know how their CEO sleeps at night….alas just another greedy corp rip off outfit! Check out their fin backer America Movil. Wally World should drop them. ST CS not even close to the same league as Wallys CS Dept. I'll ‘bite the bullet' and go back to a real cell provider.

daddyo

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Obviously there is a glitch in the service and supposedly they are working on it….it did take me two days to finally get a hold of customer service, but once I did they transferred me to a supervisor and they fixed the issue with my card not loading in no time at all….yes, CS is a pain in the butt, can barely understand them, takes forever to get ahold of them….when I talked to them I explained that hundreds of people were very upset and they could lose ALOT of business if they don't get this problem taken care of quickly. Keep trying with calling CS…ask for a supervisor right away…don't let your $45 go down the drain.

Jen

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

We bought our daughter a phone 3 days ago with a 45 dollar phone card. It never would activate. Could not get a hold of customer service. Took the phone back and got a refund, but could not get a refund on the 45 dollar phone card. So I'm calling the company to get this straighted out.

Linda

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2010

i dont know what you people are complaining for. im surprised to see all these lousy reviews. the only thing i can say isnt so great is the delay in my texts only when my inbox is full (which can store up to 100 texts on my 451c phone at a time) but once you free up your storage space your good to go. Ive have my phone for over 2 months now and have not had any problems. You guys need to realize it is a cheap and affordable way to have cell phone service and for the price, you cant complain. It seems like everyone these days expects to get the world paying the cheapest price. Are you kidding me? so what the cust service is ‘so called' bad.. do you rather pay these other places double or more money for less?!? come on now.. straight talk has UNLIMITED EVERYTHING for 45 bucks! you people need to get off your high horse. I just switched from Tmobile paying w/ tax like 80/mo for 1500 min and 1000 text msgs w/ NO web access at all. And ive also had tried all the other companies.. from contracts to prepaids and i feel nothing compares all around to straight talk. For people considering to switch to or get straight talk i def recommend it. If you dont need nothing super fancy and want unlimited talk/text/web at a decent affordable price.. ST is the way to go!!

SM

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

It is great and cheap if the darn thing works but when you spend money and get nothing it is a rip off! I refilled my phone at 6am May 3rd and still as of today can't use my phone. I was on hold all day yesterday and finally called Tracphone customer service from another cell phone and whatever the woman did changed my phone number and I still can't use the phone! I used minutes that cost me money from another phone, paid my $45 to straight talk and have no service. They need people that speak clear English and compensated people for not being able to use what they paid for! I would not be surprised to see a class action law suit in the very near future!

LP

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

ok im gonna say i love straight talk.. butttttt the last 3 days it wont let us reload, it says it accepted the card, but still not working… cs doews suck… all of a sudden cuz the other day i talked 2 them and everything was fine… we had qutomatic deduction from the bank account, but we just took it off the other day and now this.. st plzzzzzzz fix this asap

jenny81

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Straight Talk is the worst service Prepaid or Contract I have ever dealt with. I bought a Straight Talk Phone and $45 unlimited time card yesterday and after spending over 12 hours trying to activate the phone with out success, I am currently on the phone listening the the same recording, for over 30 minutes now. That is a long time to listen to the repeated message that I can activate the phone online when that is not possible. I have already spent hours listening to the message that they are experienceing technical difficulty and apologize for any problems this is causing. If you need a phone DON'T BUY A STRAIGHT TALK PHONE. I also took the phone and air card back to Wal Mart but they refused to refund or allow me to exchange it for a boost phone. BEWARE!!

Lyn Wade

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2010

i have had it for two mos now and still havent had a problem with the service. i get service everywhere and i mean everywhere. and i have a shytload of ringtones (50+) in my r451 celly. my bill is due tomorrow. if u dnt miss the time that your phone will get cut off then your fine. i love it and will stay with it til i have enough money per month to be able to pay a 200 verizon blackberry cel phone bill. i want a blackberry. but. i heard u can flash phones to straight talk. i wonder if thats true

2mos in

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Great. I bought a ST phone and $30 card yesterday at WM and I am getting really worried after reading this site. The activation web page was extremely slow so that was one bad sign. It has been one day since I activated it but it still hasn't ported my number from AT&T. It did say up to 7 days so I will be patient. Luckily my old phone still works. If I had to do over I would have chosen Boost or any of the other three or four choices wal mart had.

Donkey Kong

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 4, 2010

Ive had a freaking problem with my phone for almost a month…I'm so sick and tired of calling customer service and staying on hold forever and getting the run around about their stupid system! Hire some people that can speak proper English!

an angry customer

Leave a Review