View All T-Mobile Reviews

Read our full T-Mobile Prepaid review

3
Rated 3 out of 5
3 out of 5 stars (based on 843 reviews)
5 star32%
4 star12%
3 star16%
2 star6%
1 star34%

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
March 15, 2012

I have been with TM pay as you go prepaid for about 7 years. I use to use about 1200 minutes/year but currently use about 500 min/year and I always have minutes to rollover. The rollover feature is simply the best because some years I only use a $10 card to save my unused minutes & thereafter my unused minutes are then extended for another whole year!

Junior

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
March 10, 2012

I don't have many problems with the phone except, phone constantly needs charging and I get crappy reception 9 times out of 10…I have a problem with their billing department and their constant messages on my phone . I can make my payment for 1500 hours at 10am and I still get messages all day, telling me my service has been disrupted because I haven't paid for my service…This happens every month and it is very annoying. I am going back to Verizon next month.Terrible consumer service as far as I am concerned

Nellie fox

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
March 7, 2012

Been with tmobile pay as you go for more than 5 years. Best deal. I find nothing comes close to tmobile flexibility for low/medium usage, non-smartphone. Ed: what service do you use instead? It sounds like you never use your phone if you have $278 accumulated minutes, and didn't notice until 2 days (if you are not lying). I've also lost dollars when I forgot to recharge after a year, but got most back as a 1 time courtesy by adding $50. So I learned to check my expiration date and always renew 1 day before. If you just added $50 a year your minutes would have rolled over for a whole other year. You sound a cheapskate and Tmobile was losing money off of you anyway.

DC

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 4, 2012

According to TMobile's coverage map, I should get “moderate' coverage where I live. I bought a phone and I use the pre-paid plan. It worked out while I wasn't using the phone from home very often, but I would get “No Network Coverage” messages more often than I thought I should when I did call from home. Recently I've had to use the phone from home more often, and I've had trouble sending and receiving calls. I contacted customer service, and the agent told me that there is “almost no” coverage where I live. Their coverage map isn't accurate. It's misleading. I'm looking for another provider, and I'm glad I don't have a contract with TMobile.

Pattee

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 29, 2012

I had this sevice for about 4 years. It was fairly decent. No complaints about signal, it is a prepaid. What I have a problem is that every year when it was about 3 weeks before year was up, I would get a text almost every day reminding me that it was time to renew. My time was in Jan. The end of last year and into Jan was very busy. My wife went to use the phone in the middle of Jan and said no minutes left. I said this can't be. We had about $278 left. I checked and the minutes was erased. I called service to find out why. She said it was about 2 days past the nenew date. I checked the phone and no text messages at all. I told her this and she insisted messages were sent. I said B.S. as I had previous messages other people sent before that so I did not delete any for a while. I tried to reason with her and ask if there was someone I could talk to see if I could get my $278 restored. She said NO with a very cold attitude and ask I would like to buy more minutes? Really. You just stole $278 from me and asking me if I would like to buy more minutes now. I said I will look into going to another carrier and she said oh well, we don't like to lose you, but if that's what you want. Anything else I can help you with? Again…Really…help me!! About talking to someone you actually can. She said there was nothing nobody could do since I forgot to renew my yearly minutes. I stated that I did not get the yearly text reminders that I did like the last 4 years and forgot since it was a year ago. Too bad. So now I went with ATT. Unless they restore my minutes, I will never go back to these thieves. I sent emails to contact and never got one response back for any of those. So, again, TMobile, thanks for stealing my money, I hope you really needed it.

Ed Rayman

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 27, 2012

Really like the 30 dollar unlimited data/txt and 100 min talk. Call during the day and ask to talk to US rep when porting number. Did not know you have to ask for 30 dollar unlimited deal when first sign up.

Dan

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 19, 2012

A SERIOUS Warning! Pay as you go is the only way. T Mobile will extend all contracts you may have on your plan if you make any changes to any single cell plan service. This keeps you stuck as one phone in your plan dies (we have 5). And the sales people do not tell you this one SERIOUS FACT!

Ed Travis

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 18, 2012

Terrible service. They don't give you any refund for your used prepaid minutes no matter what. I'll never buy any of their products/services.

Nader

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
February 15, 2012

Here is the deal. Ive been with Sprint, Verizon, and AT&T over the years. Their contracts suck, coverage is decent, except for sprint, and their monthly prices are through the roof. I decided to go with t-mobile after getting fed up with my $110 a month bill for 700 min unlimited text and 0 data for 2 lines. I canceled them, ported my numbers to Sim cards and bought 2 iphones and unlocked and jailbroke both of them. Installed sim cards and off to the races. Unlimited text, data (you can only use 2g on unlocked iphones so no data limit) and unlimited text for $100 a month. Coverage is just fine, better than sprint, have yet to have a dropped call. Screw the big companies, think about the numbers, and go with T-mobile. Fantastic.

Joe

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 7, 2012

T-Mo's not so bad. You get what you pay for. I have an unlocked iphone 3GS running g-voice and SIP primarily over a Clear 4G hotspot. I keep it in airplane mode and use the T-mobile prepaid as a “batphone” when there's no clear signal, as a backup (or for a light user) you cant beat the price – grab a $100 card to get gold status in year 1 and your service is $10/year thereafter if you don't use many mins.

Mike

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 2, 2012

Through with T Mobile. I should have known after my last problem with losing minutes, but dummy me, I decide to hang in there and purchase more minutes. Then end up with bogus phone calls/ads. I only purchased the phone for emergency use so it was rarely used. Then one day I purchased a ten dollar card, activated it by phone afterwhich I received the message that I had done so, afterwhich I try to use my phone and get sim card failure.” Took it to the TMobile shop and they told me that someone else now had my phone number and that increase went to another phone.o_O ???? Money in the trash. Stick a fork in me. I'm done!”

Michele

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 31, 2012

I have had a T Mobile prepaid phone for over 6yrs…no issues, at all! The price can't be beat, some months I spend $25 others I might spend $50…but at least it is up to me. I am now considering upgrading to a smart phone and would use the monthly plan T Mobile offers for just $50 per month…can't beat that!

phamm

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 31, 2012

I even want rating this plan as “0” star, but there is no choice. I had this plan for a month and the signal is always weak and unstable at all. It made me so mad whenever I need make a call, there is no signal. So far I had no a call completed yet, I even called six times to finish a call. What a worst plan in the world. Stay away from T Mobile if you want to live longer.

WP4sale

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 26, 2012

worst customer service on the planet earth

bill

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
January 19, 2012

I am trying to reduce the average stars. Reason- TM owes me $120 Reason for not giving 1star- 1 star sounds angry frustrated and contrary to 5 star that people give.

MeMyself

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 17, 2012

Don't sign up with T-Mobile!!!! Do some research before getting you make this mistake as I did. Search reviews to see what a bad company T-Mobile is.

Rob

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 12, 2012

I got my pay as you go plan today and I'm very angry now because they charged me for all incoming calls,I checked that for a an incoming call which takes 2:01 they charged 3 minutes and exactly 30 cents

sali

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 10, 2012

I have the walmart deal $30 unlimited web and text with 100 min talktime — I ported two lines over from ATT in mid December and have had 3 really difficult times with customer service in just these last 3 weeks (getting the lines activated, one line was put on wrong plan, and they've messed up auto pay on one line) I had noticed when I tried to sign up for autopay on the t-mobile website that it kept kicking me out. They said I had to call to sign up, so I did (he messed up on one line and evidently I have to call again in a month to try again) What I find odd is that I cannot access the auto pay or refill screens online for either number, and I can't tell if even the one line that is supposed to be already signed up for auto pay is good to go. Anyone else on the walmart plan having horrendous customer service experiences??

alice

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
January 6, 2012

After reading the horror stories on all carriers, I decided on T-Mobile. Went to a T-Mobile store and selected a cheap Samsung phone and $30.00 card(in case experience turned out to be too bad to continue). Everything went well and I just refilled account online and got instant confirmation on my phone.

Lin R

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 6, 2012

I live in a difficult cell area. I live near an airport, so they cannot build a lot of towers nearby. I have had AT&T and Verizon and neither was very good. Verizon was so bad, I had to stand up to make a call, though the phone would ring if I was sitting down.

Colin

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
January 4, 2012

Ordered a phone from tmobile. It was delivered yesterday. Have been trying to activate it for 2 days. First, invalid activation code (on the card they sent me with the phone). Been transferred to customer service people in circles. Can't understand most of them. Finally on Day 2, I got another activation code. Tried to activate it on-line. Still nothing. I give up. No wonder Apple is trouncing everyone.

MJ

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 3, 2012

I have the 30$ Unlimited Text and Data + 100 minutes. To be able to get not only get real unlimited data whereas companies like Verizon and AT&T offer “unlimited web” which only allow you 2gb, but to get 5gb at 4G speeds thats insane. I thought of it as 15$ for unlimited data, 10$ for unlimited text and 5$ for 100 minutes the best deal out there right now. The only plan that comes close is the Virgin Mobile 35$/ Text and Data + 300 minutes but on their plan your still limited to 2gb of data and its not even 4G. The best phone the Samsung Exhibit II 4G for 200$. That may seem a little expensive but for a 3.7″ high res screen a 1ghz processor and front facing camera one of the best prepaid cell phones out there.The coverage where i live i.e. between two mountains doesn't get 4G but driving 1 mile out the 4G is blazing fast and i spend most of my day away from home anyway.

Andy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 2, 2012

I live in an area that indicates that I have 4G service in a strong coverage area yet I get a very weak signal. Before going out on a road trip for New Years, I could at least get 2G (EDGE). Now I get nothing except a phone signal. T-Mobile customer care is no help. My next door neighbor also said the same thing happened to him. The Monthly4G plans are only really useful if they do big things like work. Considering my use of data is less than 500 megs, it might be high time to consider Page Plus ‘ The 55 Plan.” I was previously a Page Plus customer but left only because they did not offer enough data. The service was otherwise outstanding.”

Matt

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 1, 2012

I have the $30/mth 1500 min plan. Hands down it beats anything the other major carriers offer. I did some online comparisons today to see if I could find a better price, and instead found comparable plans going for $45+. Tmobile has earned my business with their foresight to offer this cost effective service which meets my needs.

Jay

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
December 25, 2011

Purchased the Samsung Dart Android OS based phone for $150 and have had the $50/month unlimited plan for the last 6 months. Haven't really had any issues at all, the data slows down a little bit after 100mb, but I still can use most of my apps without a noticable difference (facebook, pandora, even navigation) and the price sure beats my old Verizon plan that was just shy of a hundred bucks a month. The only issue I had was transfering my number from a diferent carrier, but the problem was easily solved with a little patience

Cletus VanDamme

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
December 18, 2011

I activated a new phone number with T-Mobile prepaid and within 24hr started to get Spam text and phone calls. So I called T-mobile and they changed my phone number and within 24 hr I had spam text messages again. WOW. this SUCKS. Looks like their batch of numbers been sold to spammers.

T-mobile spam

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
December 14, 2011

Sprint sucks big time… I switched from t mobile to sprint and all i get from sprint is crapy service and they have added preimium service's on my account almost evry other month that i didnt aprove ! The sprint web is very slow & sprint 4g aint down here. When i signed with sprint in april they told me it would be here by augist NOT. its now december and its still not here . SPRIJNT IS FULL OF B.S….. IM GOING BACK TO T MOBILE!!!!!! T MOBIle is alot better than att or sprint or boost or virgine

starr

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
December 6, 2011

By the way, using this you don't need to feel ashamed to say I use, tractophone, or boost or virgin. You can say I use Tmo, Tmo is a cool carrier world wide.

Lovepizza

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
December 6, 2011

Being using it for 1 year, and it is the best thing ever. I have the 30 dollar per month. There is roaming, Canada sms included. I buy the pre paid card at calling mart and I don't pay tax,shipping and get 5%discount. There is no other plan in att, verizon or sprint similar to this.

Lovepizza

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 6, 2011

I've had my prepaid phone with T-Mobile for 5 days now. Since I've gotten it I have been trying to get my old number attached to this phone. Customer service for T-Mobile is horrible. I have managed to talk to 4 different customer service representatives and none of them have been able to take care of this for me. The one I talked to this morning told me just to wait a little longer because it can take up to 72 hours (this was on my 5th day of waiting). I am currently attempting to talk to a manager and have been on hold for 30 minutes. I'm sure the phone and plan will probably be fine, but I'm not sure if they're worth the headache with the support department.

Amy

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
December 5, 2011

@ Me…The merger has NOT” happened. As of Dec. 2011 AT&T withdrew its merger application from the FCC while simultaneously the Dept of Justice is still standing firm on preventing this merger. AT&T did not expect this type of opposition…”

BW

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
December 2, 2011

EXCELLENT!!!! I love the T-mobile prepais service. I just recently switched for the pay as you go to the $30/1500 minute talk and text plan. Perfect for me. I love the freedom of no contract. It's also perfoect for my 10 year old son (he has the regular pay as you go/purchase minutes plan. The only reason why I did not give 5 starts is that the pre-paid customer service leaves something to be desired. It seems as the the contract” folks get US based agents and the “no-contract” folks get offshore agents. That's about it!”

SB

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
December 1, 2011

I have the per minute plan, which is perfect for me since I normally only use a cell phone for emergencies. After a few years I got to their Gold Status” and now just pay $10 a year to keep it going.”

Brian

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 19, 2011

The $1.49 DayPass data plan metntioned above is no longer available. T-Mobile has screwed a lot of it's customers and appears to have stopped caring about long term customer relations. I bought a $500 phone from T-Mobile because they ofered this plan which was a very good match to my usage: I really only need data to get wind and wave reports at the beach about 1 or 2 days per week.

EndOfTmobile

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 18, 2011

I would give minus 10 stars if I could. I purchased a T-mobile prepaid plan and then found out I could only make and receive calls if I was outdoors at my house because its a very poor reception area! What!! When I tried to recover my money I got the run around being transferred from person to person, half the time I could not understand the person I was talking to, and they would just talk over me and not listen to what I had to say. All I wanted was credit on what I had paid as I can't use T-mobile where I live. They have quite a racket going, get your money, and if you can't use thier service they just keep transferring you so you never get an answer. Is it just me or does this happen a lot? Call me confused, frustrated, and extremely angry.

Linda

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 16, 2011

One star, and going down to zero, nada I'm sending text messages to my girfriend and the message arrived 6 hours later. I had a big problem with her because of TM Do they care about my relationship, NOOO. Guys, look for other companies, there's a lot of competition out there. Good luck!

Juan

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
November 14, 2011

The biggest drawback with a prepaid plan from T-mobile is that they do not let you see what you are being charged for. There are no records available to you online. So if your prepaid money can disappear, and you have no way of figuring out where it went. This, to me, should not be allowed because either T-mobile or a 3rd party can place fraudulent charges on your account, and you have no way to figure this out. My suggestion: block sms and downloads as soon as you start your service, but even then you can't be sure that your money isn't being taken improperly.

Sam

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2011

I purchased a Samsung Exhibit II Android phone 2 weeks ago. The phone is spectacular and I have the $30 per month 100 minutes talk , unlimited text, unlimited data with 5GB's at 4G speed. The coverage is great. The phone is one of the best on a pre -plan. I am extremely pleased.

bobm

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
November 12, 2011

There are pro's and con's with any cellular plan or provider. I'm quite pleased with T-Mobile's prepaid plan. It has saved me a lot of money. However, a few nits. First, there is no monthly statement and no statement available on-line. If you think you don't need one, then you accept paying for an endless number of SPAM SMS messages. I have left my SIM card out of the phone this month and so far have used up $25 worth of credit. I have no way of knowing what these charges are for but I assume they are charging me for the endless number of SPAM SMS messages I get. The second nit is their Customer Service has gone down the tubes. I've been using T-Mobile for 12 years now and since they outsourced Customer Service it stinks.

Ray

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
November 3, 2011

Had T-Mobile pre-paid for years. It's perfect for me. We're talking amount spent per year. I don't use that many minutes. I have a land line. Usually short calls. Maybe 1200 minutes a year. I did locate an unlocked Android Comet and took to Europe. Bought local sims there and used Skype from hotel wifi. Popped T-Mobile sim back in. What a bargain! It's not love for T-Mobile but they offer what I need.

HLG

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 3, 2011

I can't stand my mobile me service. The calls drop all the time. My network coverages often give me a not in network” reading over 70% of the time. It's such poor service my friendly callers are giving up on me because of frustration. I sure made a bad decision! Walmart is giving cheap with a lousy product.”

goingsomewhereelse

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 2, 2011

T-mobile s__ks. My Comet cannot hold a charge longer than 12 hours. I sent it for repair to 4500 Campbell Road in Fort Worth Texas (by their instructions). Who kept it for two months, only to return someone else's phone to me. I had written down the IEM number off back of phone (I almost photographed it). Along with someone else's phone, they sent me a prepaid mailing label telling me to send my phone to this guy whose name was on the prepaid label. WTF? It was like some chain letter scheme involving crappy Comet phones. I had my sim card, put it in and have to charge it every 12 hours still!!!! Two months later I am in the middle of a phone call and am notified I have no more minutes. I originally bought $100 minutes and got 150 minutes bonus. I did not use 1150 minutes. I am sure I had 600-700 (maybe more) minutes on the phone. I called their sterling customer service department in Mumbai or Bangladesh (“We are not allowed to tell you where we are located.”) and got nowhere with them. I have the card and the receipt, but cannot access my call list on my account page. I cannot believe this company. Why do we allow companies like this to be in business? I bought the job to use while looking for a job, and first they steal my crap phone for two months in their repair shop, where they didn't fix it, and then they stole my minutes. I had to update online applications and take that phone number off so I don't miss a call about a job. And some moron in India has I job, and I don't. Something is not right with this picture. Occupy T-mobile CEO's front yard.

PB

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 2, 2011

I am also rating on the new pay-by-the-day plan. As some other people have mentioned, you get charged $2 everyday no matter if you use it or not. They call this data sync. I actually talked to the customer service, they said if you don't want to be charged, you have to turn off the feature. I really want to know why knows how to turn off this feature. I bet most of us don't even know what it is. After fighting with them for almost an hour, it turned out I can't turn it off with my phone, I don't know about other phones though.

Aiai

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 31, 2011

I've been with T-mobile for 7 years. If you want to talk to a US Customer Service Rep, just ask. They will transfer you to one. The only thing I don't like is that my tablet speed slows sometimes and the battery get's eaten up after a couple of You tube videos. I've had no problems with the cellphones. Customer Service is great. AT&T sucks. AT&T put me on hold for 2.5 hours awaiting a billing person for a 32 cent bill. T-Mobile, don't merge with AT&T. T-mobile -Get cheaper plans for those of us that don't text or surf the internet on our phones. Call it the Pauper's Plan so I can get my adult son off my phone bill.

Beth

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 28, 2011

If the proposed merger goes through, I will refuse to transfer to AT&T. Their problems are worse than TM.

BW

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 28, 2011

I am rating the new $2.00 per day unlimited talk and web plan. If you have a smart phone such as LG Optimus T and you simply turn the phone on once, without using it, you will be charged $2.00 because there are apps in the phone that communicate with T-Mobile and it is considered as using it that day. Also if you don't turn on the phone and simply plug in the battery charger, you will be charged $2.00 because apparent the phone communicates with T-Mobile when you charge it and that is considered to be using it that day.

ralph

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 26, 2011

I got the Pay As You Go prepaid out of safety concerns for my mother and I must say it has worked out very well. I refill her phone once or twice a year and she always has rollover minutes. I save even more money by purchasing a $100 card at a discount ($85-$90) from online auctions or local ads such as Craigslist.

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 24, 2011

I recently had a “NO SERVICE CONNECTION” on my 4 year old Nokia 6030 phone. Was on hold for over 20 minutes before a customer rep answered phone. However, the rep was very polite and walked me thru the steps to get my phone working. Rep had me turn off phone & remove my battery & SIM card for approximately 30 seconds, and thereafter the phone worked again. I was as also given access to a free SIM card when needed.

Donald

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 21, 2011

T-MOBILE IS THE WORST SERVICE IN THE WORLD! HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO CALL AND EXPLAIN THE SAME THING!? SAME ISSUES NEVER GET RESOLVED!

Kimberly

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 20, 2011

Left T-Mobile because LG phone they recommended I buy at another store only rang sometimes causing me to lose jobs. customer service did nothing to solve problem, also minutes seemed to disappear faster than previously.Left them for Platinum Tel who sent me a phone that doesn't work, took days to “activate” after which I still couldn't make calls while on hold with their “supervisor” on my landline trying to get their “service” to work. T-Mobile has deteriorated but Platinum Tel is awful.For now I'm taking a break from cell phones as I don't need them for work, being fully employed.When I have reported Platinum Tel to the approproiate Attorney General's office I will probably go back to T-Mobile as the best of a bad lot and use it strictly for the bare minimum when I need a cell phone again. Right now seems like the wild west out there and until some leglislation passes as a result of enough complaints to attorney generals it is unlikely to change.I had been a customer of T Mobile and used to be v satisfied with their service before they started cheating customers

anne

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 17, 2011

Beware of the limited/unlimited plans. I had service for about one week. I only needed a data plan for internet usage on a computer in a mobile situation. Was sold an unlimited plan with a smart phone. It worked fine until I used 1.5 gigs of data at which point my connection speed dropped by 90%. It couldnt even load a webpage. False advertisement? I was told to return the phone and I wouldnt be charged. That was the only resolution offered bt t mobile. Customer service didnt even asked why I was cancelling my service. I assumed its because many of their customers cancel service after the reach the limit of their unlimited data plan. I would rate t mobile at 0 stars.

M Azar

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 16, 2011

If you think dealing with T-Mobile's prepaid division is tough, try dealing with one of the Tracfone companies. Now that is an exercise in pain. I am very satisfied with my T-Mobile service. It is reliable and you can avoid customer service for the most part by going online.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 15, 2011

If you were on Tmobile postpaid and want to switch to prepaid because you have a paid-for phone this can work. Contrary to what Tmobile reps told me, I DID NOT HAVE TO BUY A NEW SIM CARD. Just call and ask to switch to postpaid – you'll also get a $5 credit. So no activation fee or need to buy a card. The cust service SUCKS – it is outsourced; they don't speak English and they literally don't know what they're talking about. ITs a joke- every single thing they told me was wrong. They told me I didn't have to pay for incoming calls; that I had to go to a store to sign up; that I had to get a new number and then port my old number; that I had to buy a $10 new sim card. ALL WERE FALSE. The price for me is good as I don't use web and now paying only $30 for 1500 talk/text combo. Also you pay no tax or fees. So my $40 plan used to cost about $48..now I have a $30 plan that costs $30…on the dot. To save money with a phone you own is good – otherwise i will switch to another company cuz tmobiles phones are too expensive to buy outright and id be better off with verizon or boost. Tmobile service is the worst!!! and switching was a hassle but at least made easier by what i read on blogs

Matt

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 14, 2011

Had posted a glowing review when we first received our monthly prepay service. This morning after paying to re-up my account, T-Mobile sent me four texts, alternately telling me my service had been cancelled and/or renewed. Can no longer log into my account online, as their website tells me my account has been cancelled. Monthly payment has been charged to our bank account, so they have our money. As long as I'm able to call and text (so far so good) for the month that I paid for, I'll stay with them until next month. After that, adios!

Homemaker

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 13, 2011

My husband has bee musing TMobile pay as you go for years with never a problem. Very impressed with the service and value. He is not a heavy phone user, nor does he text often, so it is perfect! Once you spend $100, minutes are cheaper and last longer. It is NOT for surfing the web….so what it is, it is highly recommended.

MsBailey

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 12, 2011

The straight Pay As You Go” prepaid has worked great for me for the past six years and I reached Gold status the first year. I only use my phone occasionally & for emergency purposes (less than 45 minutes a month). An excellent feature of this plan is I can roll over my unused minutes with the minimum $10 refill card and the minutes will be good for another full year! No hounding every 90 days for a top up & no credit card requirement. With this plan I have saved over $350 per year…”

Ray & Helen

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 10, 2011

I got the no contract T-Mobile unlimited plan for $50 cause I was paying $80 and thought why not save $30 a month. DO NOT DO IT! I was unable to send or receive emails, they said I needed a new sim (which was odd cause I had no problem sending or receiving emails with my old plan) but I went and got new sim, still couldn't send or receive emails and the whole process of transferring information from my old sim to new sim screwed all my contacts up. Then I started not being able to send text, only could respond to text that were sent to me. THEN I went to make a call today and it said I was out of $ on my plan, which when I got the plan they said $50 for unlimited everything for a month. And to top it off when you try to call customer service it automatically transfers you to a no contract prepaid specialist” who can't speak english!! It was nothing but a nightmare!!”

DONT DO IT

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 10, 2011

Before I jump into reviews, I need to say something about myself. Im from India where there contract plans does not exist for any mobile service provider. We purchase cell phones according to our budget and get the option of choosing our carrier. When I arrived in United States I already had a smartphone with me, so it was evident that i would be needing a talk-text-data plan. Also I would be staying in USA for about 1 year so i could not opt for contract plans. The only options I had was At&t and t-mobile. Considering these i am happy with $50 monthly plan from tmobile

Rudy

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 8, 2011

I'm still very happy with my T-Mobile service. I like the fact that they let me tether my myTouch 4G to whatever device I choose. Please note that I am in no way affiliated with T-Mobile

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 24, 2011

T-Mobile customer service in my opinion and from my experience is very unsatisfactory. First of all I got disconnected 3x's today and the next point is Many of the centers are overseas. The transmission is poor, too much background noise coming from the center and language accents that are difficult to understand. I want the American T-Mobile back.

Peggy

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 24, 2011

t-mobile prepaid works great for me been with them 1 year

lonnie

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 24, 2011

The first month with T-Mobile prepaid on the Monthly4G $70.00 plan went flawlessly. I will be sticking with T-Mobile and hoping that the merger chokes.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 22, 2011

Pros:I LOVE the T-Mobile Pay as you go Plan. Pay $100 at a time and have one year to use it. Cons: T-Mobile's coverage in rural areas can be very spotty. Wish they would reciprocate with all cell phone towers.

Sue

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 20, 2011

Absolutely horrible. Continuous junk voice mails and text msgs. that you can't turn off or unsubscribe from. I'd rather have 2 tin cans connected by string than use T-Mobile!

schorzfj

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 20, 2011

Horrible! Cannot refill my prepaid minutes. Customer service is useless.

Sergey

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 16, 2011

had same issues several times with other local, national or international carriers for that matter: poor customer svc, lack of transparency in phone records, feeble connections, dishonest advertising material. The point is that the cellular telecommunications industry association feels its power & uses to its advantage, they constantly issue statements to remind us how convenient is the use of cellphones in the u.s. We should unite & organize to first counteract those claims second to have changes implemented in congress that could be just the first step of a steep mountain to climb

novus

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 15, 2011

Anyone on Tmobile Pay As You Go plan can confirm whether Tmobile charges all incoming and outgoing call EVEN though the call was not being answered.

jonie

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 13, 2011

While not perfect, t-mobile prepaid has provided me with vastly superior service compared to AT&T and Verizon, both of which I used previously for 2+ years. I am not a heavy cell phone user, and my prepaid plan is saving me about $1,000 per year (for two lines). T-mobile has better customer service, and vastly improved service at my house. For example, with Verizon, I had to stand up to send or receive a call! (I live nearish an airport, and tower heights near airports are restricted for obvious reasons). Negatives are minor: a lack of better phones available for pre-paid users. I would really give them 4.5 stars if I could.

colin

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 9, 2011

I switched from a non-contract phone plan with T-Mobile to the Prepaid 1500 talk, text and 50 mb data. When I asked what the difference in service would be, I was told that it was the same network and that there would be no change. That is not true.

Susan S. Davis

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 5, 2011

I have never had a problem with T-Mobile – no dropped calls, and customer service has always been good, the few times I've used it. I regret wasting $200 to switch to Cricket from T-Mobile. If I had done my research and known that T-Mobile now has unlimited no-contract plans, I would've stayed with them. Cricket is horrible and I will be switching back to T-Mobile next month, now that it looks like the ATT merger won't go through.

cricket Criminals

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 5, 2011

I really don't understand the negative reviews. I don't work for T-Mobile, I am simply a satisfied customer. I was referred by my friend, also a prepaid Monthly 4G customer. They make it pretty clear that if you have a Blackberry, you need the BIS add-on. I don't understand that negative review. Try dealing with Tracfone if you think T-Mobile is difficult and you will be back in a hurry. I can't believe I have all of the bells and whistles of post-paid service for the nice control pre-paid gives you.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 4, 2011

I am reluctant to upgrade my 5 year old phone because I feel that if the new phone has a defect I won’t be able to resolve the problem as TM has fired or laid off many of its knowledgeable customer service reps. This is the real reason TM customers are left on hold 30 minutes or longer!

STHLR

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 3, 2011

Eff you t mobile!!@!@! That's why yall are getting sued left and right. Negative stars.

mary

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 3, 2011

Ok Tmobile, we know that all these ppl who are rating you 5 stars are tmobile employees… no one in their right mind would give you 3 stars…… PRE PAID IS HORRIBLE DO NOT BUY…..

Ivan

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 2, 2011

So glad the Justice Dept. is filing lawsuit to block the merger between TM & AT&T and hope the Supreme Court blocks the merger permanently.

TM Customer 6 Years

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 1, 2011

hi guys, need some help.

jonie

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 31, 2011

The prepaid sevice is HORRIBLE. I had been with Tmobile for sometime and had been very pleased given the price. I switched to prepaid and has regretted the day I switched. It took forever to get it activated. Customer service is horrible. The service is beyond terrible. I purchased the unlimited talk text and web for $50, but so far I have rarely been able to use the internet as it gives me errors for almost anything. I can't use my facebook, messenger or upload pictures via web because that's separate blackberry” charge. DON'T DO IT.”

Ghalia

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 31, 2011

For someone like me, who only uses my sell for emergencies or infrequent local calls, the pay as you go plan is perfect. I bought the $100, 1000 minute plan 8 years ago, and refill it with a one $10 refill before my year expires. The unused minutes- about 800- carry over, and I retain my same number. In 8 years I spent $180 or $22.50 a year. What could be better? If you only use a cell phone infrequently, and not for messaging, photos, etc., this plan is golden.

Linda

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
August 28, 2011

Let's see. I've been with T Mobile for six years. Always use their 1660. Minutes reasonable once you've spent a hundred dollars – if you use it for emergency or occasional use.

Dora Smith

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 27, 2011

I add my prepaid $100 for 1000 minute on jan 05, 2011 plus 400 minute carried over, and my minute gone within 3 month, when I called customer service, she said will credit it back 1400 minute but will effected within the next day. waiting day after day, my minute never come back. When I call back another people give me a different answer she credit it back 1400 minute for different plan which is $50/month unlimited web,text. The problem here, the customer service doesn't make sense, my phone not able to use for web nokia old phone and they force me to take it or leave it. T mobil can't satisfied the customer and make the customer pay without the right service. Again I purchase another $100 for 1000 minute prepaid for 1 year on june 2, 2011 in side the store. I bought prepaid for emergency, I don't have a lot of friend to make a phone call and my phone always shut off. Couple week later after I purchase, I check my minute and my balance only $3.67; on the third week my balance suddenly pop up for 700 minute. When I am available , I return to the store and the store call Tmobil and they give me back 1000 minute. Again the purpose I bought prepaid for emergency and I don't have a lot of friend to make a phone call and my phone always shut it off, right now my minute going down without I using it, my balance 848 minute. I want prepaid Tmobil protect the customer rights. You took $200 ( 2 times $100) and I want my minute back without any argument with the customer. Thank you.

juni

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 26, 2011

It has been Day 2 on the Monthly 4G Unlimited 70.00 plan and this by far is the King of Prepaid. If it weren't for T-Mobile, the very close second place contender is Page Plus Cellular.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 26, 2011

UPDATE: I just updated my phone to Android 2.3.2 and it works even better. T-Mobile has a great value proposition going. I hope it stays that way if evil ATT takes over.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2011

I just came back to T-Mobile for the Monthly4G 70.00 prepaid plan. I fired up MyTouch 4G and I am good to go. This is the best service for unlimited data, bar none.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 21, 2011

I've been on the pay as you go plan for almost a year. That's the plan for me. I am about to hit the year's mark. I will add $10 and the minutes should not expire for another year. Please note that I do not use the cell phone much, so the plan is the perfect one for me. The only complaint. I do not like getting unsolicited emails or SMS messages (advertizements). When I received a few such emails I disconnected the email feature. I complained about the SMS ads, but have not noticed any change. Since I have to pay for these Ads, at my end, not having the ability to disable/enable SMS is a real problem. Since I don't switch on my phone much it's not a major problem, but nevertheless it is an issue to be discussed.

Ilanrab

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 19, 2011

If I could give 0 stars, I would!! Can I just say that I am on ETERNAL HOLD currently with T-Mobile prepaid! Phone was activated on 8/15 using an activation card with $3.34. It is now 8/19, I have spoken to countless T-Mobile representatives, even those at the T-Mobile store where I had to purchase a $50 refill card to get the monthly prepaid 4g unlimited plan on 8/16 that has yet to be posted to the account although it has been deducted from my bank account! I have requested on numerous occasions to speak with a PREPAID supervisor/manager and I'm not sure there are any. Yesterday, Joanne was supposed to have created a “help desk” ticket and someone was to call me back within the hour, but NOTHING. It is going on 53 minutes on HOLD this time and I am waiting for Vincent, Diorico's supervisor, perhaps they went to lunch and forgot I was on hold. At this point, I just want my money back and will take the phone to CRICKET who can activate it in less than an hour!! To say the least, this is the MOST frustrating experience I have EVER had with T-Mobile and it is the PREPAID diviision that will most likely cause me to leave T-Mobile whose customer service in the CONTRACT division is and has been exceptional. WAKE UP T-MOBILE !! I have heard “you're call is very important to us, we'll be with you shortly” one too many times, BUT I will speak with a REPRESENTATIVE before I hang up!

Dana Crumley

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 18, 2011

They Suck! i don't wanna give it any stars… the prepaid service is horrible.

Rana Nissan

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 17, 2011

On July 7th I paid the monthly fee, due on July 20th. On July 21st my service was cut off because I had called ‘411', apparently a premium number. I had a balance of most of what I had paid. It seems draconian to cut off service when a credit balance exists. I think T-Mobile should review the policy and give customers more time to refill when needed.

Bruce

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 17, 2011

I've had tmobile for some time now, and wanted to upgrade my phone. I called in the order, and they charged my bank card twice. I called them more than 8 times in two days and no one would help me refund the second charge. They blamed the bank and three days after the order was placed they cancelled the duplicate order, but said I'd have to wait 3 more days for the money to be refunded. It should not take 6 days to refund my money for their mistake.

Bad Customer Service

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 15, 2011

The price is right. I knew service would be okay. I decided to buy an iPhone 3G from a friend. I knew from the start I would JB & Un-lock the iPhone for t-Mobile. I went to the T-Mobile store in 15217. They signed me up for the $30 Pre-Paid Plan & gave me a SIM Card. I inserted the T-Mobile SIM Card & within minutes I was on the network. T-Mobile also had the MMS Settings for iPhone users in the Support pages.

TK

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
August 11, 2011

I have been a T-mobile for several years, some what satisfied until recently, I sent a phone back to t-mobile in June for repair or replace,they acknowledge they received it that has been 2 months and I have not receive the phone or heard from them I like T_Mobile but I think they should have return my phone

Lorene

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 9, 2011

I only use my cell phone for emergencies. I don't chat, don't text and never saw a text from T Mobile one year after they accepted $150 from me. Since I did not ‘refill' at the end of one year they wiped out my minutes and money and refused to reinstate any part of it. They are a rip off operation you should stay away from!

linda

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 3, 2011

Two years. Where I am located in 60617, I typically have one “bar” or zero “bars” indicating the T-Mobile network connection. There goes your data plan. T-Mobile will swipe some of your minutes. You have to call them, to get back those minutes.

JC

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 3, 2011

I was happy with the T-Mobile service when i first ordered my T-Mobile Prepaid Activation Kit from Amazon. When the sim card came, it worked well on my iPhone 3GS. I used the few bucks to test my iPhone with the sim card and worked, but only have 0.66 left now. I asked my dad to add minutes to my account and did it last night. But this morning, i checked my balance, it was still at 0.66. How long does it take to get minutes after you order??

Unknown

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 3, 2011

I've had the prepaid phone for 4 months. I've had no issues with the phone. Works fine. I bought the 1000 minutes for $100. I wish there was a way for me to access my calling records on-line. As other posters mentioned, it does seem like minutes disappear and I'd like to verify that I've actually used them.

ed

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2, 2011

I have had tmobile prepaid for several years. My phone is a motorola renew and I buy 1000 minutes once per year.

anne fischer

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 2, 2011

My husband and I both use the unlimited prepaid plan.. been purchasing the minutes at the same time..but for some reason my husbands plan keeps getting shorter and expiring before mine. How could that be?..considering we purchased minutes on the same day. His minutes should expire the same day mine do. T-mobile is definitely cheating him out of his minutes. Beware!

prepaid phone user

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 1, 2011

Just bought a Nokia X2-01 prepaid T-Mobile phone from my local Walmart. The phone it self is pretty nice for only $80, minus the camera, but there is one thing that has me alittle worried. While placing a call, my signal fluctuates pretty bad at home and some other places. I could have full signal at home while the phone is at idle, but goes crazy when placing a call. Before having this phone, I had an Nokia Astound, G2, Mytouch 3G Slide and Mytouch 4G and none of them had this issue. I thought it might just be the phone, so I returned and exchanged it with a new one. That didn't fix the issue. So I got a new SIM thinking that that my be the problem. Nope. I then called T-Mobile to try and get this issue resolved. The Rep said that he was going to reset the service and that it would take up to 2 hrs and if the issue still persist to call back. Well, it still persist, LOL. I haven't had a dropped call yet, but reliability is now a concern. Never had this issue with my “Contract” service. I switched to T-Mobile from MA Bell (AT&T) cause they are a bunch of NAZIS, LOL, and RAPE you like Verizon does. But then again, Service is MUCH better and more reliable. Even with AT&T. I am going to wait till I use this month's service up and see how it pans out. But if the service turns out to be unreliable and too much of a hassle, Well its back to AT&T (Prepaid).

Sean

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 27, 2011

Purchased TMobile pay as you go per recommendation from one of the cell phone guys at Target. Was happy with the purchase, seemed like great service at reasonable rates. Have been happy with contracted TMobile for our regular phones but this was purchased to be used as an emergency/sports phone for my kids for them to use in case they needed to get a hold of us asap.

ZeroStarsReally

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 25, 2011

T mobile DOES steal your minutes. And, when you catch them, they send you on an infinite loop of customer service that takes you from one person to another, they may tell you that they'll refund you the next day and don't, and they send you on another refund loop again so that you wait on the phone forever, eventually you wasted all your time, getting no refund back, and paid lots of money for no minutes. If I can afford/or need a monthly plan, I will stay away from this. Just buy with caution! Too bad these people use this plan to scam on people who doesn't need nor want a monthly plan. Life is hard enough!

a will-intended customer

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 15, 2011

I got a tmobile prepaid phone. I paid $29.99 for 1500 talk and text minutes. Never used the phone once. As a matter of fact, I renewed the plan with a dead battery and never charged it. I get an email about three days before my month was up and it said that I have less than 100 minutes remaining! How can this be? Stay away from tmobile. They will steal minutes from you and try to get them back! They will dance around the issue and give you every excuse imaginable. How is this not illegal? Go elsewhere. Not worth the hassle. I went today on their forums to see if anyone else has this problem and their forums have changed making harder to post HMMMMMMMMM sounds fishy to me.

Xray

Leave a Review