View All Verizon Reviews

Read our full Verizon Prepaid review

2.8
Rated 2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5 stars (based on 611 reviews)
5 star21%
4 star10%
3 star27%
2 star7%
1 star35%

Editorial Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 24, 2022
Prepaid Reviews

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 6, 2013

I don't see why Verizon charges $.99 a day! (Even if you don't use your phone). That is the craziest thing I've ever heard of! The service is good and the phones are cool though.

K

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 6, 2013

i will give it 3 stars thats just for the service, night calling, and in calling. but over all the phone is just to expensive 1 dollar aday is just crazy… your minutes will be going before that 15 days…becuase the bill phone has free txtin and poeple with txtin you it cost you 10 cents a txt… with a 15 dollar card you get 150 txt not taking off the dollar… i found my self buyin a card on sunday then again on friday becuase of this…its just a big rip off i spent 60 dollars on minutes last month a bill will be the same price…believe me…..!!!!!!!!

marcus

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 6, 2013

Nice phone plan. I had Cellular One and was paying about $40 a month, I figure I'm still coming in under that with Verizon, and have a much nicer phone than what our local CellOne people have. One major disappointment for me: It was not made clear to me before buying that email, text, and pic messaging are only available in certain areas in which I'm not. I'm still not able to find anyplace that tells me where I can go nearby to use those features

Christophe

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 20, 2013

I purchased a $35 500 anytime minute plan. I don't talk on the phone often but my cell is my only phone. My plan was supposed to renew in a month however in the past week I have had to reload my phone 3-4 times at $35 a pop because there were no minutes on it. I am currently unable to call customer service or anyone else because my minutes are gone. When I DO call the “customer service” number, I am placed in an endless loop that never leads to a real person. I cannot view my bill on the website to find out what is going on and I am more than frustrated with this plan right now. As of this minute, I will either get a resolution before the weekend is over or this phone service will lose my business permanently.

Tina

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 7, 2013

Verizon has great service and read your agreement before you activate your phone prepaid is just what it is and boost is a dead zone phone service. I have Verizon postpaid since 1994 and came to prepaid in 2010 because of budget. Thank you Verizon!

Lg Girl

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 11, 2013

I will never recommend going to Verizon Wireless period. They took my money four times and never credited my prepaid phone. When confronted with it they stated, we have no control over this you need to call our billing department. When I called the billing department, they stated “you are on a prepaid line, you'll need to go to one of the stores to get this straight.” I went to the store and they told me to call the 800 number. I am now with Boost Mobile, they haven't messed up yet and have better service! Go to BOOST you will not be disappointed!!!

Chris D.

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 12, 2013

Verizon prepaid are thieves!! I paid for a 60 dollar a month plan and went in to try to contact a human and hit the wrong button and accidentally changed my monthly plan to 70 and they shut my phone off until I pay the 70 …with a week and half left in my previous month!!! I called , an hour later got a human adn they said I forfeit it..thats BS!! NEVER again.. ILL go to AT & T

teresa

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
March 24, 2013

I was thinking about getting a verizon pre paid phone.I have boost mobile now.I buy a $20.00 phone car every 90 days and I still have between $12 and $8 dollars left after 90 days,the money does roll over so it builds up.But I have to renew in 90 days again so more money adds up. Anyway most of my friends have verizon plans so I was thinking, talking to them with out it coming off my minutes would be ok until I found this site.I am kind of starting to like my $20 every 90 days plan and 10 cents a minute.(I did see new contracts are 20 cents a minute,but the price drops after you are with them a while) I'm staying with Boost mobile until I can get a plan I feel is better for me. After seeing that verizon is for 30 days it would cost me more in the long run.

Heather B

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
March 16, 2013

I got on a $15/mo pre pay account years ago. I have a lot of money in my account since I don't use it that much. Things used to be tight but are now better so I wanted to upgrade. I get all the bells and whistles but can't use any due to the old phone. Got the old, “there are no phones you can upgrade with, you'll need to start a new account at $50/mo!!! No way!, waited researched, a friend with a prepay account gave me her old phone and insisted I could upgrade with it. Renewed, I walked into Verizon and waited for the old spiel that they couldn't help me but insisted, they relented (don't give up!!!). I upgraded twice using this friends two old phones, but now I want a smart phone. I hate having to deal with Verizon but I have a ton of extra money in my account because they won't upgrade the software on these older phones so I can't use the internet (!!!) Oh, and they finally let me pay once a year instead of each month, did you know that? They are the ones who told me I could, so maybe you all can bug them and tell them you'd rather pay yearly, just be sure to mark the date on your calendar (so you have to buy next years calendar or put in big letters at end of December to add to the next years calendar). Anyway, now I'm dealing with finding a phone I can use, of course they are very expensive, I'll research as much as I can before going in, right now, I was told Walmart has a phone I could use. I went there last night, they had no idea about prepaid phone upgrades, but I think I can buy it (the best they had wasn't so great but cost only $99, way less than the stuff I've look at on Amazon, hopefully not too lacking), then try to upgrade, if they balk at me, I can return it to Walmart w/in 15 days. Wish me luck. I gave 2 stars instead of 1 because it's so darn cheap (can you believe $15/mo!!!), but really Verizon is hateful to deal with, even their customer service people have to wait, wait and wait when they call their own company for help, 2 stars because even though I have to fight for it, I got a great deal that so far, I'm able to keep, with a little (or a lot) of work.

Shirley

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 9, 2013

Awful service as far as prepaid telephones are concern. I have two prepaid phones and due to me not adding money to them by a certain date. Verizon took my money and when I called I had a 0 balance. My balance should have been $70. No wonder they are the number company in the USA. They rip people off and the government should step in and protect the citizens. Verizon has a message on their machine that says they are welling to work with their customers. Not…. They just want to screw you. Be careful customers.

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 9, 2013

The outright thuggery and daylight thievery of Verizon Wireless PrepaidI choose to buy a full-prized iphone 4s in January for I was fundamentally against the kind of exploitative business model of contracts. I bought the said phone from Verizon and signed up for their monthly prepaid, until I found a more suitable arrangement. At the time of signing up I was informed that it was a monthly arrangement and on the 7th of each month I simply had to renew for the next month, or set up autopay. I choose the manual option.So when February rolled around and I got a text from Verizon that my phone will be inoperable on the sixth I was concerned and called. It seemed that the system was set up to eat a day off every month. The Verizon person on the phone explained that it was not a monthly scheme, but a 30-day cycle. Astonished at the temerity and wilyness of these corporations, I accepted the explanation, renewed for the next month. When asked for the date of renewal, the Verizon employee informed me that I needed to renew by the 5th of March!Right away that should have given the game away, but I challenged her pointing out that Febuary has only 28 days and the 30 day period should extend to the 7th of March! She was flummoxed and basically verbally agreed with me, that yes it should cover me till the 7th of March, but clearly her computer system told her otherwise.Sure enough on the 5th of March there was an ambiguous sounding text message implying that the service was to be cut off that day. When I called immediately I received an automated phone message that said something to the extent of apologizing to those who received the message on a 28 day cycle, and Verizon has already addressed the problem and that I could rest assured that the 30 day cycle is reinstated.Yet, the next day my phone was no longer working. I was later informed that friends who called me on the 5th itself were told that the phone was out of service! When I called Verizon on the sixth, and after an intolerable wait of nearly 20 minutes I was told that I had a monthly service, meaning that on the same date of each month the service has to be renewed!How atrocious is this? When it works for Verizon, it is 30 days (saving the one day charge in January), and monthly (saving 2 days in February), in total that is pilfering nearly 7 dollars in total from account directly, but also with their ever shrinking month with its service having to be renewed a day before rather than the day of expiry, that is an additional day on each month earned. Say there are a million such a customers, that is a cool 10 million made in the span of two months without doing a thing except adjusting dates and numbers, and pulling wool over the eyes of the unsuspecting.If this is not downright thievery and corporate thuggery than at the very least they are pickpockets!Verizon’s system shows the same level of endemic corruption that Banks such as BOA showed in the days, months and years leading to their colossal failings and my eventual refusal to participate in their morally corrupt and ethically compromised models of business.How convoluted should a monthly renewable service model need be? Every day on the 7th as in this case the account has to have the monthly fee deposited. Instead all this shameless manipulation and downright corrupt sheneniganism is shameful. Corporations have become thoroughly shameless and fearless in their thievery, and for this the rest of America has to take blame as well, for the checks and balances of the system are clearly not enough. They work on the habitual model of too little too late.It is not enough. There must be a way that these corporations are SHAMED. Such pervasive moral delinquency should not be permitted. Shame on you Verizon for stealing money straight out of the wallets of the hapless customer. Shame on you for institutionalizing thievery and incorporating skimming off as a corporate policy. In whichever way you look at it, it is nothing short of ROBBERY.Shame on You, VERIZON WIRELESS PREPAID.

luna

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
March 5, 2013

Not having the moblie web when I want to use it [get a bad get way message alot of the time] 983 drop calls in 7 months with the web to and the message your account has a no balance when try to make or get phone calls. After getting to some at 2123218700 thats a home offices number for land line you have to be transferd over to cellphone from there. They well give me 100 dollers in credit for this problem but not fix it. Like that helps they well not give the mfc code to fix the problem but do to you can unlock the phone with that code they well not. The phone is schu365 samsung that they know there is a problem with. Don't even get me started on the lack of 611 information or the bs when you call you can only call in 3 times a day in 24 hours. If they fix the phone I would be having that big of a problem but they wont. If you want to call people 9107946230 9107946251 the last 4 numbers just need to be changed to talk to a person or a voicemail at the wireless deparment. So have fun If you want to get your money back you well have to sue for it by you self if you have a problem like me or get stock like me and give bs at the share holders meeting.

John In up state ny

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
March 2, 2013

When people called to activate their phone and if they listened to the actual details of the plan then they will know what they are getting but most are too busy to not even listen to what you have to say about the plan. Customers im sorry but you can be a pain in the ass. Most call in for every single little problem, and are so rude..99% of the time the billing is correct, the 1.99 plan takes a 1.99 for each day you use the phone you get unlim calling until 11:59 PM, SMS is 2 SENT AND RECEIVED, Picture messaging is 25 sent and received, Mobile web is 99 cent for 24 hrs, 411 is a 1.99 per call so that needs to be corrected on here. Yes their are expiration dates..I def don't agree with everything verizon has set up, but for the most part is the lack of listening on customers.

No name

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 22, 2013

I had about $195 left on my prepaid service and missed the 365 day to add money because I only use it for emergency. Verizon stole the $195. It's theft, plain and simple, you prepay for a phone service, that's all, because it's convenient. They know it's not worth suing over so they do what they like with customer's hard earned money. Typical big company attitude today. I am so glad I am on the downward path and will be gone before the whole World is corrupt.

Jans

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 12, 2013

I find it very sad the way that they treat their prepaid customers. I chose verizon wireless prepaid, because in the past their reps have mislead me into a contract that was suppose to be within my budget. Turns out their calls aren't monitored at all! Now when your prepaid device is interrupted their is no way to speak to a rep at all. Some respect huh! We spend more money than some of their contract customers, and they won't even give us enough repect to at least listen to us

mS mEEKS

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 9, 2013

Bought 2 prepay phones last year for $99 each and have been using the $50 unlimited plan on each since. No problems until now, both phones need to be replaced mine I dropped mine in the toilet and the other I dropped under running water. Mine still works but the other the screen is black. This is what led to my current situation. I went to the Verizon Corporate store per referral by customer service and was told I was not allowed to purchase the prepay phone for $59 due to my existing prepay account. I was told I'd have to pay phone $250+$35 to activate in store and that I couldn't walk out with it unless they activated it. That's a classic bait and switch and in no way mentioned in the terms of service. Even if getting phone for new line the store charges the $35 activation fee even though package states free activation. So left and called the 800# to try there, same thing I can't order the phone onto my existing account and there is nothing I can do but go to the store. Web account clearly states ordering another phone is not available at this time. Called the Corporate phone # 1st time person xferred me to 800# post pay to which I argued again about this issue. Called Corporate again today and reached a person named Karri who told me she would check with the store and call back in 1 hour. After 6 hours she finally called back, knowing I was at work and she refused to speak with my partner other then letting him know she noted the account and I could call 800# for the info. I called during lunch and the note states that I called about a free phone (NOT) and that I wasn't eligable for “upgrade” until 3/11/13 to which she was authorising a $20 credit for phone for new line of service with a $35 actv fee and my old account is lost. WTHeck, that is not what I wanted I want to buy the prepay phone for $59 and activate on my existing phone #. Anyway left Karri I message in the general mailbox as this is unreal. Plan runs out on the 10th and I'm looking for another provider. 2 accounts lost Verizon hope you rot I don't need or want a post pay account also not paying 3x the cost for monthly service I can't afford that, so bye bye.

Lori Goodner

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 27, 2013

Be careful when you choose Verizon. While they say that there is not a contract, they will automatically bill you every month, even if it is just month to month. If you call to cancel, they will not refund the money even if you have not used any services whatsoever. I would not use Verizon wireless ever again.

JSD

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 10, 2012

I had a prepaid Verizon phone. They continuously dropped first calls of the day after 37 seconds. I actually had to tell callers that it would happen. Of course I would inform them that I was with VERIZON. And like Deborah(11/29) stated it was very difficult to get a human…and when you did there was little proof they were(human). I dropped them for Cricket..better for the last year.

Paul G

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 29, 2012

Had Verizon prepaid for a number of years and left because the customer service was terrible. I had a problem and could not get through to a person–ever! Even using a landline I could not contact a living human being. Their automated system just sent me round in circles. Finally bought a plan at AT&T, which I was nervous about since I'd heard equally bad things about their customer service. Surprise, surprise, I have never had any issues with AT&t customer service. If there's a problem I call and it gets resolved. I would never go back to Verizon.

Deborah

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 28, 2012

got this …phone for work cause i drive truck and am all over the place..worked good for the frist few days and now i can get calls in..nothing out,not even cust. service..have already cost me $120.00 and missing out on load's whitch make my money,bout $200 a day..now i have a useless phone and will not go there ever again also will tell every and there brother bout the bad deal it is..customer service for verizon can't do anything with prepaid at all..can't even get prepaid service on this paper weight of a phone..

frank

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 24, 2012

I purchased a prepaid Verizon Pantech and a $30 phone card. THREE people in the room witnessed the activation of the daily usage plan, which stated Verizon-to-Verizon calls were free. I also purchased the mobile email app for $6.99, because the mobile internet device would not allow access to email.

Amy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 20, 2012

I need two phones because at one location I have has no service for T mobile at 10c per minute. So I went for a Verizon pre paid at 25c per minute. I soon noticed that my $ value was going down fast, so I did a test and found this. As soon as you press send, the clock starts even though the dial sound has not started yet, a voice tells me who many minutes I have in total and the the phone starts ringing, if it takes 10 to 20 seconds before the other end picks up, you are paying for all of the time since you pressed send. I make calls that last less than a minute but this system means I am paying 50 c for every call. T least 30 plus seconds have been charged too me before I am connected with the other end.I spoke with a Verizon rep and he in the end admitted what I had found was true. I am considering contacting an attorney on the matter as I see no where in the paperwork that tells me of this act of deception. My T Mobile phone only starts charging when the other end picks up.

James

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 16, 2012

Verizon wireless prepaid is a total ripoff unless you live in a city where they have lots of towers. I got a $50 prepaid phone recently from Verizon after my two year contract with them ran out. I currently live in a remote area of New Mexico where the closest group of towers are at least 25 miles away. When I received the phone, and activated it, it immediately began roaming with no way to shut the roaming off. They don't tell you that they charge .20 per minute roaming when they sell you the phone. And I couldn't find anything about roaming on their website anywhere. They mislead you by saying you get unlimited talk and text for $50. It's a lie!! So basically you pay $50 a month and .20 a minute roaming if you are in an area where they don't have a tower and you can't do anything about it. I returned the phone immediately and they reimbursed me for the phone but refused to reimburse me for the $50 service which I didn't use at all. In addition to this when I had my two year contract with them I got an LG Ally with the contract with a $100 rebate making the phone free. I was three days late sending in the rebate because of some family problems that I was attending to and they refused to give me the rebate. I would never use Verizon again for anything. They pretty much steal your money wherever they can. My father worked for General Telephone, which is now Verizon, for 35 years. If he were still alive, he would be so disgusted at what Verizon has become and how they rip their customers off at every turn. I got the prepaid phone to save money because where I live you don't get service and only can get it in town. Prepaid will end up costing you more than a regular account. So unless you live in a city, don't do it!!

JC Wolfe

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 22, 2012

hastily bought the new Samsung illusion for $169 a few months ago and only paid attention to the UNLIMITED message on the package and NOT the 1GB of data. I use up the data package in 12 days on avg. Last month I added an additional $30 to continue using data. I am VERY disappointed in $80 plan. I have tried to sell the phone but no one seems interested at any price.

will

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 17, 2012

i went to ky from ohio on a trip,i have a vzw prepay 50 a month unlimted,no internet in ky limited txting,i have to call numbers 2 times to call out,its supposed to be nationwide..this sucks.its supposed to be nationwide,dont do it….

chuck in ohio

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
October 17, 2012

The smartphone plans are too expensive $80 for only 1G of data with unlimited call & text. At that price it be better to sign a contract..ugh! Atleast Straight Talk and Net10 has good plans for smartphones. Why can't Verizon?

Not for Smartphones

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 6, 2012

We desided to get a straight talk phone and we wanted the internet removed and and who ever we talked to removed all of our minutes on the phone taken and deactivated the phone. No wonder everyone we talk to say go through att.

Thunder

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 26, 2012

I purchased a plan that, I was told, charged nothing on days that I did not use the phone, and only $2 on days that I did not use the phone. As it turns out, the plan effectively requires at least $15/month and, more importantly, I am told you LOSE excess (over $15) remaining at the end of the month. If you fail to keep a balance at the end of the month, then you have the reactivate the phone–at additional expense. What a scam!

John Greenhalgh

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 15, 2012

If I received 1 text only- it cost me 1.99 plus 0.02. Rip off. Very expensive plan. The catch is they tell you have no charge on the day you don't use a phone. However if someone calls you, even a wrong number, or just one text received, you charged full 1.99 plus extra

Sam

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 4, 2012

I'm so sorry I got a verizon pay as you go phone. I can't afford to pay $30 every 3 months and if I don't I will lose the balance I now have of over $140. Why can't they just let me use my money up without demanding that I pay either 15 a month or 30 every 3 months. Also, the phone is very cheap and you can't access the internet which I really need.

Kate

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
September 3, 2012

The hidden “gotcha” in the prepaid minutes plan is that deposits to the account EXPIRE, and vanish if a new deposit is not made. $15-$29.99 payments expire in 30 days, $30-$74.99 payments expire in 90 days, $75-$99.99 payments expire in 180 days, $100 or more payments expire in 365 days. The minimum online deposit is $15, store locations will accept $5. This information is difficult to find, at best, certainly not presented “up front” anywhere in the advertisements or even on the website.

Michael J Dixon

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 1, 2012

I'm a 50-something that only wants to use my cell phone occasionally when *I* want to use it — which is pretty rarely.

Roger in KY

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 31, 2012

I WAS SADLY MISLEAD BEING A VERIZON POST PAY CUSTOMER WITH THEIR PROMOTION OF PREPAID SERVICE OF $50 UNLIMITED TALK & TEXT. GOT A SALESMAN WHO SAID I WOULD NOT LOSE ANYTHING FROM THE PHONE I HAD, ALL MY CONTACTS, TEXTS AND VOICE MAIL MESSAGES WOULD ALL STAY. COULDN'T CHANGE TO THE $50 PLAN UNLESS I BOUGHT A PHONE, BUT THEY COULD OFFER ME A DIFFERENT PLAN WHERE I COULD KEEP MY PHONE. BAD DEAL ALL THE WAY AROUND!ALL MY VOICEMAIL MESSAGES OF MY SISTER WHO RECENTLY PASSED AWAY FROM CANCER (SHE WAS ONLY 59YRS. OLD) WERE DELETED.MY FATHER WHO IS 90YRS. OLD FELT COMFORT TO HEAR THOSE MESSAGES, NOW, NOTHING BUT DISAPPOINTMENT AND DISGUSTED WITH VERIZON.GET THE RUN AROUND WHEN I CHANGED BACK TO POST PAY THE SAME DAY AND THEY STILL WANT TO CHARGE ME $110 FOR THEM MISLEADING ME!!! DON'T EVER GO WITH VERIZON!!! CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE AND ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR MONEY.THEY COULD CARE LESS IF YOU CHANGE PLANS, BUT WERE NOT PROPERLY INFORMED ABOUT ANY DELETIONS.ALL THE SUPERVISOR COULD SAY TO ME WAS, U CHANGED THE PLAN, U PAY THE PRICE! HOW DISGUSTING IS THAT. I'LL BET IT IF WAS HIS MOTHERS OR BEST FRIENDS MESSAGES HE WOULD FEEL VERY DIFFERENT. VERIZON IS THE WORST COMPANY TO GO WITH. CHOOSE ANYWHERE ELSE. AT&T, SPRINT, JUST NOT VERIZON BECAUSE THEY WON'T HELP U OUT EVEN THOUGH THEY ADMIT TO FAULTINESS ON THEIR BEHALF.ALL THEY WILL SAY IS, OH WELL, U CAN GO BACK TO POST PAY. NO APOLOGY, NO REFUND, NOTHING! HORRIBLE PEOPLE, STAY AWAY FROM THEM OR LITERALLY, PAY THE PRICE. YOU CAN'T BRING BACK A DEAD PERSON, SO IF U CHANGE CARRIERS OR PLANS, MAKE SURE U RECORD THOSE MESSAGES ON ANOTHER DEVICE!!! OH AND THEY DON'T DESERVE ANY STARS!

NEVER CHANGE TO VERIZON

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 24, 2012

I purchased the Pay as you go Phone. It was sold to me at Walmart. The package and employee told me that I only pay for the days I use it and it would be $1/day. Actually to keep the phone active you have to pay $15/month. Scam. Sure it is cheap if you need a second phone but they falsely advertise the plan. I had $15.94 as my balance and because I didn't continue adding $15/month my phone service was canceled and they kept my balance. I strongly suggest you do not use this compnay for a prepaid plan.

Michal

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 23, 2012

Super Dependable call quality and coverage. The number of dropped calls in the last year can be counted on one hand.

Jay

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 10, 2012

When compared to other prepay companies I feel Verizon is the worse equipment and service we have ever had. I am returning to Boost.

Gary Arnold

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 12, 2012

As a senior, I don't use a cell phone regularly and carry one for emergency only (AAA e.g)On the family plan, I was paying $120/year plus taxes so I went to a local Verizon store and was sold a deal that I could any amount down as a prepay and at the end of a year, I could extend the plan for only a dollar added to the unused balance. I put down $50 and surprise, surprise, it expired in 3 months. Now I find that what the salesperson told me was incorrect and that I have to pay one of the four rates, all of which exceed my family plan cost. So, no use, no service, and no money.

Roger

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
June 26, 2012

It's too bad all of you who are complaining of being robbed”. Everything you've claimed has been stated in the terms and conditions of their prepaid plans. PLEASE READ THEM BEFORE you activate your phones. It's fully explained. Good Luck”

DAV

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 19, 2012

I just switched from a contract to a pre paid plan. My phone that I had worked perfect. LG flip phone. great reception and the battery lasted all day. On the prepaid plan I got a Samsung Intensity II and it drops calls, I only get 1 bar in my house and the battery dies after 3-4 10 min calls.

JOAN

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 14, 2012

They should be investigated for overcharging people especially for a phone you don't use & don't have when you upgrade & try to keep your old number that's where they get you! BUNCH OF CROOKS!

Lynn

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 6, 2012

I would give verizon a 0 star if i could. It started in 1995 when they were called Bell Atlantic. They robbed me of 500 bucks .Now i wouldn,t give them a penny. I always wished that they would shut down for good.Go with At&t or tmobile , way better plans. Even a mvno like airvoice wireless is way better. anyone but these crooks. Stay away from them.

Frank

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
June 4, 2012

the 30 day activation required fee is the hidden exploitive tactic used by corporate verizon on the little guy. Verizon took my 20.90 because i didnt pay 15.00 exactly 30 days after my previous payment. I use only texting 10 dollars a month, now my 20.90 credit is gone and cannot be used for the monthly fee. My phone will be deactivated because i did not pay another 15.00 within 30 days (its only good for 30 days folks…theres the rub). Even if i have 29.00 dollars credit or balance it would be seized, taken or where ever verizon puts it (in their bank account i think!) The rep told me i could get it back (one time only) if i paid 100 dollars prepay for one year without deactivation. I only want to pay 10 dollars a month for text only.. Verizon would not allow that on their 10 dollar plan, you must pay 15.00 minimum each month and if you don't use the extra it can accumulate as long as you pay 15.00 each 30 days BUT you will never be able to use the overage for the 10 dollar monthly fee. Its criminal!

randy

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 21, 2012

Pay as you go is NOT pay as you go. It is more of a prepaid plan. You have to put a min. balance of $15 on you phone or they will deactivate it after 30. They don't tell you that. You just find out when they disconnect you line. I was told by a representative that I will be charge 1.99 a day for the day I use but he never mention that I have to put a balance on it. Verizon sucks!

Guest1

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
May 15, 2012

I bought a prepaid phone back in December for only $60 and since then I only have to spend about $50 a month for unlimited talk, text, and web. I would have been happy just with unlimited texting maybe a couple hundred minutes, web isn't even necessary because I have a laptop and wifi at home. But it's great. I never drop calls. Rarely if ever lose signal. I haven't ever had to call customer service with a problem. My phone does what I want it to at a cheaper price than the contract phone I had with Sprint which was always dropping calls and not picking up a signal.

Eden

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
May 10, 2012

Regular customer since 2005, who decided to go with prepaid. Starting making the reasonable $15 payments per month and added more when necessary. However the moment I overpay money or underuse my minutes, VZW suspends my balance until I make another payment of $15 or so. It doesn't matter that I had a balance of over $17 prior to the expiration date, I still have to pay a new $15 to have the $17 added back. It is extortion to hold someone's money and demand more, when you could continue their service with what is available! Complained to FCC already.

Andrew

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2, 2012

I had a prepaid verizon phone for several months. Using the $50 unlimited plan, i had absolutley no complaints. yes, the device i had was a basic flip phone, but it was cheap, and was running off Verizon towers. Never had a dropped call, never so much as had to call Customer Care. it simply WORKED. every month, on the due date, id drop a quick payment over the phone using my debit card, and kept right on trucking. execellent signal, quick at recieving texts, and even the mobile web, not even 3G, was plenty fast for what i needed. a cheap, easy to use device that WORKED. No compliants. i actualy prefer my Gusto over my current contract phone, and i was 1/5 the price.

DRG

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
April 29, 2012

I would like to know why i could get mobile email for the 1st ten days I had my prepaid verizon phone, then when the ten days expired I tried to buy it for the $7 per month but it won't let me!! What is up with this?

anonymous

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
April 23, 2012

I tried this out while maintaining my old service. The customer service has been great. I've always been able to get a rep on the phone in a few minutes and I've called many times because.

Chris

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 17, 2012

I attempted to sign up for the pre-pay plan for 2evenings. Crazy. Everyone on the chat line told me something different. Then I was finally informed that I could get a contract, but the prepay wasn't avaliable in my area. Don't really understand, but it seems like a bait and switch to me. There are many more negatives than positives on this review forum. So, no I don't want to go horizon. Too many gimmicks.

Tim

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
April 6, 2012

I got my prepaid phone today for 15 bucks its a nice basic flip phone and got the unlimited plan for 52 bucks a month 2 dollars is for taxes anyways i owed them tons of money there contract plans are complete rip off by the way they shut off my phone i picked this up 67 bucks later im back up and running with UNLIMITED everything thanks verizon !! aka chump wireless

Trollolol

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
April 2, 2012

I put 100.00 on my prepaid phone april 12, 2011. I was going from FL to NE to watch my grandkids and I needed a phone. Now Today I went to add the MUST 15.00 but they won't let me do it til exactly 4/12/2012, (today is april 2nd. If I don't do it EXACTLY April 12 I lose my 72.00 that I have left. that seems like stealing to me. I am so furious, No one told me when I put the money on that I would lose all that was left, but they won't let me do it today. I have never had a cell phone and I only know how to dial the phone – the first call I received I did not know how to answer. You tell me how they can just take my 72.00 and not give it back or let me transfer it to my brother's verizon. I hope I can convince him to cancel when his contract is up. I see the answer to Chet they say it's not stealing it was the terms of the contract but if they won't let me pay 10 days early than It is stealing. I am almost 68 and I will be lucky if I remember to pay MORE money on EXACTLY 4/12 I can not express my anger. I have to pray to calm myself down. thats all

frances A. compton

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
March 2, 2012

Only problem I see with verizon prepaid and i have the 50 unlimited plan is cant make calls while roaming other than that best service i ever had with sprint at&t much better

chuck

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
March 2, 2012

I have the lg extravert.50 amonth everything it is 3g it plays youtube and no pausing or buffering .I was useing boost mobile android and I ony got good coverage at my house but anyway evenknow my virizon phone is not an android it is only just a step down from it .works great and excellent internet never lose signal

Guest

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
February 26, 2012

Put my family of four on Verizon's pre-paid unlimited everything plan for $50 each per month. Love the coverage & auto pay. I would have given 5 stars, but customer service sometimes has long (more than ten minutes) wait times.

Michelle

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
February 25, 2012

I tried Verizon prepaid for one week – while still maintaining my account with another major provider, just in case. My experience was that not only was Verizon's coverage in my area nowhere near the competition, but their customer service was non-existant. Getting a live person on the phone when you have an issue with prepaid service is virtually impossible – I had to call their sales line (where you *always* get a live human being) and ask to be transferred to tech support every time. When I mentioned I was a prepaid customer, they began addressing me in a very diff. fashion…like I was unworthy of their time. I started off calling them about an issue I hoped to resolve, and *2 hours later*, after being bounced around to like 5 diff. people and being on hold for more than half the time – I became so frustrated that I told the person just cancel the account”…which they were obviously reluctant to do. Very odd style of customer service Verizon has – I'd suggest avoiding them at any cost.”

fraiser

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 4, 2012

I had this service for about two yrs back then I bought a card plus had to pay a aily charge rather i used the phone or not nowthey have the fee only if you use the phone. I really loved there phone had service everywhere no dropped calls, great internet speed, travled from tenn to fl and never lot service at all the ony reason I switched was te cost had to end up paying almost80-100.00 every month hope they improve there plan would love to have there great phone and service aging!

ACR

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
February 2, 2012

i purchased a verizon prepaid phone in October and have the unlimited 50 dollar plan. I couldnt be more pleased.I have had a couple dropped calls but I had that with my other Verizon phone that wasn't prepaid!I can text talk and use the web if I so desire.The price is right and the service is great.

Lori

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 31, 2012

Oh, I forgot to comment on the phones.

MichaelSF

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 31, 2012

I tried Verizon Prepaid, but under California's Buyer's Remorse law (30 days to return a cell phone, prepaid or not, no questions asked) I returned the phone.

MichaelSF

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 30, 2012

In the past 4 years I have changed my contract twice with restrictions on 1 phone which belongs to my 10 yo . Each time they forgot” I was stuck with 1000.00 in downloads because of it and each time they would not admit to fault and I got stuck with paying it…well the first time anyways. Never again will I give these slimy bastards a penny.If you are smart and value your money then you will too!!!!”

Todd Sawasky

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 27, 2012

i hate verizon period. prepaid or regular calling plans, they stick it to you. they have a monopoly in the cell phone business. there should be more laws governing people from being ripped off so easily.

john patrick

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 25, 2012

I had a prepaid phone that i loaded up with $17…with a $10 bundle plan.The day it was suppose to be renewed.i got a ‘your balance is low'then a ‘you dont have enough' text with all my balance at $0…Verizon is a rip off

Pissed off Anon

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
January 22, 2012

First off regarding the pricing above… 411 is now $1.99 per call + airtime!Smart phone plans are actually 450 minutes for $49.99+$30 for manditory unlimited data package. and if you want text + $20 for unlimited. same on all min levels add the data package plus text if desired.

VZW Rep

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
January 16, 2012

We used to have a family plan with Verizon until they got greedy. I very much liked Verizon coverage. I don't understand why a company has to be so difficult to deal with. With these reviews I'm not even going to consider the prepaid. And the horror story of trying to switch back to Verizon and immediately the next day getting a bill for $199 for service I never got. Followed by a couple more $199 bills. I cut my losses and paid the early termination fee. Their “final bill” was 9 pages long and took an account to figure out Verizon's creative accounting. I had service for 9 days, of those 9 got 6 actually connected days of service. Final cost of that debacle? $1000. Meanwhile, store employees deny any knowledge of Verizon accounting practices. “Wasn't meeee”

Alicia

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
January 15, 2012

I switched to the $50/mo. Verizon prepaid plan from Boost Mobile because Boost's (Sprint's) coverage in New Mexico is pitiful. Although I miss my Android and now have a dumbphone (the Pantech one that looks like a Blackberry Curve) the coverage in NM is waaaay better. Verizon HAS been dropping calls, which is surprising me though. AT&T rarely dropped a call. The camera on this phone sucks, but overall it's a decent phone. I mostly talk and text because the data is SLOW…not even 2G. But, if I want to pop into my Facebook page or check my email, I can. I have a job where you are not allowed to bring your phone, so I refuse to spend $100/mo. for a fancier contract phone. Besides, I hate contracts and plan on never signing one again.

Atheria

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
January 13, 2012

I have had the Verizon prepaid service with the $50 unlimited plan for a week or so. I am very please with my phone and service. I had Boost mobile and the coverage with Boost was not the greatest and the customer service did not speak very good English. Verizon has fantastic coverage, I have 5 bars just about everywhere I go. And….for $50 I have unlimted talk, text, web. I am very happy.

Charles

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
January 3, 2012

PRO: Have been with Verizon for 10 years now and have been happy with the phones and service. they cake care of the problem or i get a refund. always satisfied so far.Con. Billing dept sucks!! always making errors and never gets it right the first time.

jon

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
December 30, 2011

Coverage area is great, other than that Verizon is terrible. Been ripped off, overcharged numerous times when changed phones and monthly costs are outragious. Just looking to see what carrier I will switch to. My daughter uses Boost mobile and gets the 55 dollar per month prepay. Its about 90 dollars a month less than the plan i currently have for 1 phone. Will be checking to see if I can get reception where i need it and off I go. Verizon is GREEDY. There customer service is also terrible. Go into a store and plan on waiting an hour before talking to customer service.

Jeanette

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 27, 2011

SCAM! i got talked into buying a verizon prepaid phone and a $50. refill card at walmart by a walmart employee. it seemed like a good deal at the time. the phone came with some prepaid minutes and i was told that with the $50. card i had unlimited time. it worked well for a few days and then my minutes ran out. it turns out that verizon only has a few small pockets of coverage for the “unlimited” plan and that everywhere else is “roaming” and is not covered by the plan. walmart does not accept returns on electronic items and would not take the phone back. walmart will also not accept returns for the refill cards so basically i have a $75.00 paper weight that is of no other use. the verizon employee i talked to told me that i should not have bought the phone because in indiana, and most of the mid-west, there is no verizon coverage for prepaid phones. i feel like i was raped.

aronin in indiana

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 16, 2011

ok i love the $50 unlimited plan but its crazy that u have to buy one of the phones that are prepaid. If u already have a basic phone whats the difference, u should still be able to use it on the $50 unlimited plan because its basic but stupid verizon tries to get money out of everyone and make u buy a basic prepaid from the store.

Casey

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
December 14, 2011

After having verizon for MANY yrs, and this last year had gone through 5 phones. All they would do was send me re-furbs of the same phone that didn't work. Because of that, and financial considerations, I finally went with a prepaid from T-mobile. I got 5 … count em… 5 bills from Verizon within a 10 day period, and then less than 30 days after canceling my service got a letter threatening a collection agency. I had always paid my bills on time… Verizon, never again… Hope you put my $75 cancellation fee to good use, hopefully into research of how to treat your customers.

wahine

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
December 13, 2011

I would have to say that Verizon offers the best coverage in any area; however, they seem to want to push customer into getting a contract with them for 2 years. First, they offer you a $50/mo Unlimited but with phone most of us don't want (basic). Secondly, all of their smartphone and blackberry phones start at $65/mo plus you have to add a data package…Go figure! Isn't that why we don't want a contract, DUHHHH!!! Bottom line, If I didn't mind paying the $100/mo for 2 year and can get any phone I wanted free or low-cost, then yes a contract says great. On the other hand, most of us are trying to save a little money these days so why Verizon want us to purchase an over-priced smartphone, increase the monthly charge, limit the amount of minutes I can use without be charged extra, and still add an additional charge for data usage. In the famous words of Fred G. Sanford, ARE YOU CRAZY”. And the the G stand for Get the Hell out of Here!!”

Cindi

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
December 11, 2011

Verizon prepaid is more expense than others but the coverage is much better and the customer service is quick to help you out and get you using your phone. Spending $10-$15 more a month to get the $50 unlimited everthing is well worth.

sam

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
November 22, 2011

I had the verizon contract plan for several years, there were a few times of sweating since the minutes went over on a few occasions. I was also charged astronomical early termination fees a couple of times. I REALLY want a smartphone, but would rather settle for the $50 unlimited plan, since they are charging an extra $30 per month for data on smartphones. Hopefully it will work with a basic type phone where I can still access the web, text and talk unlimited. I don't think I would ever go back to their contract plan. Been ripped off too many times. Their greed is obvious since they don't work with customers at all. I would love to go with someone else, but where I live and work, they are the only service that works. Wish me luck! : )

victora

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
November 19, 2011

I have a lot of friends that have Verizon and when I heard that Verizon was doing an Unlimited prepaid plan I was excited. I have had Revol for about 7 months. It was 7 months too long! I was getting dropped calls all the time! At least 6 times a day!

Chris

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
November 17, 2011

Switch to Verizon in August. Pretty happy with it so far. It is more expensive then tracfone, but the customer service is great as well as the coverage.

Martha

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
November 11, 2011

I've had Verizon for six years! I've been through more than 20 phones. (From texting so much LOL) I get service EVERYWHERE!!! I've tried to find a place where it'll lose signal… I was out of luck 😀 Verizon cell phones pick up signal when no other phone can! I get full signal at my house, and I live in a very rural area! Trees and such all around. Excellent call quality. Great phones to choose from, and now with their $50 UNLIMITED plan, I use my phone more than ever! No extra charges, EVER! If you're with any other prepaid company, I suggest you switch to the most reliable network, Verizon Wireless. You'll also get a great phone! I'm writing this review from my phone! Switch to Verizon Prepaid TODAY!

Matt

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 25, 2011

thank you verizon 50$ a month great service & unlimited web & text what more do i need , o droid phones , but i know that wiil come along soon…

ladyloc

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
October 7, 2011

We bought 400 mins for 1 year on verizon with no daily charge, but TMobile offers 10c a minute @ 1000 mins, not 25c which is the verizon ripoff price.

systemBuilder

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
October 2, 2011

I have the 99cents plan and it sux, its suppose to be 99cents on the days you use it, they charged me for the day that I used it n made a phone call at 11pm and charged me for another day and its also 10cents a min. and if I make a call that's less than a min. It still charges me the 10 cents…..

jenn

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2, 2011

We have a pretty old cell phone that we just use for traveling and in power outages. It's a Nokia we bought from Alltel, which is now Verizon. I buy $25 of minutes at a time. They last forever! I can't even remember what the charges per minute are for local and roaming anymore! No annoying reminder messages either! I just call for balance occasionally and add more if needed. They don't store my credit card number. We really want to get a new phone but I don't want to jinx this plan that works for us! Maybe Verizon will read this and let me know how to get a new phone and keep the plan status quo!

Jan

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 24, 2011

i have verizon 50 everything and so far so good.just wished they had 3g phones.

@all

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 23, 2011

Teresa….Oh yea, and unlimited mobile web as well.

Dav F

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 23, 2011

Teresa…Unlimited Talk, Text and MESSAGING for only $50 month. They are modifying the way their plans are to accommodate all users. Why would you even compromise the best signal for one that doesn't even come close?? My advice to you…stay with Verizon.

Dav. F

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 22, 2011

so after many many many years of having a prepaid verizon phone; i am now switching to another prepaid; i dont know which one yet but i recently got a message saying starting october 14th all pic messages will be charged; ive had teh 20 dollar unlimted texting bundle for so long; and now im being told its gonna cost extra to send pictures. My nephew's aunt lives in hawaii and their are many pictures sent and recieved between us two will cost me alot. So now im searching for a new unlimited texting bundle with someone else; that includes pic messages.

Teresa

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 21, 2011

Verizon prepay now has $50 unlimited plans for everyone !!!!

Dav. F.

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
September 15, 2011

I can't believe all the people whining about the cost of Verizon prepaid. The costs are clearly spelled out, if you don't like it then don't sign up. Prepaid is not for everyone–you need to use your brain (gasp!) to look at the pricing plans and determine which is best for you (if any). After using Tracfone/Net10 for several years, Verizon is a welcome change for me. Switching phones is much easier and the service is better in my area. I like that you can use many of the postpaid phones with their prepaid service. I was so sick of all the cheap chintzy phones that you're forced to use with the other prepaid carriers. You can also go to their website and see a detailed breakdown of your usage–not possible with Trac/Net10.

kolyur

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 10, 2011

i have been with verizon for over a year now, there service is great! i will stay with them for a long time!!

paul

Consumer Review

Rated 2 out of 5
September 6, 2011

I'm leaving Verizon after many years. Their phones and voice quality are good, but their customer relations is unacceptable. Their greed motivates over-the-top inflexibility. For examply, you can't activate a phone without a GPS; you can't activate a Vrz Blackberry unless you add a data plan; there are no loaners if your phone dies and you need time to select a new one; etc., etc. After 15 years with only three phones (I bought others outside the plan), I expected some assistance when my phone crashed, but they refused to accomodate me in ANY way – “Sorry, that's our policy. Have a great day!” Well, I have a policy, too – Stay away from Verizon.

Eric

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
September 3, 2011

By far the most irritating problem is the area of service. 5 yrs. into Vrz; i still have to rely on a landline. If the co. would use some of the mega bucks they get from folks like me to ensure phone usage for its customers, we might have nicer comments. Imagine still living in the dark ages!! Especially when a simple tower would satisfy a very unhappy customer.

nightfall

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
September 1, 2011

I LOVE MY PRE PAID VERIZON, ONLY COSTS ME LESS THAN $8 A MONTH, I GET $100 FOR THE YEAR AND USE VERY SELDOM, HAVE $ LEFT OVER EACH YEAR. GREAT FOR ME AND MY LIMITED USAGE.

KATHY

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 26, 2011

Way overpriced! You have two better options: T-Mobile Monthly 4G and Page Plus.

Me

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 18, 2011

After many years I finally had the smart to leave Verizon for Virgin. Thank god! I am now saving $100.00 a month for the exact same service!

dimitri

Consumer Review

Rated 4 out of 5
August 17, 2011

My Verizon account fits my needs well. I pay $10/month ($30 cards for 90 days) for very occasional use with the $.99 plan. As I don't use it most days and don't want texting, my balance keeps increasing. When travelling, I use it more and cut into the reserve of minutes accumulated. For occasional basic voice needs, I don't know a cheaper option.

Wayne

Consumer Review

Rated 3 out of 5
August 12, 2011

I have HTC smartphone, from Verizon that was on a plan, we cxxld wthn 14 days too much $. I still have the phones though, long story Target kiosk screwed up bad, but since the incredible is an acceptable device for prepay, & we text more than anything, the rep at “prepay” service offered me the usual data/talk/just bend over cause u have a smartphone plan he informed me of what he called a loophole Wth Verizon that I can get a activated, with new numbr and the 250 / unlimited to vz customer msg plan for 10$ each ph. so I have 2 phenomenal hndsets, that are online Wth WiFi browsing, email, Google etc. for 20$ a month, and I just added a 10 card to put 5 on each ph. in case a ph. call is mando. to me that's incredible has any1 else heard of this option? Am I missing something?

ozzy74

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 4, 2011

i want to no if im able to buy a prepaid card for someone els…the problem is that i cant get ahold of them and i dont have any transportation right now and for a while (car is in the shop)….What i want to do is buy one for there phone then have someone just put the money on the phone or phone number how ever you want to put it….Is that posiable? i contacted walmart but they said in 24hrs will they get back to me and i need to no sometime today

holmes

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
August 3, 2011

I hate verizon, I was thinking of getting my 73 yo mom a phone, put after these reviews no way, Verizon does overcharge it's customers, I have to use them because we like in the backwoods.I'll just get mom the Wal-Mart Straight Talk

Wanda

Consumer Review

Rated 1 out of 5
July 30, 2011

What a scam. I cannot believe they charge so much more than other pre-paids (which i found out too late). Also, the phone ringtone stopped working after a week, so I have to check msgs all the time. Went back to the store for help but told it is my problem now. At least I know now that Verizon is a company to avoid for all ICT in the future

Jen

Consumer Review

Rated 5 out of 5
July 28, 2011

I have had a Verizon Wireless pay as you go phone now for over three years. It is a rather old model flip phone with a built in camera. I started out buying a big old pay as you go card and because of that I have only ever had to buy refill cards in either $15 or $30 amounts and they have always rolled over.

Merlin

Leave a Review